HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Antonio International Hostel

Hostel | 621 Pierce Ave, San Antonio, Texas, USA 78208

72.9% Overall Rating

141 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2013)

Malwina Bednarz thinks…

"I loved everything ! The hostel is like an old mansion. My room was beautiful. The whole house was decorated because it was Christams time and it looked amazing ! I would stay there longer if only I…"

Read all San Antonio International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We require a first night deposit that includes hotel tax @ 16.75%. All dorm rates are subject to the city & state hotel tax. Our reception office hours are from 8AM to 12Noon and 4PM to 9.30 PM.Late night check ins are available with advance notice. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Add 16.75 % city and state hotel tax to all dorm and room rates. There's also a $10 cash refundable key deposit when checking in. There's also a $10 (cash) key deposit when checking in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Antonio

Bullis House Inn
25.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.8% 13 reviews
Super 8 Downtown/ Riverwalk
37.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk
47.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Travelodge Alamo/ Riverwalk
40.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 17 reviews
Days Inn Downtown/ Riverwalk
34.70 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn, Lackland
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

141 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Antonio International Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Terence Goldsmith

Alone

09 July 2010

Liked: The Air conditioning was good

Disliked: They decided to double the rates for the Convention and offer nothing in return. I asked to use the internet at 12 Noon and was told we Close 12 noon till 16:00 to come back later. and again the reception Closes at 10pm. To be fair these times are advertised but I ask you is this any way to run a hotel? The Property was Built around 1909 and some parts of the property look like havent been maintained since that date. Bathroom needed updating and smelled on some occasions

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kristen Cowan

24 June 2010

Liked: Walking distance from "Sam's Burger Joint" which has really good food and live music and dancing every week.Also, you can walk to a decent $2 Taco stand.

Disliked: Kristen left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reason I decided to recommend this hostel is, I commend Bullis House for hosting the only hostel in all of San Antonio. At least there's someone willing to host a hostel in this town, even if it's not perfect. I know I'm not the only one who much prefers hostelling over stayong in a Hotel.The Hostel was the topmost floor of a bed and breakfast with a beautiful interior. The first couple floors have beautiful dark wood stairs, rich colored carpet and couches with very beautiful designs. This made for a very relaxing reading area in the downstairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 June 2010

Liked: The mansion is nice, but overpricedIt has fleas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Dempsey

14 June 2010 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: What a fantastic experience!! I've stayed at lots of hostels but this one is one of my favorites! Interesting property, comfortable bed, everything was in perfect working order, lights worked, air conditioner worked, etc. Also, shared bath was easily available and in excellent repair/working order - plenty of hot water and even a tub!! I stayed several nights, so ended up sharing the room with 3 different persons - no problems with any of them (hope they can say the same about me!!). Located just 2 blocks from the bustop to downtown (about 20 minutes by bus). I walked it once - doable, but a long walk especially in the heat. Coffee/tea in the morning is a nice touch. Definitely where I will stay again if I ever return to San Antonio.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vincent Moreau

11 June 2010

Liked: Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. One of the most dirty bathroom I've seen in a hostel. Located in a quite dodgy area, very far from downtown. I would not recommend staying there even to my worst enemy...

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mitchell Incoll

29 May 2010 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff I have ever experienced! So helpful with the surrounding areas and information on public transport. Rooms were a little noisy, but ear plugs are provided- kitchen is great with free pancake or oatmeal breakfast. Showers and toilets were clean and they provided free shampoo and bodywash. A great place to meet fellow travelers and its located right in the centre of the Gaslamp district (good for nightlife). LOVED THIS PLACE

Disliked: Mitchell left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david nielson

09 May 2010 david would recommend this property

Liked: very reasonable and close to public transportation to the city and to the airport and other transportations facilities

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed one night but the hostel (female dorms) is located in an old beautiful building. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was bitten by cat fleas while watching TV in the male dorm OUCHHHHH! they really gotta do something about thatWhen I got home I had put all items in plastic bags while traveling and washed they when I got home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The women's dorm rooms are in the attic of the historic Bullis House. While the dorm rooms are very basic, the bathrooms, lounge, and porch are very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

franz delpont

28 March 2010

Liked: relatively cheap but no wifi, 40minutes from downtown by foot, dirty place. i however slept well.

Disliked: franz left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house with lots of local cats. The owner is very personable. While the room was technically in the attic, it had drawers (I've never had this at a hostel) plus, having a convenient fridge on the same floor was a pleasant surprise. There was almost no one else around, so I cannot say if this is a good place to meet people, but there is plenty of commons area on the first floor both inside and out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liz Hobbs

10 March 2010 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: The house had a lot of character and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The property is spacious and the room I stayed in had a TV, which I haven't encountered so far. It's not in a brilliant location though- I wouldn't have felt safe walking back at night.

Disliked: Liz left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 March 2010

Liked: the attached bed and breakfast looked pleasant although as a hostel resident you have no access to this

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ignacio Hutin

07 February 2010 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Well, first this the only hostel in san antonio, it's not bad but they don't have internet or breakfast, but the really trouble is that is really far from downtown (like 2 and half mile) and the busses are not that helpful.Rooms are nice and clean and bathrooms too, the kitchen closes at 10, I don't know why.

Disliked: Ignacio left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok, the lady is very sweet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

08 January 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house, good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KYUNGHWA LEE

31 December 2009 KYUNGHWA would recommend this property

Liked: It is a sort of Inn. So, it was clean and comfortable. and even in my room, there was a TV. and facilities such as bathroom and so on were so clean. I love the cleaness of this hostel. But, I didn't use the kitchen even though the owner let me use that, cauz the light didn't work so i couldn't turn on the light. And the office hour is limited, and the Internet fee is very expensive as i feel ( half hour : 3.25 dollars ) .. hmm.. and the location is ok, just 15-20 minutes by bus, you can get to downtown, So, i think i recommed you to stay here unless you often use the internet.

Disliked: KYUNGHWA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Small

09 December 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: LOTS OF CHARACHTER. NICE STAFF. DECENT LOCATION, A LITTLE AWAY FROM THE ACTION. A FEW DECENT RESTARAUNTS WITHIN 10 MIN WALK. GREAT VALUE FOR $

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Piatt

09 November 2009 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Other than my food being stolen the first day I arrived & this was the second time in a week, which has now been taken care of, by way of more security, the place was very nice & extremely clean. It was nice to have a tv lounge & kitchen, I have already recommended this place to some people travelling to San Antonio, I don't think they'll be dissapointed.

Disliked: Timothy left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

braden holmes

21 October 2009 braden would recommend this property

Liked: it is the only one in town so i had to stay there. its not a party hostel at all. but its a clean bed and a good nite sleep. id like to stay closer to the city centre but its all they got in town so beggers cant be chosers.

Disliked: braden left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dean Niles

10 October 2009

Liked: The only good thing was I had the whole dorm to myself, and I could lock my room. It didn't seem safe there.

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

aman ullah

10 September 2009

Liked: this is good for nothing.a bloody haunting place

Disliked: aman left no negative feedback.