HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


02 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Great location at reasonable price. Community feel inside hostel. Never had to wait for a bathroom. Free breakfast/coffee. Up to date building.

Disliked: Hip hop showcase on Saturday was terrible bc the rappers were awful!! Also, was not able to move to a bottom bunk when roommate had not arrived yet. Should be able to accommodate requests like that - just switch the bed reservations!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Hostel was really clean and in a great location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Family Holiday

Liked: We booked a private room with bunk beds and had a sink as well as a table in our room. I LOVED this. So nice to wash your face/brush your teeth in your own room. The beds were comfy and we both slept well.The front desk staff were super nice and friendly. When we won some (small) trees on our trip and needed to store them at the hostel, the staff was more than willing to help us out. Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, toast, dairy and non-dairy milk, and tasty fruits.

Disliked: Coffee was kept on tap but had to dilute with water to make it drinkable. The shampoo/soap dispensers in the showers were empty when we showered, so make sure to bring your own shampoo to the shower with you.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This property is great in all aspect but atmosphere. It seemed to me like a place you want to rest in you attend conferences in SD or work for a week or two. It is not a backpacker hostel as you usually encounter. It has huge kitchen and enough showers for everyone.

Disliked: It is expensive and a bit boring.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is right in the Gaslamp quarter. It couldnt be better. Its Non profit hostel so there not charging for every little thing like towels and using the shower. It had a pretty good vibe. I was there for the Rolling Stones concert that weekend. Theres a full Grocery store/ drug store on the block. That really helped. Lots of Pubs and restaurants. I have only good things to say about it.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: The style, the central Location,

Disliked: bathrooms and showers Need a refresh and the pricing, , almost 100 usd for one night

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very good location!! Great service people, Very helpfull ! Even when your english is not that good. Hahah

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room was spacious and the kitchen is nice

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Greatttt location.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Recently refurbished better than a lot of hotels great location

Disliked: If I'm super picky no double glazing made it a little noisy

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability