HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in New York, USA

Serenity Guest House 91%

1. Serenity Guest House

Guesthouse
57 Rutland Road, Brooklyn New York

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

44 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity Guest House

09 Nov 2015 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Friendly and helpful staff, good location for a trip to New York

would recommend this property

08 Jul 2014 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

would recommend this property

Read all Serenity Guest House reviews
New York Budget Inn 90%

2. New York Budget Inn

Hostel
200 East 34th St.

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 97%

Value 93%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend New York Budget Inn

16 Nov 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 31-40

Like everything in budget inn, the staffs re lovely n friendly

would recommend this property

12 Oct 2016 91%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

I have tried multiple ways to make NYC affordable, and this is definitely my new go-to option when I visit the city. The location is convenient & safe. The facilities are basic but definitely clean & well maintained. And the staff was ultra friendly on top of all that. Finally, we got all of this for an extraordinarily reasonable price.

would recommend this property

Read all New York Budget Inn reviews
HI NYC Hostel 90%

3. HI NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

373 out of 407 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI NYC Hostel

05 Dec 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Work / volunteering
Age Range: 31-40

Everything

would recommend this property

03 Nov 2016 57%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Business / conference Work / volunteering
Age Range: 25-30

Amazing place.

would recommend this property

Read all HI NYC Hostel reviews
Adventurehostel JFK/NYC 88%

4. Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th street #3 Brooklyn 11236, Brooklyn

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 92%

Location 72%

Safety 92%

Staff 100%

Value 88%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

08 Aug 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

very clean, and relax atmosphere

would recommend this property

15 May 2016 63%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Very friendly staffs. I felt safe.

would recommend this property

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews
The Local NYC 89%

5. The Local NYC

Hostel
13-02 44th Avenue, Queens

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 90%

Location 83%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 86%

81 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

22 Aug 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Location was great, very fun atmosphere, great beers on offer, great view from the roof top. All the staff were great but I would like to give a special shoutout to Christina on reception for going above and beyond to help me when I was in a bad situation. Legend!

would recommend this property

11 Jun 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Clean hostel, excellent location, very helpful list of things happening in the city which is updated daily

would recommend this property

Read all The Local NYC reviews
Hotel 31 87%

6. Hotel 31

Hotel
120 East 31st Street

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 78%

Location 95%

Safety 92%

Staff 80%

Value 92%

149 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel 31

24 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Events / festivals Family Holiday

Good location. Near the metro. And easy to get food around. Employees are nice too

would recommend this property

22 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

Great location, friendly staff, clean

would recommend this property

Read all Hotel 31 reviews
NY Moore Hostel 86%

7. NY Moore Hostel

Hostel
179 Moore Street

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 82%

Location 81%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 84%

186 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend NY Moore Hostel

15 Nov 2016 71%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Rooms were not crowded, lots of space.

would recommend this property

26 Oct 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 41+

Cool area of Brooklyn No bunk beds

would recommend this property

Read all NY Moore Hostel reviews
Jazz on Columbus Circle 85%

8. Jazz on Columbus Circle

Hostel
940 8th Avenue

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 74%

Location 95%

Safety 88%

Staff 83%

Value 81%

22 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jazz on Columbus Circle

11 Nov 2016 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals
Age Range: 25-30

The building was new. Everything was neat in clean. There was a small free breakfast and also no luggage fee for the bags.

would recommend this property

29 Sep 2016 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 31-40

Location, cleanliness and in case of room with 5 beds an in room bathroom.

would recommend this property

Read all Jazz on Columbus Circle reviews
Hotel 17 80%

9. Hotel 17

Hotel
225 E. 17th Street

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 65%

Location 94%

Safety 88%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

49 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel 17

25 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

location and price. Rooms are small and single antiquated and slow lift can't keep up with demand - be prepared to walk to your floor. Good value and has all requirements

would recommend this property

19 May 2015 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

1. Good location. Short walk to subway stations (3rd Av or Union square). In a neighbourhood, so not too busy/touristy. Shops nearby. Good cafes nearby (I recommend Gramercy cafe - good for breakfast/brunch).2. Relatively clean. I was concerned RE the shared bathroom situation. Considering this, however, the hotel was actually relatively clean. I think the bathrooms were cleaned quite regularly. Your room is not cleaned during your stay unless you specifically request it to be. 3. Security. There is key card access to the rooms, as well a safe in the room.4. Free wi-fi. Some hotels charge for wi-fi - here it's free, which is a big bonus.5. Staff/service. The staff answered any questions I had in a polite manner, and I think the front desk was open 24 hours.6. Amenities. There is a hairdryer, sink, bar soap, shampoo, a safe and a TV in the room.

would recommend this property

Read all Hotel 17 reviews
Q4 Hotel 80%

10. Q4 Hotel

Hostel
2909 Queens Plaza North

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 80%

Location 78%

Safety 85%

Staff 82%

Value 79%

78 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Q4 Hotel

20 Nov 2016 40%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Location, close to the center

10 Oct 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 31-40

Nice staff, nice common area in basement and short subway ride to Mamhatten.

would recommend this property

Read all Q4 Hotel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated New York hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to New York

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!