We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Antonio International Hostel

Hostel | 621 Pierce Ave, San Antonio, Texas, USA 78208

72.9% Overall Rating

141 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2013)

Malwina Bednarz thinks…

"I loved everything ! The hostel is like an old mansion. My room was beautiful. The whole house was decorated because it was Christams time and it looked amazing ! I would stay there longer if only I…"

Read all San Antonio International Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We require a first night deposit that includes hotel tax @ 16.75%. All dorm rates are subject to the city & state hotel tax. Our reception office hours are from 8AM to 12Noon and 4PM to 9.30 PM.Late night check ins are available with advance notice. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Add 16.75 % city and state hotel tax to all dorm and room rates. There's also a $10 cash refundable key deposit when checking in. There's also a $10 (cash) key deposit when checking in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Antonio?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Antonio

Bullis House Inn
25.70 USD

Guesthouse 86.8% 13 reviews
Super 8 Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Travelodge Alamo/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.3% 17 reviews
Days Inn Downtown/ Riverwalk
99.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn, Lackland
33.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

141 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Antonio International Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
57.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Location was not the easiest to get to or around downtown area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bob Roberts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Bob would recommend this property

Liked: Nice small hostel with lots of space, a TV lounge, kitchen, and coin-operated lockers. Enjoyed the large swimming pool. No breakfast, but free morning tea & coffee. They had free WiFi and a internet terminal with printer next door. Walking distance of several restaurants. The #20 bus a couple of walks away goes to downtown, but I preferred to walk to the several blocks to Broadway Ave. and walk along the San Antonio River or take one of the Broadway buses (more frequent & direct) to downtown, the Alamo, and Riverwalk.

Disliked: Office open only from 8am to 12noon and 4pm to 10pm, but I was told they can make arrangements for a late night check in with advance notice. We arrived about 6pm so it was not a problem for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Massive rooms - friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: basic but solid facilities which is all i wanted and very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: it is a little way from downtown but there is a bus stop not 5 mins away and does not cost much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

VAIBHAV CHAWLA

Alone

Business / conference

30 August 2011 VAIBHAV would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in one of the private rooms on the first floor of the main building. The room had all the facilities like refrigerator, A/C, night lamp etc. The room had large space. I enjoyed my sleep in the bed there. In addition, the manager was very cooperative. In short, the stay was economical as well as comfortable.

Disliked: Although I did not dislike anything, but the location of the hostel may not appeal everyone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was really nice!

Disliked: The neighborhood

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice building with nice stuff

Disliked: about 100F in the top floor - rooms have awesome air condition, though!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to convention center, extremely friendly staff, sufficient items available for breakfast for vegetarians, attractive weekly package, excellent ambiance, provision for microwave oven in rooms

Disliked: number of tables breakfast was insufficient during peak hours, receipt for stay cannot be provided in advance causing major inconvenience, room bathrooms cannot be locked from inside, room not cleaned on one of the days during our stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and good value for money.

Disliked: Location is ok, but not downtown

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: Own room.

Disliked: Way out of the way from city center and BED BUGS!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011

Liked: Location in a neighboorhood with a lot of abandonned houses, very sad. not the right location for a youthhostel

Disliked: the fact that you could possibly share 1 room with a person you don t know. I prefer real dormitories or 1 personal room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just outside downtown. It was easy to get to there from downtown by city bus. Very convenient as I could walk to the next door post office, a nearby bank, & several nearby restaurants. Try the historic Pig Stand a few blocks away on Broadway Ave. Great breakfasts! And Sam's Burger Joint was cool! There is also a neighborhood grocery just a few blocks away. I enjoyed the free morning coffee, WiFi & internet, and friendly helpful manager. They had coin-operated lockers to store things in. But best of all was the swimming pool, which was fantastic after a hot day in the city. Not a very busy hostel, but it made it a nice rest stop after so much traveling. I will be back!

Disliked: Small kitchen, but then there were not many guests using it. But the kitchen was fully equipped with pots & pans, dishes, and such. I did enjoy the picnic tables behind the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenny horsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 jenny would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in my own room it had air con and tv. The swimmign pool was amazing to go in after a long day in the sun. The owners were fantastic so very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was very quiet when i stayed there so couldn't meet anyone but its not the end of the world!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emma Härenstam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: the cats! also the pool, it's really nice. but the first thing noticed was the character of the house, it really gives u the feeling of being in an old house on the countryside somewhere. and ofcourse, it's prob the cheapest option in SA

Disliked: for a lonely traveler as me it was crazy lonely. Seemed empty even if ppl were living there. but if u're looking for a calm, nice hostel this is a good option. Also disliked the location, there are buses though.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Peter Elton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2011

Liked: The only thing i liked about this property was the large maps up on the interior of the building... probably the most helpful and enjoyable thing about the whole place.

Disliked: The following... 15 Stray cats (i counted) around the hostel, Fleas- i got them badly, A shower room which was rotting and poorly kept, The overall smell and cleanliness of the place- smelt damp and musky, The kitchen was rusty and in a poor condition, I got locked out of the hostel upon arrival as the hotel next door (where u book in) has v.limited hours when the reception is open, Pigions are all over the place...they create quite a bit of muck. The list goes on.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheapest place in San Antonio in a beautiful 100 year old mansion. Very basic hostel, but if you have your own wheels and are happy to be self sufficient it's a good place to explore San Antonio from. I did take the bus into town on friday night. ~$1 and ~20 mins into town and not v dodgy. Caught a taxi back for ~$13.

Disliked: it is a little far from the city but the bus is fine

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joel Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure and although far away from the main downtown area, the bus stops one block away that goes downtown and to the at & t center which was personally very convenient.

Disliked: Had quiet a musty smell about it and the pool wad always locked.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011

Liked: /

Disliked: run-down

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pierre Garcia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: far from downtown, dozen of cats around the building, no stores, restaurants, fastfoods, etc around; mattress are nasty, common area are dirty, I would never use the creepy kitchen ; almost no water comes out of the shower ; the bathroom is also dirty ; dead cockroach on the floor ; only 1 sheet to sleep ; expensive for an hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - cheap - friendly staff (checked out one day earlier with easy handled refunding) - historical building - pool

Disliked: - not always clean - 2.5 mi from downtown (45min walk), bus in walking distance (every 30 minutes)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JIE YE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 JIE would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house. But just the location is not very good. BTW, despite the location far from downtown, it is a surprise to visit the military base nearby which is really great!!!

Disliked: The location only

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Andrej Schergin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: by far the cheapest accomodation in San Antonio. it was nearly empty (1-2 other guests), no lines in the shower or the kitchen

Disliked: very long walk (nearly an hour) from downtown along deserted or noisy streets, fittings and furnishing very old, shabby, dirty, hot water was available only in the shower with the tub, not in the other shower or sinks.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 February 2011

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: The shower facilities were terrible, after raising it with the manager he just responded 'well it's an old tub'. That didn't account for the amount of dirt and the rotten wood around the bath. I only had one shower during my stay and felt dirtier after than I did before. The manager was not very helpful, whenever I asked a question about the local area etc. I found the answer to be very strained.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2011

Liked: The beds are pretty clean, neat nice towels. Easy to find if you have a car.

Disliked: Not very clean, seen some dead cockroaches, the roof leaks in the mens rest rooms. The rooms itself were freaking cold, the guy at the reception was okay but not exceptionally helpful or nice. Area is far away from the city (50 minute walk), there is a bus but it has a weird spiral-like route and therefore it still takes you more than 30 minutes into downtown. Also the area is quite depressing, when I got off the bus, the busdriver told me to be careful there. Consider taking a Motel in downtown for 40$.