HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Avenues Hostel Salt Lake City

Hostel

107 F Street,, Salt Lake City, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 73%

Location 81%

Safety 80%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note that tax is payable on top of your balance upon check in. Please note that we do not check guests in dorm rooms after 10.30 PM.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salt Lake City?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 77%

Facilities 73%

Location 81%

Safety 80%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 21-11 of 11 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Feels like staying at your grandparents place, beautiful neighbourhood and two big kitchen areas with a lot of utilities to cook your own food, the shopping market 4 blocks away offers everything you can get on the world. Perfect to plan your trip to Yellowstone Nationalpark and chill out!

Disliked: Altough its a beautiful place, the rest and bathrooms are really poor and old, but this is acceptable for that price!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff there was really friendly and helpful. The hostel is located in a quiet neighbourhood and is within walking distance to the downtown area.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: You get what you pay for, which is not necessarily good or bad

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Frienliness. Computer access. comfortable living room and big TVfor watching Olympics!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap price

Disliked: No ACNo Secure LockersThere were no paper towles in the restrooms - so barely someone will wash his handsNot enough restrooms and shower facilities, everything was old stuffThey charge you for everything: If you want tovpay by credit card or traveller's cheque you'll be charged 3% !!!No towels and no AC although described on their websiteCheck out only with receipt at 10:00 instead of 11:00 like everywhere elseNot that friendly stuff like everywhere else


The property's response is

Thank you for staying with us. We try our best to accommodate our guests. We have five people working here to help our guests and give them all the information about the city and where to go. When things got busy, we might have made certain guests feel neglected. For that, we apologize.

We do have AC in all the rooms. One side of the building has central air and the other side has window units. We have eight bathrooms for public use. Just ask us where they are since some may not be obvious.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: stunning service, nice guys

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: satellite tv in room

Disliked: No mention on the page or e-mail from the hostel that the reception isn't staffed between 10:30pm and 7am and you have to ring a number to get someone to check you in. Really convenient for people travelling without a phone. No mention of the ridiculously exorbitant and strangely applied ($1/night) credit card service charge. Staff are useless and outright rude at times to guests.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do our best helping our guests. We treat our guests as our friends--help them and give all the information about the city and where they need to go and see. We are sorry to hear that the guests felt that our service was inadequate.

We do check people anytime of the night except in the dorm rooms. We are sorry that it had caused the inconvenience. You do not need a phone to call somebody up though. Just let us know that you are going to be late. We'll make the arrangement for you.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: helpful staff.

Disliked: There are too few bathrooms for the residents of a building.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for choosing the Avenues. We have eight bathrooms around the facility. One of the bathrooms has three stalls. There are plenty. However, they are located around the building and some may not be so obvious. Just ask us in the office. We will for sure find one for you. We have another five inside the rooms.

We need to do better to let our guests know about our facility better.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very Helpful and polite staff. Awesome location and very clean and tidy! Big TV didn't hurt either!

Disliked: No group activities or gatherings to help meet other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: The Avenues Hostel is located in the Avenues (Fst x 2nd), a quiet residential area with vintage houses, well-tended lawns and lots of trees. The outside of the building looks a bit disappointing compared to the nice houses of the neighborhood, but on the inside it is a cozy collection of communal and private rooms. Breakfast is complementary (coffee, toast, jam, eggs) and can be enjoyed in the well-equipped kitchen. Five workstations are available to surf the net 24/24 and there is free wifi. There is a huge TV but the guest respect silence hours very well between approx. 11 PM and 7 AM. Showers and toilets are always very clean. The staff is very friendly and resourceful and they have plenty of good advice. You can basically walk from the Avenues to anywhere in town (downtown 20' or University campus 20') but you can also easily jump a bus on S Temple or around the block on 3d av. A very well-stocked supermarket is only four avenue blocks away (5' on foot), where you can stock up on breakfast extras for the morning or dinner stuff and beers for the evening (beer is not allowed in the communal fridge). The place is relax, totally safe and I can absolutely recommend it. The crowd can be variable, but I met many friendly and interesting people during my stay.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability