We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel

Hostel | 4840 West. Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Orlando, Florida, USA 34746

68.8% Overall Rating

177 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"Value for money, not far from Disneyworld and the other parks, across the road from a supermarket."

Read all Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Orlando?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Orlando

Magical Memories Villas - Disney Area
109.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Holiday Inn Main Gate East
23.75 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Roomba Inn & Suites -Orlando/Disney/Kissimmee Area
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Knights Inn Maingate Kissimmee
8.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.5% 94 reviews
B Resort
62.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Monumental Hotel Orlando
29.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 88.6% 17 reviews
Best Western Lake Buena Vista
26.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International D
45.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

177 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Haidang Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Haidang would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest place to stay in orlando

Disliked: no breakfast provided/available

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money, not far from Disneyworld and the other parks, across the road from a supermarket.

Disliked: Wifi wasn't great in the rooms and there were no bowls or spoons in the kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location the hostel organises shuttles to the parks just a short walk to old town where it gets busy on fri and sat

Disliked: Furniture is dated in the common room

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping

11 July 2014

Liked: swimming pool

Disliked: Dark, unclean, stinky

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shane Plum

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2014 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Central to Disney, Owners a good bloke who helps out with some tips on Orlando

Disliked: Getting around by public transport to it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gaston Alejandro Isola

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Gaston Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is always friendly. The hostel is really excelent for someone with car...from there you are always next to everyplace! The swiming pool is excelent and so the huge space for common activities.

Disliked: Most of the other guests are not travelers....they are unemployed people spending their time there until they get a job...not to much experiences to talk about and less after the second day

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for cheap accommodation in Orlando this is it. it is easy to get the bus to Disneyworld and the hostel can arrange a $20 return shuttle to universal studios.

Disliked: The beds and sheets aren't the best buy you get what you pay for.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: If you want to go to the disney parks and just want somewhere to rest your head for the night at a cheap rate then this is fine. It's around half an hour on the bus to the parks. If you want to go to universal then this isn't the place for you; takes around 2.5-3 hours to get to universal parks public transport (if you have a car then it's fine) and by the time you've added your shuttle price on you might as well stay nearer to the parks in a nicer hostel/hotel for about the same price.

Disliked: The beds were uncomfortable, rooms didn't get cleaned, dirty linen on beds for days after other guests had checked out. The manager payed more attetion to his dogs than to the guests. I get that he works long hours etc but he was patronising and rude most of the time. There is not really any opportunity to meet other people and everywhere was dirty. Barely any kitchenware.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you want to go to the Disney parks. There's also a free shuttle going to and from Universal (just go to the Howard Johnson next door and pretend you stay there, they will tell you the times ;)) Great living space to meet other travellers and a nice garden out back if you want a bit of solitary peace to read your book. I was also loving the piano! Felt safe the entire time I was there.

Disliked: The pool and gym were not available to use

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen and lounge are same hours as reception. So if you are an early bird, and want to eat breakfast before 8 PM with the groceries you bought, you can't since the kitchen is closed off. Plus the rooms are not clean, and not very secure, as I had a shirt stolen. And the lighting is very bad.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013

Liked: Great Price in High Price Area. Convenient Location.

Disliked: Phone Number listed on confirmation was a mobile, not answered four times. Message said it was not functional. My GPS didn't find the address; was not sure whether I could find the place, since I could not get a hold of anyone on number. Finally got to a computer at a library. (Not easy on Saturday in Keys and backroads). Should be listed as Kissimee address. GPS did not pick it up as Orlando (as listed) or Orlando Metro area. Suggestion: Say, "Look for small white sign at Vineland Avenue intersection. Did not see small sign tucked in with all the big hotel signs, even though it was lighted. Manager's answers were phone works, update your GPS, there's the sign, check the website (not everyone is internet ready on the road). Bath and sink areas need work, although they functioned.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucas Marcelo Marini Tejada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Lucas Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cheap option regarding that we booked 2 days before going. The rooms are not bad for the price. The dog is adorable. It's a very good option IF you go by car.

Disliked: If you don't go by car, it's a bad option because of the location and the horrible public transport in Orlando. It's better to pay a little bit more in a hostel that is closer to the parks.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Before I came to this hostel, I was afraid about the cleanliness or location(because here's far from the MCO). However, this hostel is much better than I thought. I've been stayed here for 6days. I used 8 beds room and I had 6 roommates. It was my first time to use one room with that many people but it was not that bad. People were kind and friendly, so was the owner. The bed or sheets were not clean, but bearable. And there is a big super market over here. 7 Eleven, Starbucks, Subway .... many franchises. Location? Actually, this hostel is very far from the MCO so I used taxi. It costed $60. but Disney and Universal Studio is easily available. We can take the bus (#56) to get to the Disney World without transfer. (takes 20m~30m) and in order to get to the Universal Studio, there is a shuttle to get there in this hostel. So if you come here on the purpose to go to theme parks, I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Actually, it's hard to use the kitchen. It's not clean and opens for 24 hours. And room has a bath, but I really don't want to use it. ^^;;

37.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Thian Srisurapol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012

Liked: The lake on the back looks good. The dogs are cute. Chris is friendly. It is close to an information center which has very nice lady with good trip suggestions. Even they look not very nice but they are harmless. I don't know is this a compliment but this place looks very much alike what they called 'hippy' in my understanding.

