We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Avenues Hostel

Hostel | 107 F Street, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA 84103

78.6% Overall Rating

77 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2013)

"Interesting experience! The hostel is basically a house with lots of the people actually staying there permanently. Not the best hostel to go to if you want to meet other travellers but fine if otherwise. Great…"

Read all Avenues Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that tax is payable on top of your balance upon check in. Please note that we do not check guests in dorm rooms after 10.30 PM.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salt Lake City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salt Lake City

AAE Salt Lake Howard J
23.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
AWA Hostel Royal Garden
15.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Camelot Inn & Hostel
16.53 USD

Hostel 81.6% 141 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

77 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Avenues Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and the place was well taken care of

Disliked: The showers were on the fritz, and were spraying in all different directions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived very late at night after two days' travel on the Greyhound, prepared for an early check-out (I had to do some genealogical research at the nearby Mormons' Family History Research Library).The people couldn't have been friendlier or more hospitable and I was provided with a nice, clean room all to myself with very nice share bathroom. I appreciated the staff's empathy - my luggage was even carried upstairs for me - as I was clearly ready to keel over with tiredness.Next morning, I enjoyed a nice chat with one of the hostel's residents as I digested my free breakfast.I was sorry that I had to leave after such a brief stay - the place feels so homely and comfortable. Should I ever need to return to Salt Lake City to carry out further research, I will definitely return to this lovely hostel. It's only a ten-minute walk to the research library from here and there's a free tram near the library to take you to Intermodal Hub (where the Amtrack and Greyhound stations are located).

Disliked: I can't think of anything negative to say about Avenues Hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was cosy and I met some really nice people to hangout with.

Disliked: I have given some low ratings on some things not because its not a nice place but think the people that were there ruined my stay. We had to older ladies staying in our room and they complained to us about everything even spraying body spray we were moaned at for having the TV on and I was even given a comment because I was getting up at 7am to get a bus. One off the staff members moaned we were to noisey to even though nobody else heard us. We had to turn the TV at 11pm you have to pay for blankets even though it is winter and we had a couple of homeless people staying. However the hostel is in a great location easy to get downtown and there is a great supermarket near by. Mark and Rodney are great alot more chilled than the rest of the staff. I was lucky to met some other travellers there if it wasn't for them not sure I would of enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julia pawlik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 julia would recommend this property

Liked: I have been travelling for over a month and this is the first hostel ive stayed in that actually felt like a home away from home.the staff were so friendly and the place was such a pleasant place to stay.

Disliked: julia left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Noisy room, also at night and early in the morning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guo Sheng

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2010 Guo would recommend this property

Liked: staff here are very friendly and nice.

Disliked: can't think of one

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pedro Pina

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2010 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Good!

Disliked: Nops

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gillian mcrobbie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2010 gillian would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, great location, very clean, super friendly staff! 2 kitchens and tv rooms, free breakfast! what else could you want....we even got a free lift to the Trax station! definately recommended!

Disliked: gillian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Close to downtown.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. It was of a nice size and we were able to sleep in single beds, not bunk beds which is always nice. The water for the showers were also hot, which was pleasant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SARIKA SARIKA

13 June 2010 SARIKA would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean place in a nice homely location...Staff is very friendly and always ready to help you in all the possible ways.I will recommend everyone to stay at avenues, it being the best and safest place to stay.

Disliked: SARIKA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl Wood

13 June 2010 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly and always keen to offer advice for travellers. The hostel is well located within walking distance to the Downtown area, and with good access to buses and shops. I really enjoyed my stay and am already considering returning in a few weeks! Many thanks!

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Hall

08 June 2010 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in leafy suburb, near shop and walking distance to temple, capitol etc. Extremely clean, and friendly staff. Would recommend.

Disliked: Zoe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are staying in Salt Lake City and looking for a home away from your home, you must stay here! Here I stayed for about a month and met very interesting people right from students to professionals!San is especially a nice, cheerful, helping and friendly person and you can count on him for almost everything!Overall a great experience!Ravi Gupta MD, PhD

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked stuff, cleanliness and location at Avenues Hostel, and I would definetly recommend it to my friends and other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIN JIA HUEI

26 February 2010 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: It made me feel like as at home!

Disliked: LIN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lin

23 February 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a nice surburban locale just outside the city area. One of the best American hostels I have visited. Staff here are particularly friendly and helpful. They even got me a bike when I needed it. There's a good size kitchen and a supermarket is a short walk away.There's even cable TV in the rooms, now that's impressive.Highly recommended.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Avenues Hostel is a great place for a warm welcome, clean accommodations, and a respectful atmosphere. The owner is very helpful and even cooks breakfast in the morning (on occasion). For the price you can't beat it. It is a hostel so don't expect fancy soaps and towels but you can expect a nice clean room to sleep in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Upton

04 February 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It is hard not to fall in love with this hostel and the people that work there. The staff (especially the owner, San) were gracious hosts that genuinely took an interest in my Salt Lake experience. Whether it was prioritizing which sights to see, describing the unique road system here or suggesting resources for part-time work, they always jumped at the opportunity to help me out. The owner has lived here for 20+ years, so there's not much he doesn't know about the area. There were also unexpected surprises in the hostel, such as occasional fried rice lunches for everyone and a thoughtful gift to me and my girlfriend. I've stayed at hostels all over the world, and I can say with confidence that San and the other staff members truly make this place standout.Other than the staff (which feel more like friends now), the hostel itself is in a great location to see SLC. It's located right next to downtown, all the touristy stuff, the LDS temples, tons of restaurants and cafes, the Capital Building--just about everything you would ever want to see here. I was in the process of moving to Salt Lake, and I ended up concentrating my search efforts in the same neighborhood. As of this morning, I live 3 blocks away.I highly recommend this The Avenues Hostel to anyone visiting Salt Lake City.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Pasterchick

01 February 2010 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The Avenues Hostel was great! The staff were all friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and the location was awesome. I'll definitely stay there again!

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tal zomer

30 January 2010 tal would recommend this property

Liked: great staffchill atmosphire

Disliked: tal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Kaci

19 January 2010 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super nice and friendly and always willing to help you with any problems you have. They give you a lot of information what to do etc.Its was a really nice stay at the avenues!

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Humphrey

19 January 2010 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great place to stay- clean, comfortable and fun. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark hawley

18 January 2010 mark would recommend this property

Liked: This is my second stay at the Avenues Hostel, I like the Freindly atmosphere. it's like staying with family. The rooms are clean and the price is great. It's Downtown,so it's easy to get around to different venues.The staff is very helpful with getting you the info you need on whatever your interests are in Salt Lake City and the surroundind area. I will definitly stay here again when in the area.

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.