HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in New York, USA

Serenity Guest House 91%

1. Serenity Guest House

Guesthouse
57 Rutland Road, Brooklyn New York

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

44 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity Guest House

09 Nov 2015 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Friendly and helpful staff, good location for a trip to New York

would recommend this property

08 Jul 2014 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

would recommend this property

Read all Serenity Guest House reviews
HI NYC Hostel 90%

2. HI NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

370 out of 403 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI NYC Hostel

14 Sep 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Business / conference
Age Range: 41+

Location and variety of guests

would recommend this property

07 Sep 2016 46%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

The breakfast

Read all HI NYC Hostel reviews
Adventurehostel JFK/NYC 88%

3. Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th street #3 Brooklyn 11236, Brooklyn

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 92%

Location 72%

Safety 92%

Staff 100%

Value 88%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

08 Aug 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

very clean, and relax atmosphere

would recommend this property

15 May 2016 63%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Very friendly staffs. I felt safe.

would recommend this property

Read all Adventurehostel JFK/NYC reviews
Hotel 31 89%

4. Hotel 31

Hotel
120 East 31st Street

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 80%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 81%

Value 93%

148 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel 31

24 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Events / festivals Family Holiday

Good location. Near the metro. And easy to get food around. Employees are nice too

would recommend this property

22 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

Great location, friendly staff, clean

would recommend this property

Read all Hotel 31 reviews
NY Moore Hostel 88%

5. NY Moore Hostel

Hostel
179 Moore Street

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 84%

Location 83%

Safety 91%

Staff 95%

Value 87%

183 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend NY Moore Hostel

05 Jun 2016 94%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

We both (my grown up son and me) really enjoyed staying here. It was lovely to meet people from all over the world in such a relaxed place.

would recommend this property

10 Apr 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 25-30

This is a hostel with great quality services from check in to check out. The staff tells you everything you need during your stay, gives you a tour and even check you in until your door like in a fancy hotel!! My room was clean, confortable and very spacious. For the same price in Manhattan, I would have stayed in a 8 female room with bunk beds instead of 3 here so it is really worth it to go a little further to get a much nicer accommodation. It is only located 15 minutes to Union Square with the L train

would recommend this property

Read all NY Moore Hostel reviews
The Local NYC 86%

6. The Local NYC

Hostel
13-02 44th Avenue, Queens

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 91%

Staff 91%

Value 85%

78 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

22 Aug 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Location was great, very fun atmosphere, great beers on offer, great view from the roof top. All the staff were great but I would like to give a special shoutout to Christina on reception for going above and beyond to help me when I was in a bad situation. Legend!

would recommend this property

11 Jun 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Clean hostel, excellent location, very helpful list of things happening in the city which is updated daily

would recommend this property

Read all The Local NYC reviews
Jazz on Columbus Circle 85%

7. Jazz on Columbus Circle

Hostel
940 8th Avenue

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 74%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 83%

Value 81%

19 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jazz on Columbus Circle

14 Sep 2016 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Amazing location, 5min from Central Park, 5min from Times Square and Broadway!

would recommend this property

04 Aug 2016 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

The location, the rooms and the very friendly staff.

would recommend this property

Read all Jazz on Columbus Circle reviews
Q4 Hotel 82%

8. Q4 Hotel

Hostel
2909 Queens Plaza North

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 81%

Location 78%

Safety 86%

Staff 84%

Value 81%

77 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Q4 Hotel

29 Aug 2016 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 25-30

The location close to a subway station

would recommend this property

03 Aug 2016 86%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

The theme

would recommend this property

Read all Q4 Hotel reviews
Hotel 17 80%

9. Hotel 17

Hotel
225 E. 17th Street

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 65%

Location 94%

Safety 88%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

49 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel 17

25 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

location and price. Rooms are small and single antiquated and slow lift can't keep up with demand - be prepared to walk to your floor. Good value and has all requirements

would recommend this property

19 May 2015 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

1. Good location. Short walk to subway stations (3rd Av or Union square). In a neighbourhood, so not too busy/touristy. Shops nearby. Good cafes nearby (I recommend Gramercy cafe - good for breakfast/brunch).2. Relatively clean. I was concerned RE the shared bathroom situation. Considering this, however, the hotel was actually relatively clean. I think the bathrooms were cleaned quite regularly. Your room is not cleaned during your stay unless you specifically request it to be. 3. Security. There is key card access to the rooms, as well a safe in the room.4. Free wi-fi. Some hotels charge for wi-fi - here it's free, which is a big bonus.5. Staff/service. The staff answered any questions I had in a polite manner, and I think the front desk was open 24 hours.6. Amenities. There is a hairdryer, sink, bar soap, shampoo, a safe and a TV in the room.

would recommend this property

Read all Hotel 17 reviews
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 80%

10. Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Hotel
2690 Broadway

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 61%

Location 88%

Safety 84%

Staff 95%

Value 79%

126 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

23 May 2016 83%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Friendly staff, good location - subway across the street, nice room

would recommend this property

20 Sep 2015 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture

Localização excelente ao lado do metrô, staff atencioso e disponível.

would recommend this property

Read all Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated New York hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to New York

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!