HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

New York Homestay (just 15 mins from Manhattan) Guesthouse

17-19 8th Avenue, Newark, Newark, USA

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 76%

Location 74%

Safety 83%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 20.00USD

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE - We are not located in New York City. We are over the bridge in NEWARK, close to the airport, with easy access into New York City.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Newark?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 76%

Location 74%

Safety 83%

Staff 92%

Value 82%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: friendly

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: homely and cosy

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was like staying in your gramma's house. All kinds of interesting furniture and decorations.

Disliked: It wasn't in the greatest neighborhood.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: George couldn't have been more helpful. He gave great advice on getting there from the airport by bus and saved me a lot of money!The property is out of New York but with an easy $5 (single) trip into the main areas it was still convenient.

Disliked: Nothing really - the aircon was too noisy to use but an open window did the trick instead.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, easy access to the train station which can take you to Manhattan in 15 minutes. Clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing, everything is awesome.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: George is a wonderful host. He will go out of his way to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.The property is located outside New York, which is cost very effective in the long term. The city of Manhattan is easily acessible using NJ transit. 20 minute train ride and you arrive at NY Penn Station. Right in the buzz of the city!!You will feel right at home staying at this residence. We don't regret opting to stay there and we recommend it 100%.Thank you ever so much George!!! Aussies. :D

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: When my boyfriend and I arrived, the property manager informed us that he had double booked our room so had to take us to another location that was 'only 10 min away'. He then proceeded to drive us for 30 min to a whole other town, to another home. He then explained that this has happened before on Hostelbookers (where rooms are double booked), and feels bad that he has to put guests up in his own home during these instances. So, he had taken us to his family home. His house was a 40 min bus ride to the train to get to NYC. Furthermore, he said he was going to charge us the same. My boyfriend and I then told him we were not going to stay there, so the manager then drove us back to Newark train station where we got a hotel.


The property's response is

Wow, the lowest rate ever and this couple never stayed in the house. This couple was fighting among themselves and made wrong decisions. The only room with a double bed was taken and they refused other options.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Our Host George Was Very Accommodating And informative During Our Stay, Great Value For People On A Budget

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The neighborhood was pretty calm, the rooms were ok and everything was as expected.

Disliked: Just a bit too far from New York but really WORTH THE PRICE

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The property was very well maintained, our room was very clean as was the bathroom. George, the property manager, was very helpful and seemed like an all around great guy. The building itself was very quaint and the atmosphere calming, I really felt like I was in a home rather than a place to crash for the night.

Disliked: While the experience as a whole was fantastic, walking to the property can create a bit of anxiety since the surrounding neighborhood is a little sketchy. However, once we saw the building and the rest of the block it is situated on we felt much more secure.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability