We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 521 Market Street, San Diego, California, USA CA 92101

91.4% Overall Rating

304 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

"This property is great in all aspect but atmosphere. It seemed to me like a place you want to rest in you attend conferences in SD or work for a week or two. It is not a backpacker hostel as you usually encounter. It…"

Read all HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies: -A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in. - A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in. - Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in. - United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in. - We do not rent to residents of San Diego County. - U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted. - Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay. - Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room. - We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

USA Hostels San Diego
25.00 USD

Hostel 95.5% 228 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 85.4% 77 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 246 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.8% 19 reviews
RK Buckner Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 75.8% 32 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 94.3% 42 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

304 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 259 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is great in all aspect but atmosphere. It seemed to me like a place you want to rest in you attend conferences in SD or work for a week or two. It is not a backpacker hostel as you usually encounter. It has huge kitchen and enough showers for everyone.

Disliked: It is expensive and a bit boring.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private room with bunk beds and had a sink as well as a table in our room. I LOVED this. So nice to wash your face/brush your teeth in your own room. The beds were comfy and we both slept well. The front desk staff were super nice and friendly. When we won some (small) trees on our trip and needed to store them at the hostel, the staff was more than willing to help us out. Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, toast, dairy and non-dairy milk, and tasty fruits.

Disliked: Coffee was kept on tap but had to dilute with water to make it drinkable. The shampoo/soap dispensers in the showers were empty when we showered, so make sure to bring your own shampoo to the shower with you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Lara

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The location is right in the Gaslamp quarter. It couldnt be better. Its Non profit hostel so there not charging for every little thing like towels and using the shower. It had a pretty good vibe. I was there for the Rolling Stones concert that weekend. Theres a full Grocery store/ drug store on the block. That really helped. Lots of Pubs and restaurants. I have only good things to say about it.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roger Gerhard

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 May 2015 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: The style, the central Location,

Disliked: bathrooms and showers Need a refresh and the pricing, , almost 100 usd for one night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renan Santos

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

26 January 2015 Renan would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!! Great service people, Very helpfull ! Even when your english is not that good. Hahah

Disliked: Renan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was spacious and the kitchen is nice

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

abdussamet altay

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2014 abdussamet would recommend this property

Liked: Greatttt location.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Recently refurbished better than a lot of hotels great location

Disliked: If I'm super picky no double glazing made it a little noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Buchanan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 May 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location, decor and price!

Disliked: No tvs in the room. I contracted a stomach virus while in San Diego and was stuck in the room for 4 days. A tv would have provided some entertainment. As I was too sick to leave the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendon Albertson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, very helpful staff

Disliked: A little loud at night on 5th ave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Migoni

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 January 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the decorations are nice!

Disliked: The windows and walls are thin so of you aren't a heavy sleeper bring ear plugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Francisco Perez Vargas

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Juan Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, comfy beds, excellent location, even the counter girl was cute, loved the experience

Disliked: Everything was great

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: This Hostel is really Good located and the straff is friendly. But it is really shabby and Not worth the Money. We Payed 85$ a Night - for this Money we could have a Nice Hotel. We were really dissapointed and Feel fooled. The room Would be Worth 20$.

Disliked: Shabby rooms, no window to Open, Bad breakfast

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARUNACHALA UMESH CHANDAVAR

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 November 2013 ARUNACHALA UMESH would recommend this property

Liked: nice kitchen. fantastic location.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAGNESHA SHARMA NARAYANARAO

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 YAGNESHA SHARMA would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic kitchen with all kinds utensils nicely stacked. Value for money great breakfast; any time coffee or tea 24/7. Excellent bath rooms except one on the third floor. Excellent house keeping. Helpful front office staff except one or two who were impolite (may be they did not follow our accented English), but all the same almost comical.Great decor inside the corridors with pleasant lighting.

Disliked: Old room heaters with broken sliding.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can recommend this hostel 100%

Disliked: Maybe a little loud, but this is the price you have to pay for staying right in the middle of the gaslamp district - which is really nice and you get earplugs for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Fantastic location and exterior.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: Bed awful, uncomfortable, bedrooms very light even at night, noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff

Disliked: not completely quiet, but it was friday night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful, when our car was towed. Thank you once again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Cowley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Pay to use computers, not much character and hard to meet people as its a big hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly and nice staff - very Central location in the Gaslamp Quarter - very clean and modern kitchen

Disliked: - the area around the hostel is indeed very noisy - bring Good earplugs!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Razia Anwar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Razia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in the heart of gaslamp area so great for going out at night. Lift was broken for 3 days. Otherwise great friendly staff, helpful.

Disliked: Broken lift

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was good

Disliked: SO HOT!! Had to ask for a fan, and was given the biggest they could find but it still didn't make much difference.