HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phoenix hostels

Reviews of Hosteling International Phoenix

Hostel | 1026 North 9th Street, Phoenix, Arizona, USA 85006

94.1% Overall Rating

17 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Xi Huang thinks…

"The garden of this hostel is fantastic. Environment-friendly. In the evening, in the garden surrounded by trees, listening to the hand drum and guitar play by other solo travellers. The experience is…"

Read all Hosteling International Phoenix reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phoenix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phoenix

CamelBackpackers Hostel
26.00 USD

Hostel 96.7% 34 reviews
Howard Johnson Airport
75.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 53.6% 4 reviews
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport
30.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Phoenix Practical Room Rentals
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Travelodge Phoenix North
11.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Phoenix Affordable Room Rentals
27.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Super 8 Motel Bell Rd
11.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hosteling International Phoenix'

Atmosphere
96.5%
Location
90.6%
Facilities
91.8%
Cleanliness
94.1%
Staff
98.8%
Value
92.9%
Safety
94.1%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Xi Huang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Xi would recommend this property

Liked: The garden of this hostel is fantastic. Environment-friendly. In the evening, in the garden surrounded by trees, listening to the hand drum and guitar play by other solo travellers. The experience is amazing. It is 5 minutes drive from the rental car center. And 10 minutes drive from the Desert Botanical Garden. Very good

Disliked: Xi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiana Stefanova

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 January 2014 Tiana would recommend this property

Liked: This is the friendliest and most fun and interesting hostel I've ever stayed at. The amazing events organized for guests every day (dinner, bar and game nights) the super nice, upbeat and fun energy and atmosphere at the hostel, the cleanliness and beauty of the house and the property made me to never wanna leave this place. I'll return for sure.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bek Summons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Bek would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are simply the most friendly, supporting and down to earth people. They will do anything to make your stay better. Nothing is to much of an ask and there all extremely humourise :) I loved my stay at this hostel. It was an amazing experience I will never forget. P.S I would have selected EXCELENT for all the above questions had there been an option! This hostel is the BEST I've been to in America so far on my travels :D

Disliked: Nothing everything was PERFECT!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitriy Sobenevskiy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Dmitriy would recommend this property

Liked: This is how the hostel should be. Friendly stuff, cosy atmosphere, tasty breakfast, good location in a quiet neighborhood. Enjoyed staying there very much!

Disliked: Dmitriy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Topiltzin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: I loooove this hostel! Is an amazing place full of good energy and friendly people. Every time I will go to Phoenix I will come back to the Youth Hostel, is the best one in downtown, close to all the art and cultural spaces, near to the sport stadiums and the bars and nightlife that Phoenix has. The owners and staff are super friendly and caring for the guest.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike in here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Meegan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel. One of the best. Staff were really friendly, helpful and always engaging with guests as friends not 'clients'. Lots of activities available. Facilities were great. Very clean. Lots of shower rooms/bathrooms. Close to Phoenix and transport. Highly, 100%, recommend this hostel to anyone. Phoenix also is great with loads to do, just remember to drink lots of water...

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly everything! The place is full of art, with a reading room, and in the common room there is various drums, a guitar, and a piano. The staff was very involved with all the hostelers, engaging in conversations, help with ideas for the day and directions to everywhere in the city! This is a one of a kind hostel that I feel is a Phoenix destination all by itself. I will definantly be back here on my next trip!

Disliked: I have nothing here to dissagree with.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People were so friendly, helped me a lot. There was a great show one night, outside, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: A storage space/room with locker would be essential.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: very quiet, no customers so non of the activities materialised

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HI Phoenix is amazing! The building as true character, the common areas are super inviting - both indoors and outdoors, and hey did I mention they have a terrace where you can watch the sunset over the rooftops if you want? Breakfast is included and it's not the good ol' pancake-mix you usually get (nothing against that though) it's full on with pastries, toasts, eggs etc. The staff is really helpful and friendly, you feel at home immediately. During my stay there was not that many other guests, so it was real quiet during the day and evening, but there's a ping-pong table so material for hangouts are definitely available!

Disliked: Sincerely, do not have anything bad to comment. Might be a little bit far off, but there's buses running just a half block away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl Boerger

Alone

Business / conference

01 April 2013 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: I would rate this Hostel way beyond good. It was FABULOUS! best ever. Friendliest ever.. My second night there they had an open mike poetry and music. It was truely an amazing culteral experiece, and really brought everyone that was lucky enough to be there together in a vary special way.

Disliked: No matter how hard I try I can not think of any dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne Bates

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a quiet neighborhood, safely tucked away from the hustle-bustle of Phoenix's cityscape, this clean well-run hostel manages to combine friendliness, serenity and creativity. It has a nice atmosphere and the building has a 70's-80's charm, complete with guitar-guy in the common area and creaky-wood floor. Rooms all have a dedicated fridge, something I was unaware of upon arrival, but a nice bonus. My extremely late night check-in was handles with the utmost professionalism and care, and egg-fruit-pastry breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: Jeanne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lynda McIntaggart

Alone

Business / conference

21 January 2013 Lynda would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quaint, quite, and cozy.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johanna Koivunen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homely.

Disliked: I wish there had been a lamp by the bed and maybe a power outlet by each bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and organized activities for the guests, both at the hostel as well as in the greater Phoenix area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petri Meyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Petri would recommend this property

Liked: This place is truly a hostel in every amazing way. They had tours everyday and I explored the city in a way I never would have with out them. The staff is so involved in the city and so friendly and fun! We went to underground art shows, out to great local bars, live music, and cooked big family style dinners! Then shared stories on the rooftop patio overlooking the city. I had the time of my life, stay here!! Can't wait to come back!

Disliked: Petri left no negative feedback.


See all Phoenix hostels