HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Serenity Guest House

Guesthouse

57 Rutland Road, Brooklyn New York, New York, USA

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Important Information

Deposit Requirement/Refund
50% deposit required at time of booking. Balance paid in cash
upon arrival.Refund of deposit if cancelled within 14 days of receipt. If cancelled
after aforementioned time, deposit is refundable only if time slot can be
filled by another guest. If we are not able to rebook, you will forfeit your
deposit. We accept cash ONLY

Cancellation Policy: Cancellation notice must be received at least 20 days prior to scheduled arrival date otherwise 25% fee of balance amount and 5% transaction fee will be charged. *Please see separate note for refund of deposit amount.

Last Minute Bookings
No refund on last minute bookings, Last minute
bookings are 14 days or less.

Refunds are processed 10 business
days from receipt of cancellation date.

*There are no refunds for early departures.

Late Arrivals
We do not have a 24 hour reception area. Late arrivals 5:00 and 8:00
pm must be scheduled in advance of arrival. Arrivals after 8:00 pm will
be considered a no show and subject to Full Payment. Check-ins after midnight are considered
next day (check-in arranged between 9:30-10:00 am).
Smoking Policy
There is no smoking allowed in the guest house.

Children
We allow children ages 10 and older.

State and city taxes payable on arrival: 14.75% + 3.50 per day/per room

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 89%

Location 84%

Safety 93%

Staff 98%

Value 90%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location for a trip to New York

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Disliked: I disliked nothing! Everything was above my expectations.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

Disliked: It was perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The host, Zenobia, is so welcoming and gives the best suggestions for places to eat in the area. We felt very comfortable and would highly recommend this guesthouse to friends.

Disliked: Although the floors could do with re-finishing and the corridors re-painted, there is so much charm and character to the guesthouse. It feels like a home away from home.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Very good athmosphere, lovely hostess. The house has it's special character which has to be experienced.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I absolutely loved staying there, it really felt like home, especially with the soul music playing there all the time. Very nice and clean rooms, even the bathroom, for breakfast I could have everything I wanted, and Zenobia tried her best to create a friendly and family-like atmosphere.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Zenobia couldn't have made me more welcome and at home. It was my first time staying in Brooklyn and in a guesthouse after always using hotels in Manhattan previously and I will definitely return again - it's a totally different experience and a real home away from home.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lovely athmosphere and it always felt like "coming home" and not just like a random hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Zenobia is a wonderful host, probably one of the nicest persons on this planet. The atmosphere is amazing. It's an old brownstone house with nice backyard located in a small, quiet street near Prospect Park in an upcoming neighborhood called Prospect Lefferts Garden. Subway to Manhattan is close and other parts of Brooklyn like Williamsburg, Fort Greene or Park Slope are also fairly easy to reach. The rooms are beautifully designed and very spacious. You'll probably pay five times the money for a room this large in Manhattan. Plus, you get a sense of how "real", i.e. not super-rich New Yorkers live. A couple of decent grocery stores are located nearby on Flatbush Ave. All in all, Serenity at Home wasn't just a place to stay, but really a place to feel like home and it contributed a great deal to our wonderful stay in NYC.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: As soon as we arrived we felt very comfortable and at home. Zenobi was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was great as we were only a short walk from the subway and we were also very close to shops, bars and restaurants. All the facilities were great and the choice of food at breakfast was also really good. We would definitely recommend Serenity to anyone staying in New York and we would stay there again if we ever return to New York. It was also made clear to us how much the guesthouse cost, as it can get confusing with the taxes that are added on.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability