HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Park West Hostel New York

Hostel

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival.

Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 71-80 of 101 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The worst hostel I have ever stayed.I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. Staff are really unfriendly and unkind. Wifi was so week, poor interiror, not enough washrooms. I stayed ther only 2 nights but I had to change my room keys 3 times and staff never apologized about it. They have a luggage room but never locked. It was always opened. Even I talked about it they didn't lock it but they said to me it's safe and I have to pay 4 dollars to use it after check out. Compare to the other hostel, this one was more expensive but really horrible, the worst one. Never recommand.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only two people In a room

Disliked: At first they overcharged me , but at last they gave me a refund.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the room, mostly.The bed is very comfortable, with all clean and good smell.There's a good air conditioner and shower.

Disliked: The elevator is small and old.The bathroom is old too and doesn't look very nice.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: first of all especially in new york city for me it was not much about the place i was staying but about the perfect location. due to the fact that i only spend time in the hotel to have breakfast and sleep it was more important where it was located. the location was pretty much perfect. upper westside means no big traffic, small and quiet streets, 1 minute to CVS (24/7 grocery and pharmacy), 2 minutes to the metro station (red line - 86th street), 5 minutes to central park and about 15-20 minutes from the hotel to times square. the "red line" stops at the best stops for sightseeing. we had a 2-bed room with A/C and lockers. includes breakfast and free towels and wifi. a "lounge" in the basement with computers, printers, laundry facilities, tv, books, games, etc.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: They cheated on the prices, since they appear as the cheapest hostel but afterwards you need to add taxes, so this is not fair compared with the rest of hostels in the website which does include these taxes. At the end, the price I had to pay was way more than the email I received.Besides, the staff was absolutely unfriendly. They even had a wifi working for free, every one had the password (AMSt3rdm or something similar) and they kept on saying there was no Internet.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating


21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The Area is good. It's a walking distance to Central Park and just 10 minutes to Midtown.The muffins for breakfast.

Disliked: The bathrooms are just disgusting. They probably never clean it.The room doesn't have any closet or shelves for storage even it's a huge room. I had too keep all my stuff in my suitcase.The staff is rude! Especially the girl with the glasses and the guy with the cap!! Wifi is very expensive!


The property's response is

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. All the rooms, bathrooms and common spaces are cleaned on a daily basis.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: hostel with a good localization and good neigthborwood

Disliked: the window does not open. only air conditioning

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location (as I love the Upper West Side). It was a crazy hot week in NYC and the rooms all had excellent A/C, for which I was enormously grateful.

Disliked: Shortage of bathrooms on each floor made for some waiting time (unless one wanted to use early in the morning or late at night). No power outlets in the rooms. Lockers in rooms are really small.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: the rooms are good. its not a 5 star hotel but it is still quiet good.

Disliked: the lady at the reception is rude and unhelpful. No one deserves to be treated the way she treats people. especially if all you've done is book a stay at this hostel. I am not just wincing about it. I know for a fact that if anyone treated a customer like that in Australia you'd be fired.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: perfect location, the rooms are basic, and affordable price!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability