HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Portland, Northwest

Hostel | 425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, Oregon, USA 97209

85.4% Overall Rating

122 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

"The facility was easy to find and well connected to other venues in the city. There was a lot of literature about good places to visit and where to eat. Excellent for people who don't have every moment planned out!"

Read all HI - Portland, Northwest reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Portland

AAE Portland Downtowner
29.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.8% 55 reviews
Travelers House
41.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 81.9% 117 reviews
AAE Portland Banfield
25.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 11 reviews
Howard Johnson PDX
81.40 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

122 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Portland, Northwest'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice of them to loan out locks for the lockers.

Disliked: Beds didn't seem very clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & info on things to do

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facility was easy to find and well connected to other venues in the city. There was a lot of literature about good places to visit and where to eat. Excellent for people who don't have every moment planned out!

Disliked: It was a bit boring for a hostel -- everyone in bed by 10/11, few people willing to talk in the common room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were cute and comfy. The bathrooms were large and clean. The hostel was within walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Parking was a tough obstacle. Wish there were more than four spots of free parking available for all of the hotsel guests...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and it didn't take long to walk into town. For $20/night this place is a great place to stay! My only advice: bring your own pillow. The one they give you is very flat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staffs

Disliked: bathroom water temperature hard to control

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerrie Goodwin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Kerrie would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were amazing and friendly. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the sustainable aspect of the hostel. The rooms were so clean and tidy. I dont think I ever saw the staff not working. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: This isnt a dislike for me but if you are looking for a party atmosphere hostel then this isnt for you as its more laid back and relaxed...well that's the vibe I got from our stay anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i flet very self after avery bad one at Sun City in Las Vegas where i had my suit case stolen from my locked room so Hi Portland put my faith back in hostels again for me i am 64 years old and have traveled the world so iaa good hostel when i see 1and this is one thanks to the staff once again i can recommend this one no faults at all very good location to

Disliked: if any it would be the breakfast sorry no where is 100%

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free breakfast and coffee, good sized clean rooms and very safe and secure. Excellent value!

Disliked: Loved everything about my experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building and character

Disliked: A little far from the centre and public transport

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Beds were not very comfortable

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jacinta Garry

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013

Liked: Very clean and safe. Good walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars. Hostel seemed to offer tours and activities on most days.

Disliked: VERY anti-social. No drinking (except in the courtyard, which closes early) and no noise after 10pm. Maybe we just went on an off-week but everyone staying there was more interested in their tablets/phone than actually interacting and talking to other guests. Very odd feel to this place. They also slapped us with extra tax. Every other hostel we booked with hostelbookers, specified there would be tax payable on arrival but not this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel in a good location close to everything we wanted to see. The kitchen was fully equipped and really good. The breakfast was really simple – just bread and jam, but as there was a kitchen we made our own food as well so it didn’t matter. The bunk bed dorms were fine and had lockers in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas de Jager

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Large, clean rooms with friendly staff.

Disliked: A little bit away from downtown but not the worst.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: They make you pay extra for basic essentials like towels and parking, which, for the price, I could've just gone to a little motel. The hostel is expensive considering it offers less than a cheap motel where my friends and I could've slept in our own room. The point of hosteling is to make it cheaper to travel, and HI-NW PORTLAND doesn't if you're more than one person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shawn Valuch

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Tons of information on food, entertainment, and points of interest. Lots of interesting travelers. Only way to travel!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksandar Mihaylov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the friendliness of the staff, and not only.

Disliked: It was just fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

isabelle de leeneer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: close to downtown, kitchen very handy, well heated, friendly staff.

Disliked: I stayed in a basement dorm, looks a little old, but is really ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffree Ensing

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Jeffree would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful main building, helpful staff, comfortable space.

Disliked: The only thing really was the funky smell permiating the dorm building. Be nice to use some aromatherapy to mitigate the problem. Also the messiness of other guests but thats not the fault of staff.....its a personal thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filipa Ponte

Alone

Business / conference
City break

05 November 2012 Filipa would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything! The people is very friendly, it easy to do friends, everyone cares about you...amazing!

Disliked: Filipa left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A range of suggestions to make the most out of your time.

Disliked: Depending on the number of guests in the dorm the room can either be cold or hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Jorgenson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: location is pearl district is very convienant, and price was good.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their location was walkable to all sites, and kept very clean.

Disliked: They charge a few dollars if you are not member of YH .