HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of NYC Summer Dorms New York Hostel

1 University Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11201, New York, USA

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 82%

Value 90%

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included

Important Information

Cancellation Policy
Reservations are non-cancelable--the total reservation will be charged if cancelled or in case of a no-show. Adjusting dates are allowed up until 7 days before your check-in; otherwise the original balance will be charged.
Please note the property only accepts guests from 18 to 30 years of age.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 82%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 77 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nive

Disliked: Not clean

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: normal place to stay

Disliked: bathroom dirty, (cortinas con moho)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was clean and the room was spacious. The bed wasn't bad and the front desk staff were nice and helpful.

Disliked: There were no lockers or anything to put your valuables in. It was kind of far from the center of New York but it was easy to take the metro, just a really long ride.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: That was a great place to stay! nice area, big rooms, respectible staff, nothing bothered me

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is good and convenient to travel in New York. It is very closed to transportation. A great place to stay! nice area, big rooms, respectible staff, nothing bothered me.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was suprisingly good. I expected the worst coz I know it's a student dorm but the rooms were big for NY standards. They limit it to just 4 people per room and we were onyl 2 my room. I'll be back here next week. Hopefully, I don't get a full room again.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was a very good experience for me. I read some complaints with this place but thankfully, I didn't encounter them. My room was clean and so were the bathrooms. Really can't complain about anything with it. I only had 1 roommate but the rooms could fit 4 people.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The location was good as it's literally minutes away from Manhattan by subway and the staff can be helpful sometimes.

Disliked: There really wasn't a social scene here e.g. no social activities scheduled and the wifi was a hit or miss at times at least for the 12th floor. Also, there were no lockers, only drawers, and the only place to leave bags before/after checkin/checkout was out in the hallway left unsecured. On top of that, the water fountains didn't really work.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: A great idea: renting University dorms during Summer. Entry into the building is very secured, it is very well connected to the metro and you cannot beat the price in NYC

Disliked: I stayed a week, had my own room to myself and think I saw about 7 people. Didn't get to speak to anyone. Not a place to go if you want to meet people but great if you need a cheap room near Manhattan

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: It is near subway stations.

Disliked: The staff blamed us for a battery problem in the door, that keep us out of the room for 30 min, the beds were too old, the floor was dirty, and the staff did not do anything about it when I complained.

Check Availability