HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego

Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 61-32 of 32 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was friendly and gave good advise on local restaurants (Cafe 21 was a great call!)

Disliked: The building was cold at times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad to hear you had a great time. We just fired up the boiler, so it should be nice and toasty from here on out.

-HI San Diego Downtown

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was great. Friendly staff, always willing to help. Clean facilites. Met some cool people there. Had a nice kitchen and tv room with sofas. Rooms were good size with clean toilets/showers. Lockers in the roon were good.

Disliked: Breakfast wasnt great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review!

-HI San Diego Downtown

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right in the Gaslamp Quarter so the location is very good.Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, as is normal for a hostel of this size.Rooms are stuffy with only an exhaust fan that really does nothing to cool thing down at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the comments. We are in the process of adding bathrooms. One new one has just been completed and we should have one more by the beginning of next year. The exhaust fans are new, and trust us they do a lot :). Last summer we did not have them and our complaints about the heat were at least double. We are however, looking into better alternatives. We truly appreciate the great feedback.

-HI San Diego Downtown

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In gas lamp quarter near all bars

Disliked: dark rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. As we remodel, we will be making the sleeping rooms brighter. We appreciate the business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is in the city.

Disliked: To far away from the beach...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the review, we appreciate it.

-HI San Diego Downtown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the art exibit :)

Disliked: the mattrasse is to fexible

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yay! Glad you enjoyed the art show. Hope to see you again soon!

-HI San Diego Downtown

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Extremely noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We apologize for the noise. It does tend to be the biggest drawback of such a centralized urban location. Currently, we offer free earplugs at our front desk to aid in blocking the noise. Also, we recommend that incoming reservations call us ahead of time and request a room off of the main street. Thank you for your review and business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: LocationAtmosphere

Disliked: No WiFI access form our room (only common areas)BATH tap was in bad condition.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review. We are working on the Wi-Fi coverage as well as the bathrooms, so hopefully by your next stay, all should be resolved.

-HI San Diego Downtown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I thought that it was a great location located in the heart of downtown San Diego, the staff was very helpful and the property had a lot of character and charm.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you had a great time!

-HI San Diego Downtown

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was a nice hostel. There is a breakfast included, well, bread and marmalade, but fair.

Disliked: I had to buy a lock for the locker there. The price was 3.50$. Even not too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great comments. We try our best to competitively mark up our products while not overpricing them. We will look into it again though to make sure the lock price is fair. Thanks again.

-HI San Diego Downtown

Check Availability