We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oahu hostels

Reviews of Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging

Hostel | Sunset Beach, Kamehameha Highway, Oahu, Hawaii, USA 96712

92.3% Overall Rating

42 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2013)

"Place was very nicely decorated and well kept. It was clean, welcoming, and a great place to stay on the North Shore."

Read all Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 85.00
  • Breakfast USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oahu?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

42 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Sines

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 April 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very nice place, very clean!!!

Disliked: Nothing, all perfect!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was very nicely decorated and well kept. It was clean, welcoming, and a great place to stay on the North Shore.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right front of the beautiful beaches.

Disliked: The dogs and chickens at neigbor's were so noisy from midnight to early morning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maria and Bernie were great hosts. Great location - minutes away from the beach surrounded by beautiful scenery. The house was very well kept and clean. A great place for a nice relaxing and quiet stay. Thank you Bernie and Maria for such a great stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting and Maria and Bernie were tremendous hosts. The property is well kept with everything you might want or need during your stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felix Benzinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2011 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: top position, 3 minutes to the beach, surrounded by palm trees and flowers

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe hancock

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2011 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: maria's beautiful guest house is a *gem*. i was delighted with the cleanliness (cleaned each day), and the beautiful care and pride taken in the overall set up of the house. i was in a great room - the loft, which had a balcony and northern breeze each afternoon and evening. maria and bernie are fantastic hosts - bernie is a top notch surf photographer (who was in the wave finder i was carrying round with me!), and is able to give good advice re, breaks to visit, depending on the time of year. Thank you so much maria and bernie. i had a blast on the nth shore and a lot of it was knowing i was staying in such a homely and comfortable place, to enjoy at the end of the day. i will be back ! vamos, your australian buddy, zoe...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ester Badami

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

10 September 2011 Ester would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this place! Location: just across the street from lovely Sunset Beach! Owners and co-workers: all very nice! I had lovely chat with all of them and made me fell at home and comfortable from the second I stepped in the house. The house is very well kept, very clean (cleaned every day), it's very happy and colorful, not to mention the garden.,...SPECTACULAR! green and so full of palm trees! I loved it! there is a big kitchen, rooms are tidy and big all with a window facing the garden

Disliked: NOTHING!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011

Liked: The gardens were beautiful, and the accommodation was colourful.

Disliked: On arrival you had to call a phone number, which we did. When then discovered that the owners didn't have our room ready because they couldn't actually tell the date! ( they thought it was the day before). We then had to wait over two hours for them to turn up and check us in. We never received a sincere apology and they consistently tried to pass the blame never owing up to the fact that the blame rested solely with them.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very beautiful hostel: garden, rooms, kitchen, staff: everything is just perfect!

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry W Holovach

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2010 Terry W would recommend this property

Liked: The staff , Maria, Carlos and Bernie were very friendly, accomodating and made us feel like part of their family.

Disliked: All was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Downing

19 April 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had a nice relaxed atmosphere, was not very crowded, the location was great, and the outside shower was pretty great too (don't worry there is an indoor shower also). My only complaint was that the toilet was noisy (high pitch noise for a minute or so after flushing).

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the waves

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Koeppl

15 February 2010 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: chilled atmosphere, but defently not a party hostel. Many surfers stay here, close to famouse surfer beach. very clean and modern, nice place to live...

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Paulus

10 January 2010 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: very nice for a hostel, good location, but it would be difficult w/o a car (parking is free). There is just a "housekeeper" there to help you if you have concerns or you can call the owner.

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was very nice in this house.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Roucour

29 August 2009 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice house and clean house, wonderful kitchen and really well located, we all have a really goos time, we were like at home.

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and lovely place just next to Sunset Beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Stolle

17 November 2008 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is more like a hotel, the location is perfect, we had a great time...

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew stokes

14 March 2008 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location for the north shore, one of 2 hostels by the beach, friendly relaxed staff, bbq on the deck, internet access

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great for the surf

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Vanderpoll

10 March 2008 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, hospitable atmosphere! Great location.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, room, building, athmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luc Fournier

08 January 2008 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: Located near the waves

Disliked: Luc left no negative feedback.


See all Oahu hostels