HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Avenues Hostel Salt Lake City Hostel

107 F Street,, Salt Lake City, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 80%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Please note that tax is payable on top of your balance upon check in. Please note that we do not check guests in dorm rooms after 10.30 PM.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salt Lake City?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 73%

Location 82%

Safety 80%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 11-6 of 6 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good staff. Great kitchen but not open 24/7.

Disliked: If you are takinga shower upstairs in the men's area, when someone flushes a toilet, your shower water turns very cold for about a minute.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was very dirty and run down place. Full of weird people who seem to live there. Don't stay here that's my honest advice from a person who has traveled through a lot of countries.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: situation and price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: it's a nice place for stay, the attention and friendly is good I have all the services I enjoy it. thanks for you attention.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The avenues hostel is in a great location, 10 minutes walk from Temple Square. They offer a great $7 shuttle service from the greyhound station. The rooms are spacious and good value for money. There are plenty of computers to use, good wifi and good free breakfast.

Disliked: Not a massive fan of the bathroom. It is the same room for the toilets and showers, opposite each other and the 'doors' are curtains. Not ideal but can't complain for the price.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good price.

Disliked: It was nothing special.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location - a few blocks from the CBD but located in such a nice suburban area. Beautiful houses all around it, it was so nice to stay in an area like that. Hostel was generally clean and staff were mostly helpful and friendly.

Disliked: My main problem was the $10 charge to leave my bags there for the day that I checked out. I'd checked out at 10 and was coming back at 5. I haven't seen any other hostel charge that much and it wasn't even like my bag was going into a secure storage area, it was just left at the front of the reception desk where anyone could take it if they wanted. I would have given the Avenues an almost perfect review if it wasn't for that. When you're traveling for a while something like that $10 makes the difference between if you have lunch or not that day! Aside from that, lockers in the room would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice & friendly reception, facilities (like cheap laundry), breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Better than the Radisson downtown! I’ve stayed at about 50 hostels in the US and abroad and this was one of the best. My friend and I stayed two nights in a private room, a roomy tall ceiled room with big old comfy iron bed windows overlooking a quiet street lined with huge trees. Free parking is available. This area remands me of a pleasant neighborhood in San Francisco, and Avenue Hostel has got to be one of the best values in Salt Lake City. It is in an old historic neighborhood about a dozen long blocks down from Temple Square. The neighborhood feels very safe and as we walked around we passed children playing on the sidewalk and grown-ups enjoying the evening in their small front yards. There is excellent bus service (and, closer in, rapid transit) and Rodney at the main desk was very helpful and accurate about that. Also there is a great grocery several blocks up the street - the grade is a little steep going up, but the good news is that coming back carrying your groceries you are coming downhill – just watch for the trip-able upheaves in the old sidewalk. Tip: buses and rapid transit are free in the downtown/Temple area, so you just need minimal bus fare or walking time to get to the free zone. The hostel has a full selection of bus route timetables.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability