HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Park West Hostel New York Hostel

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival.

Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 101-89 of 89 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: As soon as arrived, I was truly impressed with everything... And I mean everything... Knowing that I only paid $30 a night, the services seemed like luxury. Great location, clean and warm rooms, shared bathroom was even clean and with hot showers!Only the breakfast in the morning wasn't enough for all the visitors. Jazz on Amsterdam has truly made me love my tight-budget trip to NYC even more. Great location, safe, clean and cheap! I have already suggested it to most of my friends!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location, TV room are the strengh of the hostel, noting more.

Disliked: Dirty rooms, cold, rude staff, poor breakfast, etc.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: just good, friendly and helpfull

Disliked: a bit expensive, but that s the price in NY

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, and in general the premises were kept to a very high degree of hygiene and cleanliness. The bathroom/shower combinations were almost always vacant (though that may have had more to do with the season than anything else) and the lounge in the basement, while a bit small (two couches and a dinner table) featured a flat-screen television and wall shelves stacked with books.

Disliked: Due to the smaller dimensions of its common areas (including the kitchen off the lobby/reception area) the hostel made meeting and socializing with others a bit difficult. Jazz is better suited to your needs if you simply want a convenient, clean place to sleep and store your luggage while you explore the city.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was really riendly and helpful. Daily cleaning was indeed done, and beds made every day. We did not even had to take off the linen or put it on ourselves. The guests were real travellers, that is at least in the dorm where I stayed. Their elevator actually worked :-). There was (a kind of :-) breakfast actually. The bathrooms that were renovated (most of them were) were indeed very nice (the old ones were not).

Disliked: Extra charges for leaving bags the same day after check out, extra charge for even wireless Internet on own computers. A lot of taxes on top of room rate. Cockroaches (although they were small and ran away fast :-). TV in the lounge did not have cable signal, thus there was no use of it (and the manager did not seem terribly eager to call the cable company to get it fixed).

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not very clean, very old bathroom, no toilet paper, I found a cockroach in my room, breakfast not good, and very short time to take it (between 8 and 10, which is not compatible with the great NY night life...)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful and always available, even at 2 o'clock in the morning!! rooms were clean and warm and bed was very comfy.

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good

Disliked: No one

Customer would recommend this property

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: location fine for manhattan

Disliked: Exceptionally unprofessional and rude staff - I emailed early in the morning to say I would not be arriving that evening as booked but I understood I would be charged, but to confirm I would be arrriving early the next morning. Arrived early the next morning to be told they do not read their emails (?!) and had cancelled my booking entirely AND charged me for both nights - leaving me homeless in new york on a saturday night - all other hostels booked so ended up having to pay $300 for hotel! Staff exceptionally rude and refused to assist, offer any sympathy or even acknowledge it was poor service - the guy merely blamed the fact he had not been working the day before so "not his problem". Spoke to other travellers in the lobby for help and they were helpful but agreed staff lousy and atmosphere/cleanliness poor. DONT TRUST THEM!!

Check Availability