HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Portland - Northwest Portland Hostel

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 87%

Location 86%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 85%

Showing 11-20 of 20 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were cute and comfy. The bathrooms were large and clean. The hostel was within walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Parking was a tough obstacle. Wish there were more than four spots of free parking available for all of the hotsel guests...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facility was easy to find and well connected to other venues in the city. There was a lot of literature about good places to visit and where to eat. Excellent for people who don't have every moment planned out!

Disliked: It was a bit boring for a hostel -- everyone in bed by 10/11, few people willing to talk in the common room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super friendly and it didn't take long to walk into town. For $20/night this place is a great place to stay! My only advice: bring your own pillow. The one they give you is very flat.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staffs

Disliked: bathroom water temperature hard to control

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owners were amazing and friendly. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the sustainable aspect of the hostel. The rooms were so clean and tidy. I dont think I ever saw the staff not working. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: This isnt a dislike for me but if you are looking for a party atmosphere hostel then this isnt for you as its more laid back and relaxed...well that's the vibe I got from our stay anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i flet very self after avery bad one at Sun City in Las Vegas where i had my suit case stolen from my locked room so Hi Portland put my faith back in hostels again for me i am 64 years old and have traveled the world so iaa good hostel when i see 1and this is one thanks to the staff once again i can recommend this one no faults at all very good location to

Disliked: if any it would be the breakfast sorry no where is 100%

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the free breakfast and coffee, good sized clean rooms and very safe and secure. Excellent value!

Disliked: Loved everything about my experience.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Building and character

Disliked: A little far from the centre and public transport

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Beds were not very comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and safe. Good walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars. Hostel seemed to offer tours and activities on most days.

Disliked: VERY anti-social. No drinking (except in the courtyard, which closes early) and no noise after 10pm. Maybe we just went on an off-week but everyone staying there was more interested in their tablets/phone than actually interacting and talking to other guests. Very odd feel to this place. They also slapped us with extra tax. Every other hostel we booked with hostelbookers, specified there would be tax payable on arrival but not this place.

Check Availability