HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 31-23 of 23 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Right in the middle of the gas lamp district

Disliked: Not really a dislike just more beds to a room than I'm use to

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great comments. We do offer smaller dorms as well, I'm assuming you were in the 10 person. The smallest dorm we offer is a 4 person.

All the best,

HI-San Diego Downtown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is really great. It's in the Gaslamp District which has a lot of night life (though it is also noisy at night!). It is walking distance from the Convention Center and Seaport Village. It was a short bike ride to Balboa Park and The Zoo, but you could even walk if you don't mind a longer walk.Everything was really clean, including the bathroom. The (private) bathroom had a really new looking shower. The bed and the chair in the room were both really comfortable. The kitchen is also really nice and is stocked with cookware.Also, I didn't realize when booking, but all of the shared bathrooms are single use (no stalls), which is nice.

Disliked: I booked a private room with a "double" bed, but instead our room had a bunk bed in it. Luckily the bottom part of the bed was big, so we both slept there anyway. I was still disappointed because I chose the "Double (Private bathroom)" room based on the image shown. I knew it wouldn't look exactly like that room, but our room was so much less... cute.The breakfast left something to be desired. It consisted of a few different kinds of bread with butter and peanut butter and jelly, as well as sliced canteloupe and orange. You could also make instant oatmeal for yourself if you wanted (though there was a sign asking not to make it in the microwave..)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the detailed review. We truly appreciate the feedback. To address your issues, the room you were in had a Houston Bed, which is a double bed with a bunk over it. We have double rooms with just a double bed as well. In the future, we suggest asking us to switch to one of those rooms if you are uncomfortable having a bunk over your double bed. Please tell us in the future what you would like us to add to breakfast and we will. Instant oatmeal explodes if you microwave it.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We got a private room with 2 bunk beds. Overall was really good.

Disliked: Since the room was facing the street it was pretty noisy all night, because of the people passing the street and also the bars around.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the comments. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. The noise from the street is the one bad thing about our otherwise perfect location. The best way to deal with it is to contact us ahead of your stay and to request a quieter room. If that cannot be done, we also offer free earplugs at reception. Thanks a bunch!

-HI San Diego Downtown

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Clean rooms, comfy beds, bathroom ensuite- Awesome hostel breakfast (3 kinds of bread, jelly, BP, 3 cereals, coffee etc.)- location near 5th & Market is close to everything- nice TV room with projector (we didn't use it tho)

Disliked: - beds are super-squeaky and can be annoying- PCs are $5/h and super-limited WTF?!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review and the business. We are currently looking into changing our internet pricing, as we have received a bit of feedback such as yours. We currently offer free WiFi to anyone who brings a device. We will definitely consider your point though when budgeting for next fiscal year. All the best.

HI-San Diego Downtown

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was excellent, staff super friendly and helpful. They had lots of great tips and the pub crawl on Wednesday night was fun - you get to go to places you wouldn't find as a tourist.

Disliked: Mould on the shower curtains and the bathroom in general.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review. We are currently remodeling all of our bathrooms, so the issues you spoke of will be gone soon. We appreciate the business and the review. Hope to see you again soon.

-HI San Diego Downtown

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location is great

Disliked: my supposedly quiet room didn't stop rattling and you could hear everything through the walls


The property's response is

Obviously, your stay with us was not up to par. We apologize for this, and will be contacting you personally to resolve this situation. This is not typical at our hostel, and once again, we apologize. Thank you for your business, and alerting us to this situation. All the best.

-HI San Diego Downtown

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, we had our private room, and it was not noisy.There was breakfast(although poor quality, but still, breakfast)&we got towels. Staff was ok. And we received 2x door keys.It was just a get-in get-out place for me, with a good location.

Disliked: The rooms looked old and were a bit smelly, windows don't open well.Breakfast was quite poor(bread, marmelade, peanut butter, coffee& cereals) The atmosphere is non existent, it is everyone to its own. There are some boardgames that everyone seems to ignore.No parking, and since you're in downtown, it's hard to find parking unless you pay for it. There are a lot of paying parking places are around though if you're ok with that.


The property's response is

We apologize for the disappointing elements of your stay with us. We are working towards a better atmosphere. This winter we will be putting in a game room as well as running some great open to the community events such as our Hostel Takeover art show. We are also going to be slapping up a fresh coat of paint in most of our rooms. Unfortunately, parking is at a premium in the Downtown area. We recommend that incoming guests stop by our desk and get parking instructions pre check-in. Thanks

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: One of the staff members was very rude! He was on the reception, I can't remember his name, but he had the worst attitude ever.


The property's response is

We appreciate the review and the comments. The rude situation you encountered is not typical, and we will address it immediately. Thank you for the time you took to give us feedback. All the best.

-HI San Diego Downtown

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For me was everything perfect. I love the place, it's beautiful, clean and friendly. The location is very good, right on Gaslamp Quarter so perfect for who wants to go out at night.

Disliked: Even though the location is good. And it's easy to go get the train from the hostel, you gotta consider maybe it will be a long ride.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks for the review and the business.

-HI San Diego Downtown

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location of the hostel is amazing - you are right in the centre of SD Gaslamp district, a short walk from all the bars and clubs and also from the transit centre, the harbour and the baseball stadium. The staff are great and let you know what is going on every day and can mostly answer any thing you ask, or look it up for you if not. The communal areas are a little small, but still pretty good. The kitchen is the best of these, with internet, cookers etc and a pretty good space to socialise.

Disliked: Nightlife events aren't really organised for travellers at the hostel. There is a bar crawl event on Wednesdays but very few people turned up. Minor point, does not detract from overall impression.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the comments. We are working hard to get more people to go on our events, but sometimes people just don't sign up. We appreciate the business and the review.

-HI San Diego Downtown

Check Availability