HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Antonio International Hostel

Hostel | 621 Pierce Ave, San Antonio, Texas, USA 78208

72.9% Overall Rating

141 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2013)

Malwina Bednarz thinks…

"I loved everything ! The hostel is like an old mansion. My room was beautiful. The whole house was decorated because it was Christams time and it looked amazing ! I would stay there longer if only I…"

Read all San Antonio International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We require a first night deposit that includes hotel tax @ 16.75%. All dorm rates are subject to the city & state hotel tax. Our reception office hours are from 8AM to 12Noon and 4PM to 9.30 PM.Late night check ins are available with advance notice. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Add 16.75 % city and state hotel tax to all dorm and room rates. There's also a $10 cash refundable key deposit when checking in. There's also a $10 (cash) key deposit when checking in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Antonio

Bullis House Inn
25.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.8% 13 reviews
Super 8 Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk
52.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Travelodge Alamo/ Riverwalk
32.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 17 reviews
Days Inn Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn, Lackland
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

141 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Antonio International Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique building, old house split into dorm rooms.

Disliked: It was in disrepair. Roof leak, peeling paint. Dorm rooms only had key lock, no deadbolt.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: * The free wi-fi was very fast and reliable * The property was quiet and relaxing * The beds were comfortable

Disliked: * This place was creepy!! There was barely anyone around- it had no atmosphere it was like a ghosthouse * The Bathroom smelt and the hotwater didn't work properly * The hostel didn't have adequate heating * The location is too far from downtown in a sketchy area

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean with decent kitchen and communal areas, the beds were also comfy. Secure lockers available but bring some quarters!

Disliked: 45 mins (fast) walking from downtown area. The buses were there but not that frequent. Cabs are around 10 USD to make the journey so you may need to consider if its notmore worthwhile going to a more expensive hotel as you may save money in the end...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 December 2010

Liked: Excellent value for money.

Disliked: It is miles away from downtown (45+ min walk), and is very difficult to access via public transport, which is infrequent and perplexing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Barbara Wishingrad

Alone

03 December 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: the Billis house is really charming and the windows could open, the bathrooms are large and tastefully decorated, as is the rest of the building. I loved the sitting room where I am now accessing the internet for free on the hostel computer.

Disliked: the kitchen felt run down and the only place to sit was outside on some picnic tables in an area that wasn't pretty, looked and felt run down too. the entrance to the kitchen wasn't clearly marked and the actual hostel part seemed, again, run down and unappealing. as I walked from my room to the kitchen there was an unpleasant smell, maybe relating to the many cats, I wasn't sure.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The housekeeper was very helpful and welcoming

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is safe and decent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cameron Neubacher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable and there was a TV in the closet

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful, they left a key in the plant pot to let me in out of check-in time.free internet wi-fi, the house is a spacious historical building, many cats in the backyard. swimming pool. simple.

Disliked: nothing really bothered me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very charming old house with a pool bonus.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chik Chun Jeanne Cheung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2010 Chik Chun Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: The Inn itself is a building with some history. The interior is adorable, and I really like the Halloween decorations. Manager is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Kitchen is in the building next door, which is where the male dorm is located. Cutlery, pots and the like are not clean (some are filthy); but I guess it might be the problem of individual guests - the rest of the property (especially the Inn) is well maintained and very clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a room at the hostel and upon arrival, I was allowed to stay in the Inn since there were rooms available. How lovely indeed! The Inn was warm, quiet and inviting. There were 2 to a room and each room had a dorm refrigerator, little table and chairs, and antique furniture. Also, the staff made special accommodations upon my arrival so I could still get into the building during the mid-day when the office was closed.

Disliked: The landscape, grounds, and sidewalks around the property are unkempt and take away from the beauty and grandeur of this historic home. It also saddens me that someone isn't paying attention to the details of cleaning. I'm afraid someone needs to take a brush and scrub the floors versus swipe a mop as overtime everything just needs a good hard scrub. I would not dare walk barefoot outside or inside the property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarina Treybig

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 September 2010 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: The girls "dorm" is located in the attic of the beautiful mansion "Bullis House Inn" but I wouldn't know because I was moved to one of the private 3 bed bedrooms with only one other girl and it was BEAUTIFUL and would have cost me almost $200. Provided fresh linens and towel.First night is charged to your credit card when you book.No one else was there but us! Quiet, peaceful.By car, it's less than 5 minutes on the freeway to the city center.It was nicer than the $150 hotel room my friends paid for next to the riverwalk.No curfew, they give you a key to the front door.

Disliked: You really need a car or take the bus, too long and not very safe to walk around San Antonio too late at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quaint and the history and architecture of the building was quaint.

Disliked: It located in a poor area of the city and far from the downtown area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Historical building, interesting to live in.

Disliked: Suggest to work on cleanliness more. Need to improve the AC system.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old mansion--lovely.

Disliked: Walking through a horribly hot attic to reach my air-conditioned room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chien Hsien Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Chien Hsien would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very kind.

Disliked: Chien Hsien left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

david Pinela

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 August 2010 david would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a little older but its SO beautiful.we stayed in two rooms.. and make it was awesome. We also made many friends with the people that were staying there. i really loved it.

Disliked: I didnt have any dislikes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it s nice and old fashonable

Disliked: cant remember

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 August 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful home, hated to leave it. Easy to catch the bus into downtown area. Very quiet, very clean. One of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: Could have been a little more helpful with the bus instructions,such as had maps of bus routes to offer.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charm and character.Linen and towels provided.As a single female travelling I did not mind being put up in one of the dorm rooms available in the Bullis House Inn rather than the neighbouring Youth Hostel.

Disliked: The cats - though they were not allowed in either Bullis House Inn or the Youth Hostel, there were neverthesless alot of cats. The number of bathrooms is insufficient for the number of people that can be accommodated in the Bullis House Inn. Opening at 8am is alittle late - 7.30am would be more helpful.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010

Liked: Pretty lobby and front desk area

Disliked: Very, very hot rooms....Unsafe parking...desk clerks gave wrong directions on phone, said to park in an illegal lot....seemed unconcerned when my car was missing in AM (except for one helpful clerk who gave me a ride to tow lot) ..... clerks unable to answer any questions about area..acted annoyed at questions. Only hostel experience I have had like this

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010

Liked: The history behind the building.

Disliked: I would have turned in the door if I had not reserved in advance. The female rooms was better than the male dorms. The male dorms smelled, the bathroom looked awful. The girls were placed in the top of the house and from you were halfway in the stairs going up you would feel the heat attacking you, however the AC in the room worked. There was not possible to buy anything at the hostel, the service were crap, and the hostel were closed when I arrived even if I had reserved and the reservation demanded time of arrival. I would suggest for people traveling together to share room somewhere else. The hostel were almost empty so it should also be possible to check it out for one night and not reserve several days at once.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty hostel a fair way out of town, unhelpful staff