We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Antonio International Hostel

Hostel | 621 Pierce Ave, San Antonio, Texas, USA 78208

72.9% Overall Rating

141 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2013)

Malwina Bednarz thinks…

"I loved everything ! The hostel is like an old mansion. My room was beautiful. The whole house was decorated because it was Christams time and it looked amazing ! I would stay there longer if only I…"

Read all San Antonio International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We require a first night deposit that includes hotel tax @ 16.75%. All dorm rates are subject to the city & state hotel tax. Our reception office hours are from 8AM to 12Noon and 4PM to 9.30 PM.Late night check ins are available with advance notice. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Add 16.75 % city and state hotel tax to all dorm and room rates. There's also a $10 cash refundable key deposit when checking in. There's also a $10 (cash) key deposit when checking in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Antonio

Bullis House Inn
25.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.8% 13 reviews
Super 8 Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Travelodge Alamo/ Riverwalk
40.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 17 reviews
Days Inn Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn, Lackland
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

141 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Antonio International Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 154 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2014

Liked: Friendly staff. The swimming pool was nice.

Disliked: It's old and musty. Would had preferred to stay in the house, which is nicer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malwina Bednarz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Malwina would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything ! The hostel is like an old mansion. My room was beautiful. The whole house was decorated because it was Christams time and it looked amazing ! I would stay there longer if only I could !

Disliked: I loved the hostel !

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: A long way from downtown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hagler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel portion was empty and I was given a free upgrade to a shared room in the mansion.........VERY NICE. A wonderful historic mansion, felt like I was staying in a deluxe bed and breakfast with antique furniture. Be warned the regular hostel part is pretty standard but sill looked plenty nice enough. Historical neighborhood next to Ft. Sam Houston.

Disliked: You gotta take a bus downtown but hey, that is no big deal. It's an easy bus ride to the airport. They sure treated me right on my visit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house

Disliked: Terrible internet and that it was closed between 12-4pm

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

EDUARDO MORI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals

15 August 2012 EDUARDO would recommend this property

Liked: Horrible place, horrible experience, dirty place, rude owner.

Disliked: Location, cleanliness, staff(just one and is the owner), kinda dangerous. I saw two coachroaches in teh kitchen and I have the pictures if you need it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cameron Yorke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2012

Liked: Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Location is a pain in the ass, too far out of the city centre, but there's not much choice in San Antonio.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sheets and towels were clean. Friendly staff. A/C worked properly.

Disliked: Dorms and common areas were not too clean. There is no vending machine. I did not find any wireless network available.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an old mansion with charm-although a bit worse for wear in places, it has air conditioning, clean linens, a pool, a computer with internet plus wifi, a fridge for hostel guests to store food, close to a bus stop, near downtown (about 1.5 miles).

Disliked: No breakfast options for hostel guests, actual rooms need vacuuming/dusting/grime out of corners, slow to refill TP in bathrooms, 3rd floor landing is sweltering, 3rd floor bed are smushy cots so you get a bar that kind of digs into your shoulders area - I recovered quickly after waking but some might not feel so good after sleeping on it.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Impressive building, clean facilities, got offered a room together at a cheap rate, as the male and female dorms are so far apart.

Disliked: No where to leave luggage after check out. Out of the centre of San Antonio Lacked atmosphere, nothing to do in the evaning.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house

Disliked: extremely inflexible check-in time. staff rather left the key at the door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Dominic Satchell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool was good though maybe a bit warm, I also had the whole dorm to myself which was nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Downtown is a fairly long walk but it doesn't take long to get to the riverwalk and it's an enjoyable walk from there.

Disliked: Not a good place to meet other travellers, everyone else staying there seemed to be there for work. The kitchen and the showers/toilets were pretty filthy. The hostel is actually in a rundown outbuilding, not in the nice building in the picture. Wifi doesn't reach the hostel so you can't use it in your room, and you can't get into the hotel after 9.30.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JIE LIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 JIE would recommend this property

Liked: clean,reasonable walking distance to Riverwalk ,not downtowm section,the new section.

Disliked: room airconditioner is quite noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feeling very welcome, it was a very nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Two blocks from city bus. Everything worked: shower, phone, microwave, stove, fridge, good library, comfortable dining and common rooms with good TV and a free computer with a printer! Comfortable, clean bed. Helpful owner/ manager.

Disliked: I prefer lockers for my own lock rather than coin ones. I did not like that my credit card was charged for the first night and a key deposit before I arrived. There were no spoons in the kitchen (a very minor complaint) but everything else was there, including a can opener.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012

Liked: its very clean, the lady running it is helpful and friendly

Disliked: i didnt like the location, even tho it was just a short walk to the busses, The lady told me it was safe, but the taxi driver told me to be careful because its not a good area. I didnt feel safe walking in the area, i actually had some people follow me all the way to the hostel. I'm a female travelling alone so I did not feel safe at all walking. maybe if you have 2 people it would be better and you wouldnt get harrassed. There are lots of ferral cats wondering out the front on the male rooms (shack) As a hotel its nice and a nice building on the inside. but as a single traveller, i wouldnt stay there again, purely because of the location. The girls room was clean and bathroom were clean though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly reception and the character of the house itself.

Disliked: A little bit outside of downtown.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old manor house with lovely character

Disliked: It is located bit more in the suburbs of San Antonio and has that suburban feel, so the house is not that convenient to town

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is an old Texas mansion over 100 years old. The rooms are simple but quiet and comfortable but the house itself is beautiful.

Disliked: A tv would have been nice so that you could relax and watch movies but otherwise was lovely

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, lovely old building. No bunk beds!!! Comfortable beds and cable tv. Fast bus services downtown :)

Disliked: Was low season so not many other travellers

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Everything. Smelt of wee and dirty. Looks like a homeless shelter from the outside

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

dolors urquidi

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 dolors would recommend this property

Liked: The roommate I was given. and the nice quiet room at the top of the tower, if one can call it that. Information was readily available when requested and everyone was very nice. and friendly.

Disliked: The bus company drivers did not know where Carson and Palmetto was located after hours. I took three buses home (to or from the hostel) and all three drivers were unaware of the stop, one claiming to have been on the route for 15 years. the auto-voice was not helpful during that time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Boucquemont Edouard

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Boucquemont would recommend this property

Liked: the price is incredible for the service, the kidness of the propriator, the swimming pool, the style of the house, the beauty of the room with tv and big bed I don t realize after a lots of hostel creepy, this one is the better where I stay.

Disliked: The touristics places are a few fare but when you go by the river walk it s very pleasant at any time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roy standberry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 October 2011 roy would recommend this property

Liked: the swimming pool which was clean and an added attraction to the property....

Disliked: Nothing..it was a nice and honest stay...