We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 521 Market Street, San Diego, California, USA CA 92101

89.6% Overall Rating

297 out of 317 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Elizabeth Migoni thinks…

"The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased."

Read all HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies: -A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in. - A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in. - Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in. - United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in. - We do not rent to residents of San Diego County. - U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted. - Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay. - Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room. - We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

USA Hostels San Diego
31.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 220 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 67 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 231 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 11 reviews
RK Buckner Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 26 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
70.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
27.01 USD

Hostel 93.5% 37 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
50.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

297 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 252 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

abdussamet altay

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 September 2014 abdussamet would recommend this property

Liked: Greatttt location.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Recently refurbished better than a lot of hotels great location

Disliked: If I'm super picky no double glazing made it a little noisy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Buchanan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 May 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location, decor and price!

Disliked: No tvs in the room. I contracted a stomach virus while in San Diego and was stuck in the room for 4 days. A tv would have provided some entertainment. As I was too sick to leave the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendon Albertson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, very helpful staff

Disliked: A little loud at night on 5th ave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Migoni

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 January 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the decorations are nice!

Disliked: The windows and walls are thin so of you aren't a heavy sleeper bring ear plugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Francisco Perez Vargas

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Juan Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome, comfy beds, excellent location, even the counter girl was cute, loved the experience

Disliked: Everything was great

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013

Liked: This Hostel is really Good located and the straff is friendly. But it is really shabby and Not worth the Money. We Payed 85$ a Night - for this Money we could have a Nice Hotel. We were really dissapointed and Feel fooled. The room Would be Worth 20$.

Disliked: Shabby rooms, no window to Open, Bad breakfast

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARUNACHALA UMESH CHANDAVAR

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 November 2013 ARUNACHALA UMESH would recommend this property

Liked: nice kitchen. fantastic location.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YAGNESHA SHARMA NARAYANARAO

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 YAGNESHA SHARMA would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic kitchen with all kinds utensils nicely stacked. Value for money great breakfast; any time coffee or tea 24/7. Excellent bath rooms except one on the third floor. Excellent house keeping. Helpful front office staff except one or two who were impolite (may be they did not follow our accented English), but all the same almost comical.Great decor inside the corridors with pleasant lighting.

Disliked: Old room heaters with broken sliding.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can recommend this hostel 100%

Disliked: Maybe a little loud, but this is the price you have to pay for staying right in the middle of the gaslamp district - which is really nice and you get earplugs for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Fantastic location and exterior.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: Bed awful, uncomfortable, bedrooms very light even at night, noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff

Disliked: not completely quiet, but it was friday night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful, when our car was towed. Thank you once again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Cowley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Pay to use computers, not much character and hard to meet people as its a big hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly and nice staff - very Central location in the Gaslamp Quarter - very clean and modern kitchen

Disliked: - the area around the hostel is indeed very noisy - bring Good earplugs!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Razia Anwar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Razia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in the heart of gaslamp area so great for going out at night. Lift was broken for 3 days. Otherwise great friendly staff, helpful.

Disliked: Broken lift

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was good

Disliked: SO HOT!! Had to ask for a fan, and was given the biggest they could find but it still didn't make much difference.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel. Super clean. Really, really comfy beds (tempur). Free breakfast, ensuite showers. Staff really friendly when asked questions, seemed quite involved although I mainly did my own thing. Couldn't get a better location, right in the heart of downtown San Diego in the Gaslamp District. Highly recommend this hostel to anyone :)

Disliked: Can be noisy, but this is the price for being in such a great location. Use earplugs if it bothers you although with the great beds sleep isn't an issue. Only issue was someone drank my labelled orange juice on two occasions(got more, it got used), not hostels fault just someone using others' stuff. But after two days it stopped. Highly recommend this hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of facilities and services.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's good all round

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

justin ward

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 justin would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of the gas lamp district

Disliked: Not really a dislike just more beds to a room than I'm use to

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great. It's in the Gaslamp District which has a lot of night life (though it is also noisy at night!). It is walking distance from the Convention Center and Seaport Village. It was a short bike ride to Balboa Park and The Zoo, but you could even walk if you don't mind a longer walk. Everything was really clean, including the bathroom. The (private) bathroom had a really new looking shower. The bed and the chair in the room were both really comfortable. The kitchen is also really nice and is stocked with cookware. Also, I didn't realize when booking, but all of the shared bathrooms are single use (no stalls), which is nice.

Disliked: I booked a private room with a "double" bed, but instead our room had a bunk bed in it. Luckily the bottom part of the bed was big, so we both slept there anyway. I was still disappointed because I chose the "Double (Private bathroom)" room based on the image shown. I knew it wouldn't look exactly like that room, but our room was so much less... cute. The breakfast left something to be desired. It consisted of a few different kinds of bread with butter and peanut butter and jelly, as well as sliced canteloupe and orange. You could also make instant oatmeal for yourself if you wanted (though there was a sign asking not to make it in the microwave..)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a private room with 2 bunk beds. Overall was really good.

Disliked: Since the room was facing the street it was pretty noisy all night, because of the people passing the street and also the bars around.

The property's response is...