We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Camelot Inn & Hostel

Hostel | 165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA 84101

81.6% Overall Rating

109 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

Nicholas Mansson thinks…

"The location is good and they have quite a few services on offer that you can use (wifi, phone, computers, kitchen)"

Read all Camelot Inn & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Important information: The 90% left of your payment will be charged by the hostel 3 days before arrival. " *CARDS NOT ACCEPTED: Laser & JCB; if you book with this type of card, then please contact us with a different one; we charge an extra $5 change fee. Please note, if cancelled or modified, a fixed amount of USD 5.80 will be charged. If cancelled up to 2 days before date of arrival, 100 percent of the first night will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salt Lake City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salt Lake City

AWA Hostel Royal Garden
15.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 13 reviews
AAE Salt Lake Howard J
23.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Avenues Hostel
19.25 USD

Hostel 78.6% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

109 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Camelot Inn & Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 100 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and not many people in the hostel

Disliked: the owner didnt put my information in the system , and there was nobody who can explain about it, Totally mess

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2014

Liked: It had free wifi

Disliked: I am still being charged by this hostel for no apparent reason and I can't get hold of the staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YI-FANG WU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 YI-FANG would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, good location. Self-chek in, self-cheek out are convenient.

Disliked: The smell inside the room was not good.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicholas Mansson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014

Liked: The location is good and they have quite a few services on offer that you can use (wifi, phone, computers, kitchen)

Disliked: There is no staff present on the premises, they have a lot of rules that are written everywhere in a disorganized manner and you can't ask anyone to clarify because there's no one there. You can't store luggage for free either which I think should be pretty basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell von Gemmingen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple on every level! I would stay here again and will recommend this hostel to anyone going to visit Salt Lake City.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Pinney

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: the self-check in and out is weird but the property runs really smoothly and quietly. location is terrific and security is tight.

Disliked: wifi wasn't very strong

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014

Liked: East location near trax for downtown

Disliked: Lack of comfortable communal space- a larger space might encourage people out of their rooms to chat and create more of an atmosphere. The self- check in works but it's in personable- could arrange social activities such as city tours

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Proverbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and good value.

Disliked: The self service approach was very confusing for many and impersonal. Not sure modern technology here is the answer. The room window was bust - we were on the ground floor so felt unsafe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the light rail.

Disliked: No lockers

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014

Liked: Wireless lan, train station right there

Disliked: No staff, selfservice, bad neighbourhood, cold water in showers,...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014

Liked: Location if you are taking trains or buses to the montains.

Disliked: You can hardly see staff there and sometimes you need them, but "big brother" is always watching thrugh cameras (disturbing). Also I self chek out and stay at the lounge to kill some time and at 10:05, when I finally saw staff, was gently asked to leave the building.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vedran Anelic

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2014 Vedran would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location; nice, clean and warm room; free parking; excellent value for money. Definitely coming back.

Disliked: Everything was ok

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: shower

Disliked: i dont can pay cash, or debit card...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Chronopoulou

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 September 2013

Liked: located within walking distance from the city center

Disliked: the fact that no staff was present in the hostel, it made it very impersonal and did not feel very safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michela Dimond

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Michela would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs it is incredibly friendly and helpful. We had our own private room, were able to shower and do laundry, and there was a full kitchen with pots, pans, plates, and utensils for use. We had just come from a week camping in the desert, so the clean, friendly, and small-scale nature of Camelot Inn was exactly what the doctor ordered.

Disliked: Nothing really comes to mind. We had a little trouble figuring out the check-in procedure, but we were guided through the process as soon as we showed a second's confusion. From first impression, just looking at the outside and the neighborhood we were a little worried, but we needn't have been at all. An amazing place and actually fairly convenient to downtown Salt Lake (near major roads and right next to a light rail station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Kreidi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 June 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathrooms and nice showers

Disliked: I was in a bunk bed that was extremely squeaky, we woke each other up a couple of times, but nothing serious.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren McBurnie

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 May 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really convenient, right off the freeway and within very close distance of a lot of restaurants and places to check out.

Disliked: Nothing much, you get what you pay for, it's awesome if you're laid back and are just looking for a cool hostel to stay at.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and use good facilities, secure

Disliked: No staff at property and people up all night in kitchen area,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Kelly

Alone

City break

27 February 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a real home away from home I really enjoyed the clean queit,friendly atmosphere the they offer at there hostel inn

Disliked: I enjoyed this hostel inn I have no vomplaints or bad things to say

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very detail in their cleaning techinque .

Disliked: The fromt of the walk way was very slippery when it became wet.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy self check-in system, great private room with bunk beds for the two of us, clean bathrooms and showers, and even a massage chair!

Disliked: It's small and the rooms are close to the main kitchen, so it was a bit loud when people were in there talking or on their phones after 10pm. Also the hostel's phone/answering machine is there in the kitchen and rang after 11pm - never saw any staff, so don't know why the phone is there.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Whiteley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to a Trax station, has cheap private rooms and the self check in works well, especially when you arrive at 3:30am like I did. It has a communal kitchen.

Disliked: The sheets smelt a bit funny and the room is a bit small.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Meagan Toiaivao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: The nearest tram stop is less than a block away with access to all three tram lines (Red, Green, and Blue), so you can get to any of the major tourist attractions downtown in minutes. The building has its own door code so only guests can come in, and each room has a deadbolt and a key for each guest. You check yourself in on the computers in the hall, and when you check out, all you have to do is straighten your room, leave the key in its safe, and get out before 10 AM. Easy.

Disliked: The shower head was too low for me, and the beds, being normal length, were slightly too short (I'm 6' tall). There are no lockers where you can stash your things, so unless you book a private room, you're relying on the trustworthiness of your fellow guests. (To be fair, they seemed friendly.) The common areas seemed kind of small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert meslar

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2012 robert would recommend this property

Liked: pleasant staff,interesting guests

Disliked: a little tooinvolved checking in process

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012

Liked: Value for money its good as far as not coming early, not having lots of stuff and not asking for anything, everything you ask is chargeable and there is no hospitality manner at all. But I should say, if you do not have anywhere to stay in the night here is good.

Disliked: Charging for arriving to building earlier than 3pm. Charging for having guest. Charging full nightly rate for being in the building after 10am of check out day. management's manner.