HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Park West Hostel New York Hostel

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival.

Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 1-10 of 89 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendliness and helpfullness of the staff

Disliked: Cleanliness in the restrooms

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Keep looking, stay away from this place, honestly The worst hostel I've ever been to by far. We waited for 2 hours at reception to be provided with a room, on top of that we were 3 persons and they gave us a room with two beds only. This hostel is ridiculously expensive for what it has to offer.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room was spacious, had privacy.Able to check in late at night.

Disliked: The banging doors of the bathrooms and the bedrooms!! Also, the bathrooms were not always clean and the heating was not turned on in our bedroom even though it was a cold night.Needless to say, because I was cold and it was very noisy from people leaving their rooms and the bathrooms (because the doors would shut very loudly given that they do not stay open), I was not able to get a good sleep at all!What good is it to stay at a hotel if you can't get a good night sleep...

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to Central Park and Metro

Disliked: Minimal kitchen equipment

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good kitchen suply, nice staff

Disliked: The shower rooms were raelly bad

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: The bathrooms were unclean, we were not provided with lockers in our private room as described on the room details

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This hostel was one of the cheapest available and offered female only dorms. The location was also convenient as although it is not downtown, it is a very short walk from the metro line 1. Wifi worked well although only in reception which is also the kitchen, so at times very crammed.

Disliked: You get what you pay for, the hostel is quite run down, falling apart in places, the sheets were stained from overuse, and the bathrooms never had soap and the blind was broken on the second floor so you couldnt shower in that bathroom. The staff could have been a little more engaging during check in/out.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kitchen, fridge, knife abd fork.

Disliked: Dirty, no toilet paper,

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent location, just 2 blocks from Central Park and 1 from subway. Nice and helpful staff with which you can communicate well in Spanish :)

Disliked: Few outlets and shabby in the rooms, I could not charge my phone and computer simultaneously

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its a really safe hotel in a beautiful and safe neighbourhood. Its really peaceful as well.

Disliked: Only improvement I can point out is about bathroom, its like a one personal toilet n bath for entire floor so its bound to be a little unhygienic but I could do with it coz considering its price and location, its a brilliant deal.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability