HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Portland - Northwest Portland Hostel

479 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 11-20 of 45 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice of them to loan out locks for the lockers.

Disliked: Beds didn't seem very clean

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location & info on things to do

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms were cute and comfy. The bathrooms were large and clean. The hostel was within walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Parking was a tough obstacle. Wish there were more than four spots of free parking available for all of the hotsel guests...

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The facility was easy to find and well connected to other venues in the city. There was a lot of literature about good places to visit and where to eat. Excellent for people who don't have every moment planned out!

Disliked: It was a bit boring for a hostel -- everyone in bed by 10/11, few people willing to talk in the common room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was super friendly and it didn't take long to walk into town. For $20/night this place is a great place to stay! My only advice: bring your own pillow. The one they give you is very flat.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: helpful staffs

Disliked: bathroom water temperature hard to control

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owners were amazing and friendly. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the sustainable aspect of the hostel. The rooms were so clean and tidy. I dont think I ever saw the staff not working. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: This isnt a dislike for me but if you are looking for a party atmosphere hostel then this isnt for you as its more laid back and relaxed...well that's the vibe I got from our stay anyway.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i flet very self after avery bad one at Sun City in Las Vegas where i had my suit case stolen from my locked room so Hi Portland put my faith back in hostels again for me i am 64 years old and have traveled the world so iaa good hostel when i see 1and this is one thanks to the staff once again i can recommend this one no faults at all very good location to

Disliked: if any it would be the breakfast sorry no where is 100%

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the free breakfast and coffee, good sized clean rooms and very safe and secure. Excellent value!

Disliked: Loved everything about my experience.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability