HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lucky D's San Diego Hostel

615 8th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.00USD

Important Information

***Please note*** A 10.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the amount quoted to be paid upon arrival, as well as a 0.55% TMD assessment. This totals to 11.05% in local taxes and assessments. Only applicable to room prices over $25 a night.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 87%

Value 90%

Showing 11-20 of 58 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: A fantastic hostel with great staff, loads of fun nights, free food and at a brilliant price. Top class.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly staff and familiar atmosphere. Perfect location.

Disliked: No free parking.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind review. We try hard to create a fun atmosphere and have a welcoming staff. Because of our great location sometimes parking can be hard but our friendly staff are always on hand to advise where to park. We hope you can come back and see us soon.

Peter Sprigg
General Manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness of staff (& helpfulness) and guests - all great!

Disliked: The fact that only 1 of the 4 waffle irons were functional. Not myself - as I was early to the kitchen - but others had perhaps 'long waits'. The kitchen cleaning man said new faffle machines were on order - so all should be fine when they arrive. Let me say the staff did cook ahead of time waffles for guests to assist in the immediate problem.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our friendly/helpful staff so its nice to hear guests feel the same. We apologize for any inconvenience the broken waffle machine caused. We did try to cook waffles for guests so there was always some available for guests. This problem was fixed quickly after the machine broke.

We hope you will come back soon.

Peter Sprigg
General Manager.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent hostel, very friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for such a Positive review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back soon. We are adding more and more activities to get guests involved and this summer we are taking people to the baseball games (2 blocks away) and doing a free local brewery tour.

Hope to see you soon.

Peter Sprigg
General manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I felt at home at lucky d's , great location five min walk from city centre. Lots of interesting fellow travellers and chats in the common rooms made it a great stay. Staff were helpful, Marta was very welcoming upon arrival and gave me lots of information on the city, I feel like my San Diego has expanded lots now! Going out tour on Saturday night with Lisa was great to see the city at night.Hostel was clean and free beer on saturday and I scream on Sunday! Yum. Overall I'd defunately Return to Sunny D's if I return to the golden coast!

Disliked: Nothng , I wanted to stay longer!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent location, great atmosphere, cheap, clean

Disliked: Above a bar so at some rooms it can be noisy sometimes

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice staff, good location right at the Gaslamp District

Disliked: Unfortunately the hallway was newly painted so that the window had to be open all night. It was very loud.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I think Lucky D's is a great hostel! It's clean and safe, and the location is excellent, because it's near Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Convention Center and the San Diego Bay. Also, the price is fair with good services, and the staff is great. Michael, Sasha, Anna and Gregory were very friendly and supportive, showing me many places in San Diego.Jackie is another staff member that you can always count on! Extremely happy, funny and she also prepared an excellent Thanksgiving dinner for everybody!Strongly recommend it!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: I love this place. I've been to so many hostels around the world and Lucky D's is up there on my list. The location is perfect. Its downtown and its close to so many bars, venues and parks. The hostel itself is really clean, and it seems the staff works around the clock to maintain the place. The staff are really diverse and helpful. They're also really involved in all the activities of the hostel. Speaking of activities, you'll never get bored. Pub crawls every nights, beer tours, soccer games and game nights. Their common room is great for partying and meeting new people. They have free breakfast everyday and free dinners few times a week. The atmosphere is really cool and they have art everywhere around the hostel. Also the rates are really affordable. Bottom line If you're in San Diego, you have to check it out.

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was simply awesome.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: posizione,ostello molto giovane e curato

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability