We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

Hostel | 521 Market Street, San Diego, California, USA CA 92101

89.6% Overall Rating

297 out of 317 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Elizabeth Migoni thinks…

"The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The service was friendly. All around we were very pleased."

Read all HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT – Check-In/Reservation Policies: -A 12.5% city tax will be charged in addition to the quoted pay upon arrival amount at check-in. - A $3 Non-Member Fee will be added per night for guests who are not Hostelling International members. Memberships are available at front desk upon check in. - Foreign travellers must show a valid foreign passport at check-in. - United States citizens must show a valid state issued Identification Card or Driver's License with photo upon check in. - We do not rent to residents of San Diego County. - U.S. passports, Foreign Identification and Driver's Licenses, Military Identification and Student Identification cards are not accepted. - Reservations must be cancelled by Midnight the day before check-in. Any cancellations or no-shows after this point will be charged for the first night of the intended stay. - Guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. No one under the age of 12 may stay in a dorm room. - We have a maximum allotted stay of 14 nights in a 365 day period. Any bookings made for longer than this cannot be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Diego?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Diego

USA Hostels San Diego
27.00 USD

Hostel 96.6% 220 reviews
Hostel on 3rd
25.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 68 reviews
Lucky D's Hostel
27.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 232 reviews
500 West Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 11 reviews
RK Buckner Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 26 reviews
San Diego Downtown Lodge
100.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
International Travelers House Adventure Hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel 93.5% 37 reviews
Harborview Inn & Suites San Diego Harbor
54.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

297 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 252 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paul Broeker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: - Clean rooms, comfy beds, bathroom ensuite - Awesome hostel breakfast (3 kinds of bread, jelly, BP, 3 cereals, coffee etc.) - location near 5th & Market is close to everything - nice TV room with projector (we didn't use it tho)

Disliked: - beds are super-squeaky and can be annoying - PCs are $5/h and super-limited WTF?!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent, staff super friendly and helpful. They had lots of great tips and the pub crawl on Wednesday night was fun - you get to go to places you wouldn't find as a tourist.

Disliked: Mould on the shower curtains and the bathroom in general.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

caitlin smith

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 November 2012

Liked: location is great

Disliked: my supposedly quiet room didn't stop rattling and you could hear everything through the walls

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Caroline Liviera

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Ana Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: For me was everything perfect. I love the place, it's beautiful, clean and friendly. The location is very good, right on Gaslamp Quarter so perfect for who wants to go out at night.

Disliked: Even though the location is good. And it's easy to go get the train from the hostel, you gotta consider maybe it will be a long ride.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Omar Jaradat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: One of the staff members was very rude! He was on the reception, I can't remember his name, but he had the worst attitude ever.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012

Liked: The location is good, we had our private room, and it was not noisy. There was breakfast(although poor quality, but still, breakfast)&we got towels. Staff was ok. And we received 2x door keys. It was just a get-in get-out place for me, with a good location.

Disliked: The rooms looked old and were a bit smelly, windows don't open well. Breakfast was quite poor(bread, marmelade, peanut butter, coffee& cereals) The atmosphere is non existent, it is everyone to its own. There are some boardgames that everyone seems to ignore. No parking, and since you're in downtown, it's hard to find parking unless you pay for it. There are a lot of paying parking places are around though if you're ok with that.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is amazing - you are right in the centre of SD Gaslamp district, a short walk from all the bars and clubs and also from the transit centre, the harbour and the baseball stadium. The staff are great and let you know what is going on every day and can mostly answer any thing you ask, or look it up for you if not. The communal areas are a little small, but still pretty good. The kitchen is the best of these, with internet, cookers etc and a pretty good space to socialise.

Disliked: Nightlife events aren't really organised for travellers at the hostel. There is a bar crawl event on Wednesdays but very few people turned up. Minor point, does not detract from overall impression.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast in the morning was great - loved the fresh fruit. The dorm rooms were nice and big and the showers were extremely clean. The staff are super friendly and always willing to help. I would definitely stay at this hostel again if I go back to San Diego.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good and we liked the week program very much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sheryll Chrisp

Alone

Business / conference

28 June 2012 sheryll would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe as noone allowed in other than receipt holders

Disliked: Quite noisy at night from the restaurant district outside until around 2-3 in morning so best bring your earplugs

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne CASTERAN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 anne would recommend this property

Liked: Despise the fact that the kitchen of the hostel was "out of order" (they were re-painting it) I found the hostel very nice and welcoming. The dorm had 10 beds with a private bathroom and that was cool!

Disliked: Maybe the Lobby. To high for me. It seems to miss space to be very efficient.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lysander canlas

Alone

Business / conference

15 June 2012 lysander would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the price

Disliked: lysander left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012

Liked: The location was nice

Disliked: no kitchen and several older adults were staying there which was a little uncomfortable being that it is a "youth" hostel.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Not many bathrooms. No place for smokers,only the street outside.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect!

Disliked: Nothing is bad!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imanol Aranzadi

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 April 2012 Imanol would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice facilities and perfect location.

Disliked: I did not like the smell in my room, poor ventilation and somebody smells like cigarretes...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Torsten Sievers

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 March 2012 Torsten would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff, convienient areas for everybody, lot of space to meet other travellers, many hostel avtivities

Disliked: the rooms were to hot in spring, since heating could not be turned off.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GEORGE BURNHAM

Alone

Events / festivals

26 March 2012 GEORGE would recommend this property

Liked: it was all ok

Disliked: ther was nothing i disliked about thehostel

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price, the location, the staff, the kitchen

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Thomas Dredge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 February 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable bed, chance to meet other travelers, excellent location, very friendly staff

Disliked: For me, there are too many people per dorm room, in this case, 10 beds. The dorm room had a potent stench of dirty clothes and generally was unkempt and rather dirty. I want to say that my reaction to this facility rests with me and my tastes and not the facility itself. If I were a younger back packer I might be able to overlook loud snoring and extreme hacking (coughing). I only stayed at the hostel for the first night and booked other accommodations, but still used the facilities during the day to visit with some other guests.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the better hostelling internationals I have stayed at. Good location, free internet, spacious rooms.

Disliked: Showers weren't great. Needed a few more activities.

The property's response is...