HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky D's Hostel

Hostel | 615 8th Ave, San Diego, California, USA 92101

91.9% Overall Rating

202 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

Samuel Healey thinks…

"Awesome place with a great vibe, extremely social and staff are very welcoming. The hostel is in an awsome neighbourhood close to heaps of bars. The staff were great, in particular Alex and Megan who…"

Read all Lucky D's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

RK Buckner Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 76.6% 11 reviews
HI-San Diego (Downtown) The Metropolitan
28.00 USD

Hostel 90.9% 309 reviews
USA Hostels San Diego
31.00 USD

Hostel 95.4% 209 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 89.7% 56 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
70.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.92 USD

Hostel 96.0% 26 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
57.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

202 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky D's Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 194 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eileen tan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 eileen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the gaslamp district, within walking distance of many bars, restaurants, groceries and even the trolley. We also walked to seaport village! Buses take you everywhere - can even walk to the transit center! Love the hippie decor and vibe - lots of euro backpacker types if you're into that. Daily events like movie night and 80s party night etc; free breakfasts on weekends and booze too at night! Room was super comfy and clean, we got a private double room so it was a little pricier than a shared room, it came with a fridge that was in such good condition it froze all our fruits. Came with a ceiling fan and an additional floor fan(which we didn't need cause we felt it was cool enough). Clean shared toilets, we saw them changing the handtowels and floor rugs! Would recommend it to any young travelers out there - probably not for families with small kids though.

Disliked: eileen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Helena Kulikowska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Staff v friendly and helpful. Guests were generally a bit older than the usual gap year traveller (mid twenties) which made for a relaxed and very social atmosphere. The free dinners 3 times a week were really good (freshly made and plentiful!). Free breakfast every day on top of this made it even better value for money (in comparison to your average US budget hotel/motel). There were optional activities every night (bar crawl, movie night etc), so plenty of opportunities to mingle. Good communal areas (kitchen and common room) where people could be found any time of day. I was a girl travelling alone and soon made friends here. Good facilities (internet, printer access, laundry). Good location (close to airport, greyhound, amtrak), short walk from regular buses to all the beaches, and situated in lively gaslamp quarter which had good restaurants and nightlife.

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything. The rooms could've been a lot cleaner (I was there four days and my room was only cleaned once and this was a v superficial vacuum job just of centre of the room and not in the corners where it was needed!). Sheets, toilets, and bathrooms were clean, however.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free dinners were actually some of the nicest, healthiest food I'd eaten in a while travelling! The hostel has a very individual feel and very relaxed atmosphere unlike many of the 'chain' hostels.

Disliked: The evening entertainment barcrawl could perhaps do with some more work. I did not buy the money off wristband and was glad I had not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pierluigi sonsini

Alone

City break

11 July 2013 pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice kitchen, spacious, and fully equipped. This is very important to me, so I could buy my food, cook it and store it. No junk food at restaurants! The staff is very friendly, they're always there for you with a smile. The location is excellent, right in the hearth of downtown, although there's a flip side to it, which is the noise at night coming from the busy streets.

Disliked: The ration people / toilets could be improved. Only two toilets per floor is not really enough, but you get used to it. Please be advised that this is mainly a hostel for young, party animals. It's all about being in your early 20s and going out at night to party. If you're an older person, this might not be the perfect place for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Dmitrovic

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were lots of events organized, and loads of free stuff. Really good value.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Swain

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the staff & the facilities

Disliked: Could have done a little more to generate atmosphere on the nights out!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everyday they have something different like free diner, party

Disliked: not everyone in the staff is friendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very nice character, in was clean and the staff was nice. Every evening there has been another offer like free hotdogs and icecream or movie night with free popcorn. It's located in the hear

Disliked: Value for money = good at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: 4 floors and no elevator.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: There were a few minor stains on the bedsheets.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very nice and welcoming

Disliked: It was very loud in the mornings due to the location close to a fire depot

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013

Liked: Michelle the manager refunded two nights as I felt seriously uncomfortable here and had to leave. Free internet.

Disliked: My stay here was a total disaster. Michelle the manager is a nice lady but she is vicariously responsible for the actions of her staff. Firstly, many members of the staff and questionable guests are looking to con you and get you to do things for their benefit. A number of them also have serious drug and alcohol problems. One particular staff member named Justin is the most disgustingly abhorrent human being I have ever had the displeasure of meeting - and I have been to over 40 countries in my travels. I was constantly lied to, stolen from and treated in a totally unacceptable manner. Just stay somewhere else, for your own sake.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere. Everyone was so friendly and inviting. Its located in a great location, and even if you can't get somewhere by walking, the staff are always there to help. Definitley a good place for youths travelling alone. You could party every night there if you wanted.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bom atendimento, localização, preço e serviços. Muito animado!

Disliked: Não tem aquecedor e as inalações são antigas. Wifi cai muito.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ann-Kathrin Johannides

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Ann-Kathrin would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 4 nights at the LuckyD. They are located downtown, over a bar - so on one hand good for party but also on weekends noisy :). They offer a good breakfast with few different kinds of cereals and either waffles or toast. The rooms are okey, the bathrooms most of the time clean.

Disliked: They have only 2 showers for a whole floor - so be early in the morning or shower in the evening to avoid standing in line ;) And you have to pay 0.25$ each time you lock your personal things in the lockers in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Samudra

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: amazing atmosphere

Disliked: if I really would need to find something negative than it is the location. It is great in the sense that it is very central (downtown) but because of that it is also not that close to the beach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean friendly helpful staff convient to transport great kitchen excellent breakfast

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast and dinners

Disliked: the staff don't always pay attention. they only want go party, and forget sometimes they're on work!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very social, clean. Generally a great hostel.

Disliked: Signs for one social event had different times so I missed out on the trivia night, and a very noisy hostel on weekends although this is to be expected as its in the middle of the gas lamp area which is the place to go out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character and friendly staff.

Disliked: Was really hot, room did have a fan - though it was still too hot to sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Keely Gavin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Keely would recommend this property

Liked: We got a free dinner which was yummy and free breakfast which included waffles. Free wifi and location is really good - Just a couple of blocks from gaslamp quarter and trolley. Always things going on here, like nights out and stuff.

Disliked: Very noisy at night - But I wore ear plugs and got a great nights sleep :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Gono

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, from location, through helpfulness of staff, to atmosphere and appearance was super great.

Disliked: Maybe some personal lockers to lock valuable things would be great to have in the rooms since one can never be sure how honest is the unknown roommate. But maybe there were some and I only did not notice them. Plus the thing that no one told us in advance that we will be asked to bring bed linens to the reception. The staff should not forget to provide this information, since for example we were in a big hurry when leaving, moreover staying on the 4th floor so having it pretty rough to run up there in rush.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JING TIAN

Alone

Business / conference

31 August 2012 JING would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! nice people, clean rooms and many activities

Disliked: No

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tanguy JUTON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2012 Tanguy would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, decoration

Disliked: noise, just above a pub, expensive to park a car around