We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Portland, Northwest

Hostel | 425 NW 18th Avenue, Portland, Oregon, USA 97209

85.5% Overall Rating

127 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2015)

"Staff was great, location fantastic, super clean, plenty of bathrooms - never had to wait. Aaaaand the best bread for breakfast one can find on this side of the Atlantic (I am an uber bread snob - few breads in North…"

Read all HI - Portland, Northwest reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Portland

AAE Portland Downtowner
29.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.5% 61 reviews
Travelers House
40.70 USD

Hostel 98.1% 3 reviews
HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel
31.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 119 reviews
AAE Portland Banfield
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.7% 13 reviews
Howard Johnson PDX
99.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

127 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Portland, Northwest'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 114 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffree Ensing

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Jeffree would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful main building, helpful staff, comfortable space.

Disliked: The only thing really was the funky smell permiating the dorm building. Be nice to use some aromatherapy to mitigate the problem. Also the messiness of other guests but thats not the fault of staff.....its a personal thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filipa Ponte

Alone

Business / conference
City break

05 November 2012 Filipa would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything! The people is very friendly, it easy to do friends, everyone cares about you...amazing!

Disliked: Filipa left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A range of suggestions to make the most out of your time.

Disliked: Depending on the number of guests in the dorm the room can either be cold or hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Jorgenson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: location is pearl district is very convienant, and price was good.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their location was walkable to all sites, and kept very clean.

Disliked: They charge a few dollars if you are not member of YH .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Sarah Bajon Rodriguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very spacy!

Disliked: Not many trip offers or other hostel activities, not a youth-friendly atmosphere, young families and elder single men, no free dinners at other hostels do, stiff atmosphere :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, showers were always hot and generally good bathrooms.

Disliked: No outlets near all the beds, even bottom bunks. Not an excellent nightlife/ night atmosphere during winter.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty spacious, the staff were helpful, in a good location, everything is walkable from it.

Disliked: I like burritos

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent.

Disliked: Wireless internet didn't work throughout property. There were only four or five parking spots

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

leah goddard

Alone

City break

10 September 2011 leah would recommend this property

Liked: The porch area was fantastic

Disliked: the really long private meetings in the kitchen, no way of knowing when these meeting were to end so I could make my food

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Montfort

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great character hostel in awesome location. property has loads of rooms/beds but doesn't feel really busy eg. always a shower free etc.

Disliked: Would have liked for there to be group activities daily as there was nothing on several of the days I was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very spacious

Disliked: just the 12% property lodging tax

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bonnie Peters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. They have a phone for free use! I could get my boyfriend to call me on the number. Really great. Drinks and snacks and things for sale at the hostel.

Disliked: No powerpoint (outlet) anywhere near my bunk so I couldn't charge my things unless it was across the room, which I don't like for safety reasons. The shower was a bit broken, the water would only come half out of the shower head and remain coming out of the bath tap.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very nice garden and overall atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harriet Cash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of space in the rooms and it's a nice old building

Disliked: Some of the bathrooms could use a bit of updating

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect.

Disliked: But there is only a couple of things that I was not satisfied, the blankets were dirty pretty much and shower machine didn't work well..So I gave up taking a shower actually..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

James Goulden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean, lovely building, big bathrooms, big lockers, very secure, friendly helpful staff

Disliked: beds are really squeaky, no power sockets in rooms beside the beds. Wifi isn't great, i ended up using the wifi from the local coffee shop which was more reliable. noisy rooms as they say they are 6 bed rooms but many rooms all link together separated by only curtains. they overcharged me compared to what hostelbookers said they'd charge me and i had to explain that I'd paid a deposit on here that they had no record of. It's also a typical American hostel, in which there are lots of groups who aren't all that friendly to solo travelers and everyone else seems to spend their time sitting alone with their laptops and not talking to others, but that's a criticism of all American hostels I've stayed in. they don't seem to organise lots of events in the evenings but maybe that was just the time when I was there?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool historic building, nice and clean, great staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Radulovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely friendly, they gave me some hints about how to get to places and recommended things to do. Great place to meet people

Disliked: A little bit far from downtown but very close to greyhound station and area had a nice character, so basically there was nothing I disliked

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard commissione

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2011 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy Hostel, the beds are comfortable and it is quiet. The place is generally very clean.

Disliked: Some bad room-mates but hey you cant blame the hostel for that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked - Helpful staff, clean, good bathrooms and kitchen. Also really liked the suggestions of places to go that were posted on the walls

Disliked: Disliked - Only real problem was the washer / dryer, takes forever and our clothes weren't even properly dry. Would recommend just going to the laundromat which is just down the road Otherwise, this is a really well organised and maintained hostel, would stay again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free bread and pizza. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff and several nice activities where you can meet people. Huge and a lot of lockers.

Disliked: Beds make a lot of noise. Portland in general is not a big tourist city, therefore makes it more difficult to meet people of same age.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Larry Frascella

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: lots of room not cramped, outside locked patio

Disliked: rooms were a little cold

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was great and always clean.

Disliked: Men's dorm on the lower floor smelled big time. Windows were never opened (and when opened by myself, closed soon by someone else or staff). Toilet also stank. Also, I have stayed in 80+ accomodations in the last months, and nowhere was the dorm/bathroom that smelly. Including really dodgy places in india.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Tuckermann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen and some free food. with the carpets you feel like home

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.