HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel New York Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 93%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 97%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 93%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 97%

Value 88%

Showing 31-40 of 108 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, beautiful rooms, bathrooms.... I think I liked everything about this place! The staff were so helpful and so lovely. Good location, my be 5 minute walk to the subway and then only a few stops to times square

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a bar in order to meet other travellers as I was a solo traveller this time. However, the toys run from the hotel were a good way to have some social contact.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The gathering áreas and the staff.

Disliked: My room was not ready on time that day.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is awesome and have a great location very near to two subway stations, very close to central park, very safe to arrive late night. Staff is awesome they try to help whenever they can. The backyard is great a good place to do new friends and hang out. They have a bunch of great activities, super recommended. Clean bathrooms with hot water 7/24.

Disliked: Mattresses were awful, too soft and they don't give any back support. Air conditioner did a terrible noise. From some point of view it is good because you don´t know too much about others.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice place to chill and rest with good feelin'But, still a little bit pricy. 3 nights for almost $180 is still painful as a young college visitor like me coming from a middle of nowhere called, Bloomington. Damn freaking corn field.

Disliked: Wished washing items like shampoo and body wash be better products and expect a little bit more variety of them for visitors that might lose a chance to pack washing tools completedly like me.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel arranges interesting tours to the city and its nightlife. Therefore, it was really easy for me because I was travelling alone.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the convenience of the location, and the plethora of amenities available as well as the nightly group outings they offered.

Disliked: The price could've been a little less, but that might just be me being stingy.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Staff at the Hostel were 1st class, very helpful and approachable, the bakery was also very nice! with a great selection of food, drinks etc.Facilities on offer were great too, this property is very big so felt like plenty of room to relax as well.

Disliked: Although the size of the property was an advantage at times it also worked as a disadvantage too in regards of meeting people in comparison at smaller hostels where it is easier to socialise and bump into people, also the lack of a bar at the hostel is a definite problem, we need our alcohol! :) the location whilst not a million miles away is a little far out from the action in New York in my opinion, although the subway is not that far away to travel to these places.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The comedy show with Max May was absolutly uncredible! So mutch fun! The clubbing after that was great ether! I recommend this tour for everyone! Was awsome!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location, very convenient, near the subway. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and cheap.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean bathrooms Nights out every night

Disliked: Did not combine my bookings into oneSchool children stay thereStaff isn't very happy with their workBreakfast is charged extra and NOT WORTH it at allNo bight stands

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability