HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Phoenix hostels

Reviews of CamelBackpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1601 N 13th Ave, Phoenix, Arizona, USA AZ 85007

95.9% Overall Rating

36 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

Jennifer Jones thinks…

"I don't know where to start... I traveled to Phoenix as a last minute decision from Vegas (I'm originally from the UK and travelling America). Camel Backpackers seemed to have all the facilities I…"

Read all CamelBackpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Phoenix?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Phoenix

HI - Phoenix - The Metcalf House
23.50 USD

Hostel 93.4% 20 reviews
Econo Lodge Phoenix Airport
14.75 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Howard Johnson Airport
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 53.6% 4 reviews
Phoenix Practical Room Rentals
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport
30.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Travelodge Phoenix North
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Phoenix Affordable Room Rentals
27.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Super 8 Motel Bell Rd
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

36 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CamelBackpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 July 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I don't know where to start... I traveled to Phoenix as a last minute decision from Vegas (I'm originally from the UK and travelling America). Camel Backpackers seemed to have all the facilities I was looking for so I went ahead and booked it, conscious of them getting fully booked etc. When I arrived I was immediately greeted by Ali the manager, and Phil one of the staff members. They could clearly see that I was exhausted from a long coach journey and had a huge rucksack on so told me to set it down and offered me some water (It was about 110 degrees). This immediately was promising. After I was checked in I had a tour of the hostel. It has free wifi, internet access. Games, DVD, Movies etc, a huge kitchen filled with every kind of cooking utensil you can imagine! Free breakfast every day, an outside area with a hammock. The list goes on. It is very close to a supermarket, bars and pubs and also food places. The public transport is very accessible and there are bus stops literally across the road. Within the hostel there are walls full of information on the surrounding area, e.g. maps which have pinpoints and they list their favorite/recommended places. There are always events going on in Phoenix and Ali (the manager) makes sure that the guests are aware by keeping everyone informed and updating a noticeboard each day. She even took me out to a free rooftop pool bar down town on my second day, which was her day off yet she likes to spend time getting the know the desks and ensuring that they are enjoying their stay and making the most of their time here. All staff are friendly and do an amazing job. They are on hand constantly to offer help or even if you just want to play a card game - they are constantly interacting with you. I have never experienced this level of customer service before at a hostel, especially one so cheap! Usually its "You get what you pay for", which is normally a bed and a small kitchen... this is so much more. Its like a family here. I genuinely feel like i'm in someones home. One more thing I must mention is the cleanliness. It is ALWAYS super clean. Staff tidy and clean throughout the day, clean towels are provided everyday, which is rare in the hostel environment, you're lucky if you even get free linen, let alone DAILY towels! Thank you so much Camel Backpackers, for making my journey to America less scary and much more fun. I don't think i'll come across a hostel like this again during the rest of my trip, they have set a hard score to beat! Phoenix has been my favorite place so far and that is all down to the hostel.

Disliked: Honestly, there is nothing I disliked about this property. The only bad thing from this experience is that now Camel Backpackers have set such a high standard for me when booking other hostels in America. I've already stayed in 4 other hostels since my trip, not including this one, and none have been anywhere near as good as Camel Backpackers!! I have a feeling i'm going to be very disappointed as my trip continues!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well laid out common areas.

Disliked: Not major issues but suggested improvements: - a more solid bunk bed (I was on top). - A night light in bedrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Priest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff and great atmosphere! Met new fun people every night and went hiking with them during the day, then came back for the firepit at night. The whole hostel is very clean, the staff is nice, and free breakfast is provided in the morning. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Kaldy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean hostel, relaxed atmosphere, staff who make you feel at home and are also pretty darn cool. Pretty good free breakfast, fast wifi, no complaints!

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtenay Dore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 Courtenay would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! All the facilities you need to make your stay both pleasant and convenient. A well maintained, clean and organized operation which manages to still achieve a homely feel, which in turn leads to a comfortably sociable environment. To top things off the staff are amazing! Scott and Jasmin were both brilliant! Helpful above and beyond and so genuinely nice and friendly, they even invited a bunch of us out on the town for drinks and a local arts festival. Finally, you'll have to pardon the pun, but Amber is an absolute gem! :-)

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

FLEUR BUEVOZ

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2013 FLEUR would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean house and very friendly staff.

Disliked: the dorms are a bit small for so many beds - but ok with the aircond.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to centre of town Air conditioning Friendly staff Good wi fi

Disliked: No real atmosphere, as it's a very small hostel, three rooms only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joep Zewald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Joep would recommend this property

Liked: This was the start of our travel, and we had a great time. The staff was friendly and the location of the hostel is very good. There were some young students at the hostel, but also middle aged people. So there is a place for everybody who wants to visit Phoenix. We were lucky, because the hostel had there one year anniversary at the time we stayed. The had organised a great party, with a slip and slide (hope you bought one now :)) lots of food and drinks.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CamelBackpackers, is one of the best hostels I went into while I traveld around the US. It's really clean, you have nice and helpful staff and comfortable beds! If you go to Phoenix you really should pick this Hostel. You will not miss anything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this hostel was definitely a highlight of my trip. I planned to stay there for a couple of nights and instead stayed for almost a week. When I initially booked it after reading the reviews I was still a bit sceptical. But after spending some time there I realized that comments don't do justice to the place. Awesome people, great atmosphere, clean place, sun all day long - what else can you wish for? If you don't enjoy staying at this hostel you should probably stop travelling right now and just go back home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pierluigi sonsini

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 pierluigi would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, the staff is very friendly, they'll help you with anything at all! This was by far the cleanest hostel I've ever been into. Seriously, these guys have OCD, if you ask me, they were cleaning the place continuously! :) Also they'll involve you in a lot of things, if you're traveling by yourself, this is the best place to meet other people and party

Disliked: It's not located in downtown, but as far as I know there's no hostel in downtown, and the bus runs pretty frequently, so no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very clean, excellent location

Disliked: Just that I couldn't stay longer!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jinung Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Jinung would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Moreover everythings are perfect. This place is the best place ever in my travel. Especially Colin and Susanne, they are such super nice people. You never regret choosing this place. I was super great time to meet nice people here.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and after having stayed in so many warehouse-type dorm rooms, it was nice to stay in an actual house. The outdoor patio was also really great.

Disliked: I didn't like that it wasn't near a whole lot but that has more to do with Phoenix being a car-centric city where everything is so far from everything else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was incredibly friendly. You feel right at home as soon as you walk in and make friends super quickly. I left something behind and e-mailed Andrew when I got back home and he mailed it to me and I had it back in a few days. He was incredibly helpful and made sure I got it back. Every night he would hang out with everyone and play games and talk. I would definitely go back if I'm ever in Phoenix again!

Disliked: Although the location is not the very best, it is incredibly easy to get there by public transportation! There is simply nothing at all to dislike about this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will McGann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Will would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, Andrew was very helpful and he had a lot of knowledge of the phoenix city for a guy thats only been in the town for a short while he had some good recommendations of things to do. The hostel itself has got a very good home vibe to it, very clean,modern and well organised.only minutes to downtown core. Would definitely stay here again if i came back to phoenix. Will- Australian

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice staff

Disliked: Location could be better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best backpackers I've stayed at in my life. Completely unexpected that it would be so amazing, but it was incredible! It was like a home. The people running it were so friendly and nice. The guy at the front desk asked me if I wanted anything when he went down the grocery store, then a guest cooked a seafood dinner for everyone in the hostel. Felt like I was staying at a friends house. Really clean and nice. Could not recommend this place more highly.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, Andrew and other lady (sorry I don't know her name) were very friendly. They make you feel so comfortable. It's more like staying at home than hostel. I am an international student visiting phoenix for the first time and I didn'y any discomfort at all staying there.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Tartaglione

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Probably one of the nicest looking hostels I've ever slept in.

Disliked: No guard rails on the top bunks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 emily would recommend this property

Liked: I booked one night at Camel Backpackers and ended up staying over two weeks and not wanting to leave. The hostel is meticulously clean and has amazing facilities, and the people you meet (including staff) are lovely, welcoming and most of all FUN! The hostel is always super clean, the bunks are really comfortable with no squeaking at all, the bathrooms are like a hotel rather than a hostel and the kitchen and lounge area has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay including games, books, musical instruments and wii. The hostel has multiple power outlets in lounge areas and also near every bed, they also have a personal light and fan for every bed (which is very important in my books) Staff are always around to give you tips on where to go and what to do in Phoenix, if you're over 21 there are always people happy to have a beer with you and it's also really well set up to meet other travellers and generally just have a good time. I highly recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was awesome! The staff are really friendly and helpful, they brought a really relaxed and chill atmosphere to the hostel that few others can boast of. The facilities are all perfect, there really isn't anything to complain about at all!

Disliked: The only bad thing about the hostel is the location if you don't have a car. The bus is located right next door, but Phoenix buses only run once every half hour. But if you have a car, then the location is no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Blackford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very Homely. Owners of hostel and all the employees are incredibly friendly and willing to help you out at any point.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katren Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Katren would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! All the staff go above and beyond, and really want to give visitors a great experience of Phoenix - which is an amazing city! Free computer use, wifi, breakfast, and understanding check-in and -out hours. Extremely clean, and very comfortable beds that are made (even the mattresses!) by staff and Phoenix locals. An AMAZING hostel!

Disliked: Make every subsequent stay at other hostels seem utterly lacking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself was really nice and clean and the staff were always incredibly helpful and friendly. One of the best hostels I have stayed in on my many travels. Could not find fault with iit

Disliked: Nada


See all Phoenix hostels