HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI San Diego - Downtown San Diego Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies:

-A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in.

- A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in.

- Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in.

- United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in.

- We do not rent to residents of San Diego County.

- U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted.

- Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay.

- Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room.

- We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 85%

Showing 11-14 of 14 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The location, decor and price!

Disliked: No tvs in the room. I contracted a stomach virus while in San Diego and was stuck in the room for 4 days. A tv would have provided some entertainment. As I was too sick to leave the room.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great kitchen, very helpful staff

Disliked: A little loud at night on 5th ave

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the decorations are nice!

Disliked: The windows and walls are thin so of you aren't a heavy sleeper bring ear plugs.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome, comfy beds, excellent location, even the counter girl was cute, loved the experience

Disliked: Everything was great

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This Hostel is really Good located and the straff is friendly. But it is really shabby and Not worth the Money. We Payed 85$ a Night - for this Money we could have a Nice Hotel. We were really dissapointed and Feel fooled. The room Would be Worth 20$.

Disliked: Shabby rooms, no window to Open, Bad breakfast


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. We do our best to provide the most value for what you pay. Typically hotel rooms with an A/C, mini fridge, and private bathroom in the Gaslamp quarter come in at $100.00+ dollars per night in a hotel (excluding special deals). This can increase exponentially during conventions. We will look at our pricing based on your comments, and we are in the process of a remodel in order to look less shabby. Thank you for the feedback.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: nice kitchen. fantastic location.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic kitchen with all kinds utensils nicely stacked. Value for money great breakfast; any time coffee or tea 24/7. Excellent bath rooms except one on the third floor. Excellent house keeping. Helpful front office staff except one or two who were impolite (may be they did not follow our accented English), but all the same almost comical.Great decor inside the corridors with pleasant lighting.

Disliked: Old room heaters with broken sliding.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I can recommend this hostel 100%

Disliked: Maybe a little loud, but this is the price you have to pay for staying right in the middle of the gaslamp district - which is really nice and you get earplugs for free.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything. Fantastic location and exterior.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability