HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel New York Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Check-in: 4pm. We have a 24hr cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation.
Booking must be cancelled by 6:00 pm the day prior. All reservations cancelled 1 day prior by 6:00 pm Eastern Standard time will not incur a penalty. We will asses a one night charge thereafter.
***Mixed or coed dormitories can only accommodate guests traveling together as mixed travel companions. Individual guests cannot be accommodated in mixed dormitory rooms.
All parties of this reservation are guaranteed a bed for the duration of the requested stay. We cannot guarantee that all parties will be in the same room or room type requested. Hi New York will work diligently in an attempt to place all parties associated with this reservation in the same room and accommodation type as requested at time of booking.

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone. Guests under the age of 16 are not permitted to stay in the shared dormitories.
Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night.

HI New York will process a one night room charge for any reservations received for 8 or more beds. If we are unable to secure payment, we will cancel the reservation .
Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

The maximum stay for any guest is 20 days for each calendar year. We do not accommodate residents from within a 75-mile radius of the property.

Packages: For the security of all guests and team members. we do not accept any parcel/ packages that arrive for guest not currently checked in to our system. All such packages will be returned to sender(not signed for) and should be looked for at your originating location.

**Hostelling International New York is a 501c3 private organization geared toward creating educational opportunities; therefore we do not except local NYC residents as overnight guests.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 87%

Showing 31-40 of 96 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the environment.

Disliked: A bit expensive per night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: tours and club night they have

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice, comfortable bed, and friendly staff willing to introduce nice destinations.Since it's not located in the city center, it feels quiet and relaxed during stay.

Disliked: People upstairs are a bit loud during night, but it's not big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A very helpful and friendly staff!!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, beautiful rooms, bathrooms.... I think I liked everything about this place! The staff were so helpful and so lovely. Good location, my be 5 minute walk to the subway and then only a few stops to times square

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a bar in order to meet other travellers as I was a solo traveller this time. However, the toys run from the hotel were a good way to have some social contact.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The gathering áreas and the staff.

Disliked: My room was not ready on time that day.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is awesome and have a great location very near to two subway stations, very close to central park, very safe to arrive late night. Staff is awesome they try to help whenever they can. The backyard is great a good place to do new friends and hang out. They have a bunch of great activities, super recommended. Clean bathrooms with hot water 7/24.

Disliked: Mattresses were awful, too soft and they don't give any back support. Air conditioner did a terrible noise. From some point of view it is good because you don´t know too much about others.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice place to chill and rest with good feelin'But, still a little bit pricy. 3 nights for almost $180 is still painful as a young college visitor like me coming from a middle of nowhere called, Bloomington. Damn freaking corn field.

Disliked: Wished washing items like shampoo and body wash be better products and expect a little bit more variety of them for visitors that might lose a chance to pack washing tools completedly like me.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel arranges interesting tours to the city and its nightlife. Therefore, it was really easy for me because I was travelling alone.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the convenience of the location, and the plethora of amenities available as well as the nightly group outings they offered.

Disliked: The price could've been a little less, but that might just be me being stingy.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability