HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

Showing 51-14 of 14 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: Not many bathrooms. No place for smokers,only the street outside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. The smoking areas are tough in California, as you cannot smoke inside any buildings here. We apologize for this. Thanks for the business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Everything was perfect!

Disliked: Nothing is bad!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! See you next time.

-HI San Diego Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very nice facilities and perfect location.

Disliked: I did not like the smell in my room, poor ventilation and somebody smells like cigarretes...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff, convienient areas for everybody, lot of space to meet other travellers, many hostel avtivities

Disliked: the rooms were to hot in spring, since heating could not be turned off.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: it was all ok

Disliked: ther was nothing i disliked about thehostel

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the wonderful review. We greatly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.

-HI San Diego Downtown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the price, the location, the staff, the kitchen

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate the great comments and review. See you next time.

-HI San Diego Downtown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: comfortable bed, chance to meet other travelers, excellent location, very friendly staff

Disliked: For me, there are too many people per dorm room, in this case, 10 beds.The dorm room had a potent stench of dirty clothes and generally was unkempt and rather dirty. I want to say that my reaction to this facility rests with me and my tastes and not the facility itself. If I were a younger back packer I might be able to overlook loud snoring and extreme hacking (coughing). I only stayed at the hostel for the first night and booked other accommodations, but still used the facilities during the day to visit with some other guests.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We apologize for the quality of your stay, as it seems that you did not have the greatest time with us. We do offer private rooms with and without bath for a very competitive rate in the Gaslamp. Perhaps next time you could try one of those? Regardless, we do our best to keep people as neat and tidy as possible, but large dorm rooms are always a mixed bag. Thank you for your comments and your business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: One of the better hostelling internationals I have stayed at. Good location, free internet, spacious rooms.

Disliked: Showers weren't great. Needed a few more activities.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. We are currently working to get a better line up of activities for the summer time, so please check out our website for updates. We appreciate the business and the time you took to review us.

HI San Diego Downtonw

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There is no reason to consider staying anywhere else in San Diego. Located in the heart of the most lively district, HI San Diego verges on perfect.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow! Thanks for the great review. We truly appreciate it.

-HI San Diego Downtown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location was easy for most things, walking distance to a lot and easy to access public transport. Supermarket just up the road. Had a private, ensuite room though so may not be as good for those sharing in dorms.Loved the volunteer popping round to people at breakfast offering tips on where to go etc. Very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Room was kinda noisy, weird tapping noise constantly. Would recommend you take ear plugs for sure.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the comments and review. Noise tends to be our biggest issue, and we do provide free earplugs at our reception. We also suggest that light sleepers call us or email us ahead of time to request an interior room, which tends to be much quieter. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

-HI San Diego Downtown

Check Availability