HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Central Park West Hostel New York

Hostel

201 West 87th Street, New York, NY, New York, USA

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Please Note: The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival.

Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 43%

Facilities 51%

Location 84%

Safety 70%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 91-100 of 100 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location close to subway

Disliked: Poor breakfastPoor maintainace Not value for money

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is strategic, near the 86st Subwayuntrained & unfriendly staff

Disliked: the bathroom is broken, the internet is not free, there is no safe locker

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Jadia on the counter was awesome.

Disliked: My key card stopped working quite a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: nothing, the location was OK

Disliked: Everything! I feel betrayed by HostelBookers for offering such a horrid place to stay. I have trusted HostelBookers but since my stay at the Jazz Hostel I will review my trust and inform whoever I can of this fact. Jazz Hostel should NOT be open in such poor conditions and with a undertrained staff. Not only the night receptionist who identify himself only as Q mock my lack of sleep at 2am but the morning receptionist Sarah was completely rude and unhelpful when I first complaint. The noises at 2am or midnight are unbearable and deprive me of 2 nights of sleep. The showers are disgusting and don’t have even a full curtain! How much does a curtain cost? Why they keep a destroyed curtain?

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Work / volunteering

Liked: location

Disliked: shady guests

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: I stayed there for one night on st. paddys day. I just needed a place to sleep and a hot shower. Thats what I got, so Im satisfied. I didn't check out anything else. Location is okay. Shower was hot, but there was just one bathroom at the floor. I was lucky that there were no people waiting.

Disliked: It was really dirty in the room. There were 2 drinks, I guess from a party 2 months ago behind the curtain. I don't think that anybody cleans the room. They didn't let me check in at 2.30pm, because check in is at 3pm. But I don't know whats the problem, they don't clean the rooms anyway. So staff was very unfriendly.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to central park, cheap

Disliked: Building is old, hot water in the shower only comes after some time you let the water go

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The common room was a good size with couches and a large t.v

Disliked: My room had a hot water pipe of some sort running through the room, all night there was a click, click sound and it genreated sooooo much heat in the room that it made it a very uncomfortable night sleep both noise wise and temperature wise. There were also no curtains in the room to block out the sun; so when the sun rose you woke up.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice room, breakfasst

Disliked: Cleanliness in the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Staff very helpful

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability