HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St. Christopher International Hostel Downtown San Diego Hostel

2420 India Street, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 59%

Location 69%

Safety 83%

Staff 70%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Reading Light
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Wake-up calls
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.00USD

Important Information

Please note that as soon as you book at HostelBookers.com you need to contact the property straight away in order to pay a first night of stay (times - number of guests) in advance to secure your booking. Your booking is not secured until you have paid the non - refundable first night of your stay.
- Cash only (USA dollars) accepted. No credit cards, checks or money orders.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 59%

Location 69%

Safety 83%

Staff 70%

Value 68%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Place very dirty, beds around reception, close to airport so too much noise!They dont have machine to Card.


The property's response is

Mr. Marcos H. Ozaki, turned up at the hostel without cash to pay for his lodging.
The manager explained to him that we are a cash only business as we have no credit card machine to process card payments. We directed him to a bank nearby. Mr. Marcos left to get cash at an ATM.
He returned several hours later to state that he had trouble getting cash with his card as the ATM would not recognise his foreign bank card. Marcos Ozaki did not lodge in our hostel - he left for another hostel.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The owner and the guests

Disliked: Only one bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I only booked this hostel as it was the only one available for my dates. I enjoyed my time so much here I extended by 2 days. The hostel is in a great location, it's noisy most of the day due to planes as its very close to the airport but the convenience of the closeness of the airport outweighs the noise. This is the only hostel you can play the plane drinking game! If you're open minded and laid back this is the place for you. The hostel itself is average but it is good value for money, especially in San Diego! But the best part of St Christopher's is the manager, Juliet. She is a wonderful woman with a fabulous personality. She has epic stories if you take the time to ask. And providing you are polite and respectful, she will treat you like an old friend returning home. She has created the perfect hostel atmosphere, a home from home. I made friends I will never forget here, Juliet being one of them. I would recommend St Christopher's and I hope to return soon for considerably longer! Thank you, Juilet!

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything. Even the plane noise was part of St Christopher's charm. Bathrooms are a hi basic but for $25 a night, no complaints here.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The manager is very friendly and knows the area well.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The guests were friendly and nice...

Disliked: Juliette, the manager is terrible - she was screaming of people and was angry... she can be friendly, but still rough - during one moment to the other she can get crazy...This is NOT a nice place - and especially the staff is very, very bad... stay away from this place...

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location Ideal, just few minutes from Gas Lamp

Disliked: Staff, run entirely by Manager/ owner, Micro managed in it's purest of forms, I would suggest this hostel to anyone who wishes to have a dirty but nagged/harrist stay. My advice book early so to avoid the same fate as my travelling comrades and i.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved this hostel so much fun and the manager makes you feel so welcome. Didnt want to leave, even missing the planes.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The people that were there.

Disliked: The cleanliness, the food at the breakfest.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The manager Juliet was very helpful and little Italy is a nice area to stay in with lots of places to eat and things to see within walking distance.

Disliked: The free parking is for bikes, NOT cars, there is only two bathrooms for the whole hostel, and I got bedbug bites from staying there

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly hostel! The owner was fantastic, really helpful and introduced you to the other guests! Breakfast was served when you wanted, bread (like subway bread) and jam which was really nice and choice of tea or coffee. Hostel very clean and homely!

Disliked: Next door there is a nightclub so was loud on weekends. Also very close to airport so planes very loud but you get used to this very quickly.. didnt keep us awake at all.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability