HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The New York Loft Hostel New York Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 87%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 3.00USD
  • Towel 2.00USD

Important Information

“Please note NYC hotel tax not included in price. 14.75% in all rooms.
Private Room: additional NYC Hotel Room Occupancy Tax $3.50 / room per night”

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 87%

Location 80%

Safety 86%

Staff 81%

Value 77%

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good bar, nice large rooms, nice and clean, good location in Brooklyn, free breakfast with good variety, good atmosphere and common areas.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, could benefit from from a cafe as food availability is limited to more expensive restaurants in the area, ridiculously over priced even over NYE, only booked because all other hostels were booked out.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the helpful review! We hope to see you back soon!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bartenders were all really nice and super friendly.The rooms were very spacious.

Disliked: The floors were very squeeky and in couple with the trucks outside it was a little noisy.however ear plugs solved all that.It was a little expensive for an overall average hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your honest and helpful review! Hope to see you back soon!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great tidy set up, close to some great eats. Staff were fantastic.

Disliked: The area can feel a little out of the way at first, and while the kitchen was fantasically clean, my room wasn't.. although there was what seemed to be a permanent resident sleeping all day so maybe that was why.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the honest and helpful review! We hope to see you back very soon!

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean bathroom and kitchen was well interiored and spacy

Disliked: Not many outlets and the staff were not too helpful. Also the blanket was not warm and clean enough during the night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate your feedback. We will take your suggestions to help better our services. Happy travels!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was really modern and clean inside and there was always something different on offer every evening in the hostel bar. Free breakfast was good too! About a 20 min subway ride from Manhattan too.

Disliked: The only issue we had whilst we stayed was some money going missing from our room. This was oviously a rare case and the hostel staff handeled the situation amazingly. We were in a private room so didnt think we would need a locker. So even if you get a private room I would still reccommend paying $5 for a padlock just in case. This would not stop me from staying in the hostel again, I would just use the locker.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and happy we could help with the negative situation that occurred. We hope to see you back very soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Terrific location close to subway and many dining establishments. Very fun atmosphere at the Basement Bar, and the free breakfast is a great value.

Disliked: Our mattresses were a little lumpy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the helpful review! We do wish to see you back very soon :) Happy travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Just about everything. Wonderful staff, we adored the location though I guess others might not. Our room was lovely and the bar was great. Incredibly handy for the subway. Lovely co-guests too who were friendly and charming despite the considerable age difference between them and us. We were en route to Canada and have changed our plans (slightly) to stay on the way back!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

YAY! We are so glad to hear you will be joining us again :) Can't wait for you guys to make some more awesome memories in NYC!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Best Hostel ever!! Plenty of space in the room and common areas

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Yay! So glad to hear it :) Visit us again soon! Happy travels!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, friendly, great coffee, spacious rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!! Hurry back soon :)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Probably the cheapest accommodation you will find in New York- Gave me a decent price for extending my stay- They have a safe room, a good place to cook and eat dinner, there's a few quirky shops within walking distance and most people are up for a chat if you're into that- They also have a bar on the basement level which does a very good happy hour

Disliked: - Around 25 minutes minimum away from Manhattan (this didn't bother me but something other travellers minded), this is reflected in the price- Rooms are not cleaned every day which in dorms means the bathrooms get kinda gross- If you're a light sleeper, I would ask not to be on the ground level as you can apparently hear the bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate your helpful and honest review. We will take your suggestions to help better our services. Hope to see you back soon!

Check Availability