HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 41-26 of 26 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything was good and we liked the week program very much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best.

-HI San Diego Downtown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks!

-HI San Diego Downtown

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Felt safe as noone allowed in other than receipt holders

Disliked: Quite noisy at night from the restaurant district outside until around 2-3 in morning so best bring your earplugs

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate the great review. The noise is a bit unavoidable as we are in the heart of everything. Don't worry though, if you forget earplugs, we have them for free at our reception. All the best.

-HI San Diego Downtown

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Despise the fact that the kitchen of the hostel was "out of order" (they were re-painting it) I found the hostel very nice and welcoming. The dorm had 10 beds with a private bathroom and that was cool!

Disliked: Maybe the Lobby. To high for me. It seems to miss space to be very efficient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

The kitchen is being finished today! Thanks everyone for your patience, and thank you for the wonderful review.

-HI San Diego Downtown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was nice

Disliked: no kitchen and several older adults were staying there which was a little uncomfortable being that it is a "youth" hostel.


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. Our kitchen is currently under remodel, and we do have a temporary kitchen set up. So we still offer free breakfast, and a place to cook basic meals. The remodel will be finished by the second week in June. Also, "Youth" hostel is a misnomer, as only allowing people of a certain age to stay at a lodging facility in the USA is considered discrimination. Thus, we must admit people of all ages to avoid legal action against us. Thanks for staying with us!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: good value for the price

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: Not many bathrooms. No place for smokers,only the street outside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. The smoking areas are tough in California, as you cannot smoke inside any buildings here. We apologize for this. Thanks for the business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

Check Availability