HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

Reservation Conditions
Please understand that while we try our best, and generally succeed, we can not guarantee that we will always be able to get you in the same room for your entire stay. If booking one or more beds we may not be able to get all your beds in the same room. This is particularly true in our busy summer months of July and August. If this is a problem please call the hostel before booking to check what is available.
Guests must be 18+ years to stay in our dorm rooms. There are no upper age
restrictions however, we ask that you are at least young at heart. The
average age of our guests is between 18-35 years old. Our shared rooms are
co-ed and are designed for vacationing travelers.
You must have an international passport or Student ID
or another VALID government issued ID. We DO NOT accept San Diego County residents..
You must also be able to show proof of on-going travel. A valid Visa or Mastercard is
required to make a reservation.
Please note we have a 2 day cancellation policy.

***Please note***
Taxes are not included in listed prices! All bed rates over $25 will have a 10.5% city tax charged, in addition to the amount quoted, to be paid upon arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 98%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 92%

Showing 21-30 of 49 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: posizione,ostello molto giovane e curato

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The cool and vibrant decor of the hostel.

Disliked: I shared a room with 3 other girls. There was no AC in the room and it was extremely hot! Also, the socket to charge your electronic devices was fixed in the middle of the wall next to another girls bed which made it difficult to charge your phone if she was sleeping! 2 toilets and 2 showers is not enough for a floor of more than 40 people! The bathrooms are very small.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Really friendly Staff, has reasonable facilities for a hostel. Has a big kitchen and they put out some breakfast items, cereal, milk, waffles, fruits which is more than I can say for other hostels.If you are staying here for Comic con this hostel is less then 10 mins walk from convention center.

Disliked: Yes the 2 rumors you keep reading are true. Only one shower per floors, usually there is some one using it when you want to. They have split the bathrooms though so they have 2 toilets on each floor as well that are separate from the shower room plus a room with bathroom sinks.Located in busy downtown area and its right on top of a to a bar so it gets pretty noisy at night. bar music, cars, etc. You will need ear plugs to sleep which the staff do give you.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of the city and you can easily meet other travelers. The dorm, showers and bathroom were clean.

Disliked: The place is not the newest, some facilities could have a renovation. I had a hard time to find cheap parking options in the area (what I expected).

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, free breakfast, clean rooms, cheaper than other hostels.

Disliked: Can be very hot and noisy in the rooms at night. One night they put on free dinner at 6.30 and all the food was gone at 6.20 (before we arrived for dinner!).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Most of the staffs are very helpful, especially Aymara and Jacky, they recommended a lot of places to visit and show me the way to go, it is definitely practical for traveler to visit a new place.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Clean. Close to good restaurants.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its near by market and the market was low price .so i was saving the money.

Disliked: there are many drunk people .because there are near by bar. so when friday i can not go to sleep easy. it was to noisy outside.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and the proce

Disliked: they offer discounted tickets but its only like 4 bucks...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great party vibe and right in the wonderful Gaslamp District.

Disliked: Not many showers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability