We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel | 615 8th Ave, San Diego, California, USA 92101

88.2% Overall Rating

217 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

Hamza Daoui thinks…

"I love this place. I've been to so many hostels around the world and Lucky D's is up there on my list. The location is perfect. Its downtown and its close to so many bars, venues and parks. The…"

Read all Lucky D's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

RK Buckner Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 26 reviews
HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 89.6% 317 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
27.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 220 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 11 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 68 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel 93.5% 37 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
54.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

217 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky D's Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amber curtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 November 2013 amber would recommend this property

Liked: free brekky everyday and waffles on the weekend. lots of pub crawls and predrinking in the common room to get to know the other guests in the hostel. close to gaslamp so lots of places to eat (some a little over priced though) bright and funky hostel. cheap drinks just down stairs the older lady who cleans is so lovely and helpful on ides on what to do!

Disliked: a couple of the people at that were on the front desk over my 5days there were lacking a smile so it made me not want to ask questions. the first girl was very short with me, not rude but like she didn't want to talk to me more then she had to. its a little loud due to the bar down stairs but once i was actually asleep i didn't hear it. (im a deep sleeper) but i think they offer ear plugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mazen El-Baba

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Mazen would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere of it! it was fantastic

Disliked: I really disliked one of the workers ( the Moroccan guy) he was extremely rude and chauvinistic!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Padraig O'Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Padraig would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming atmosphere, interesting artwork along corridors, lockers in rooms, social events organised by the hostel staff, free evening meals and breakfast, communal environment.

Disliked: Don't fall so easily for paying $10 for wristband to get drinks concessions on the organised pubcrawls, as we did not break even on that night, visiting a mere two pubs on our only night in S.D. Seek assurances.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: Location, nothing else.

Disliked: Cleanliness and lack of any atmosphere/friendliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pearson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I loved all the freebies on offer here, the staff were really welcoming and the place was clean. When I arrived they were putting down new carpets which looked very smart. The kitchen is amazing and a place to meet, cook and chat over food. The staff are a mine of information and helped me to book a hostel in LA. I am returning to San Diego at the end of the month and will definitely stay here. I loved it.

Disliked: There was NOTHING I disliked about this hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabor Csupity

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere, simply superb place to stay.loved it

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great vibe. Staff were so helpful and made me feel at home. There was always some thing going on either free dinner or bar crawls or movie nights they even supply free beer sometimes. Free breakfast every morning free internet. Right in the heart of downtown you can walk to everything. My stay went from 2 days to 8 days. Love San Diego and lucky d s

Disliked: leaving

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Patrick Racine

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013

Liked: Location, but you have to expect noise as it’s directly downtown, but with no AC and the open windows, it’s a bit too much. It’s located right above a bar.

Disliked: It’s located right above a bar. The bed are cheap and very uncomfortable, like a used and hard futon highly overdue to be changed. It felt like sleeping right on the wooden frame. not enough toilet per floor. Price too high

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anja Günther

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here!! The free waffels in the morning, great people, the common room and the great location made it a wonderful experience!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Creek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the free breakfasts and dinners were great, a friendly welcome from the staff and the general atmosphere is really cool.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe an extra toilet/bathroom would be useful but that's really a minor thing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are very helpful, and free breakfast (and dinner) are very good.

Disliked: lack of electric socket inside dorm room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds in the 4 bed dorm were very comfortable. also within walking distance to loads of bars, restaurants and the baseball stadium. every night in the common room there were people drinking and socializing so will always be able to meet someone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell Levine

As a family with children

Events / festivals

21 July 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Noisy enough trhat they give out free earplugs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Warmerdam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

20 July 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, really outgoing and help you in ways that I don't even expect them to. They made me a free dinner the night I was there. It is a bit rare to find a nice hostel in the US where you feel the warm atmosphere that you would find in a hostel in latin america or europe. Hostels in the US usually feel as if you are in a hotel, this place was an exception. Immediately people are helping you and you feel right at home.

Disliked: Nothing really. Really, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eileen tan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 eileen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the gaslamp district, within walking distance of many bars, restaurants, groceries and even the trolley. We also walked to seaport village! Buses take you everywhere - can even walk to the transit center! Love the hippie decor and vibe - lots of euro backpacker types if you're into that. Daily events like movie night and 80s party night etc; free breakfasts on weekends and booze too at night! Room was super comfy and clean, we got a private double room so it was a little pricier than a shared room, it came with a fridge that was in such good condition it froze all our fruits. Came with a ceiling fan and an additional floor fan(which we didn't need cause we felt it was cool enough). Clean shared toilets, we saw them changing the handtowels and floor rugs! Would recommend it to any young travelers out there - probably not for families with small kids though.

Disliked: eileen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Helena Kulikowska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Staff v friendly and helpful. Guests were generally a bit older than the usual gap year traveller (mid twenties) which made for a relaxed and very social atmosphere. The free dinners 3 times a week were really good (freshly made and plentiful!). Free breakfast every day on top of this made it even better value for money (in comparison to your average US budget hotel/motel). There were optional activities every night (bar crawl, movie night etc), so plenty of opportunities to mingle. Good communal areas (kitchen and common room) where people could be found any time of day. I was a girl travelling alone and soon made friends here. Good facilities (internet, printer access, laundry). Good location (close to airport, greyhound, amtrak), short walk from regular buses to all the beaches, and situated in lively gaslamp quarter which had good restaurants and nightlife.

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything. The rooms could've been a lot cleaner (I was there four days and my room was only cleaned once and this was a v superficial vacuum job just of centre of the room and not in the corners where it was needed!). Sheets, toilets, and bathrooms were clean, however.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free dinners were actually some of the nicest, healthiest food I'd eaten in a while travelling! The hostel has a very individual feel and very relaxed atmosphere unlike many of the 'chain' hostels.

Disliked: The evening entertainment barcrawl could perhaps do with some more work. I did not buy the money off wristband and was glad I had not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pierluigi sonsini

Alone

City break

11 July 2013 pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice kitchen, spacious, and fully equipped. This is very important to me, so I could buy my food, cook it and store it. No junk food at restaurants! The staff is very friendly, they're always there for you with a smile. The location is excellent, right in the hearth of downtown, although there's a flip side to it, which is the noise at night coming from the busy streets.

Disliked: The ration people / toilets could be improved. Only two toilets per floor is not really enough, but you get used to it. Please be advised that this is mainly a hostel for young, party animals. It's all about being in your early 20s and going out at night to party. If you're an older person, this might not be the perfect place for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Dmitrovic

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were lots of events organized, and loads of free stuff. Really good value.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Swain

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the staff & the facilities

Disliked: Could have done a little more to generate atmosphere on the nights out!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyday they have something different like free diner, party

Disliked: not everyone in the staff is friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very nice character, in was clean and the staff was nice. Every evening there has been another offer like free hotdogs and icecream or movie night with free popcorn. It's located in the hear

Disliked: Value for money = good at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: 4 floors and no elevator.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: There were a few minor stains on the bedsheets.