Disliked: Oh...my, when I saw this place I did not want to stay any longer or extend my stay. As I said that the front dest was bad. My roommates were kind of freaks , one just shut himself out of the world, one was a fat ass who didn't let me turn on the A/C while it was extremely hot outside. They also took more than one locker and the rest were broken, So I have to leave my stuffs in the storage room every time I went out. The place looks like very cheap motel you usually see in 'C' Class movies. Bed and mattress was so poor that I doubt would I get a bite from bed bug. If I go to Orlando again I would pick somewhere else that is more expensive to stay rather than this place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Camargo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff everytime ready to help you, honest descrption of the facilities, I recommend to everyone! In front of supermarket, pharmacy, restaurant and other shops, close to Disney Parks and other points of interest. I really recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Marcos left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked about the place is that there's a kitchen there and free WiFi.

Disliked: It is UNSAFE there. I could hardly close my door without slamming it as a result a friend of mine had his lap top stolen.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizaveta Babkina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Elizaveta would recommend this property

Liked: clearness, price

Disliked: no free using a computer, too small rooms

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The Korean guy (owner I believe) was SO rude and unhelpful. I'm a single female traveller and I had a 2am bus and asked if I could leave my things and hang around the common area till I need to leave (which all hostels I have been to allow you to do or at least with a small fee) However this dude just replied 'you check out at 11am, you leave' and when I asked what can I do with my luggage for the day all he said was 'I don't care that is you're problem'. I could not believe my ears, I have been travelling around the world for the past year, stayed in dozens of hostel and have never been treated like this before. The people in my room were furious and disgusted when they heard this and luckily let me stay in the room till I had to leave. Extremely fortunate for me because the greyhound station in Orlando is an extremely dodgy place, drunkards and hobos hanging all round! That dude was also extremely annoying, he kept picking up really controversial issues to talk to you about and have debates over the most pointless issue when all you want to do is chill and relax after spending a day out. He was also unhelpful when you needed information about anything basically he had that give me your money and get out of my face attitude. The location was HORRIBLE, it takes at least 2 hours to get basically anywhere. The so called shuttle service is the guy driving you around and its very rare you can find someone to share rides with. He is always late with opening up the kitchen in the morning. This list can be endless......so seriously, just put in a few more bucks and stay in somewhere closer and better!

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Steve Emsley

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011

Liked: Proximity to Disney and SeaWorld attractions.

Disliked: Generally run down and not that clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011

Liked: The pool was nice.

Disliked: We weren't told where it was in relation to the theme parks and particularly the NASA space centre, which is where we wanted to go. We arrived late hoping to visit the space centre the next day and were just laughed at as the trip was booked up and it was a 2 hour journey away. So we left after one night feeling disappointed and felt the whole thing was a waste of our limited travel days! Would have liked to have been told that we had to book things like this before we arrived.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a pool and a lake. It's 25 minutes away from Disney World with the bus. There is a grocery store and Target across the street.

Disliked: The manager is absolutely not friendly. My room was not so clean but that had a lot to do with the girls who stayed in my room. Their stuff was everywhere,on the sink, bathtub, floor, several lockers,...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the swimming pool and the street it was on. the bedrooms were nice. great place to meet people it seemed.

Disliked: the length it took to get there. it says a 90 minute journey from orlando greyhound to the hostel. but both trips i took one to get there and one to get back were more like 2 hours. so i had to get two bus passes. thankfully they only cost $2 each time. but it would be worth getting off at kissimee if your travelling there.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 June 2011

Liked: noting

Disliked: You should to check this hostel by yourself, it's very bad. the manager very impolite especialy with the Asian people. He don't stay at the hostle alway if you come after 10am you maybe waiting for him till 5pm or more. He note to call him if you come and do not meet anybody but nobody pick up the phone. The facilities especialy pool is alway close and dirty (not be like the online information). The lake and surounding is so mess and dangerous. The Kitchen is a bit dirty and he come to open the kitchen and livingroom at 8am that I thik it's very late time for breakfast before you leaving to anywhere (that very far from hostel) and it's very late for anyone that wanna prepare the food for saving when go to the theme park, it's not convenience for guest. The essential thing for the kitchent and dining room is clean and good for helth but he alway let his big dog free walking around this area and he feed the dog at the kitchen too. the dog will follow everyone that cooking and eating in the room. the dog will follow you to beg the food alway. He never stop the dog, some dont like the dog but cannot do anything. one Chinesse dont like the dog she very fear she cannot eat her food because she give the food for the dog because she fear and she did not to do anything, So she use to tell the ownner but he do not anything and he is laughing too then he tell her that he cannot stop the dog because the dog is his boss the dog can do anything here and then he laughing to her. nobody dont have a choise to do anything better. There are manything is bad here. you should go there by youself, I think the old owner is good but the new one (Asian) is very bad he dont know how to be a manager. he dont give a good service (and service mind) to the customer and he alway say he is the boss here do not listen anybody he is the boss anybody must listen to him and do anything with his word. I use to stay in many hostel in any place in the world but I never stay in the worst hostel like this before. I was check out on 9 June, 3 day before the deal that I was booking without pay back because I hate this place and I wanna leave there quickly as soon as possible. I and everyone know that we don't have a choise because this is only hostel in Orlando. By the way many information on the website is wrong, example how to take the bus to the hostel, It's not clear and some information is wrong (you cannot stay on the bus for change the new number in the same bus), and have a easy way to go there. everyone lean by yourself. finally the air conditioner is alway blooey, it's not cool but the hostel donnot fix it. and the door dont lock some time and some time the key card cannot open the door too.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel O'Keefe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011

Liked: Staff friendly Good Facilities Value For Money

Disliked: Not many people staying here so no atmosphere location isn't great takes 2 hours on buses to get to theme parks apart from Disney as that is only 25mins on a bus

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to relax, it's quiet and disneyland and seaworld is not far away

Disliked: There is not much to see and the pool were closed during our stay and that would have been nice since it was really warm