HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel New York

Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

All guests under 18 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone for Group visits. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate any minor traveling without an adult. Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night. Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 94%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 90%

Showing 101-110 of 120 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the hostel because I can meet new people, and because it's not just a place to sleep there are other things you can do at the hostel.

Disliked: I think that there are too many people at the room(12).

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Some of the staff are rude beyond words, speaking to other people when they are serving you, ignoring you and being rather nonchalant.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Although the hostel is on the Upper West Side, away from the major attractions of downtown, it's very conveniently located only one block away from the 1 subway line. You can get anywhere downtown in a matter of minutes.The hostel is immaculate when it comes to cleanliness! I stayed on the third floor and my room was clean, the beds were made every morning (quite like a hotel), and the bathrooms are modern and spotless. It didn't feel like staying in a "traditional" hostel at all.This was my fourth trip to New York and I honestly wish I had stayed here on my previous trips. From now on, this will be the only place I'll be booking for future trips.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A lot of room where you can spend time and meet people and share your experience during your trip.

Disliked: I think is normal in New York, but I found the place really expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The whole package.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was very safe and clean in all places. There were good facilities such as lockers, wifi, snack bar (open very late), a reasonable free breakfast and the beds were comfortable. Free towels and shower slippers were provided.

Disliked: Some of the tables in the dining area was unstable and could do with being replaced.The hostel has a main road outside - this can sometimes be noisy in the bedrooms early in the morning.Other than that, this hostel was great.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, value for money.

Disliked: Na

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: Pretty organized, clean and good location.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, one the best I've ever seen around the world. Location is good, even though I liked more the exciting from the mid and downtown, specially in the late hours. A very good place for those who, like me, consider the nightlife as an important part of any trip.

Disliked: I must say I saw a little mouse in my room, but i would definitely stay there again. It's not their fault, NYC is full of rats. The bathrooms are always clean, you see the cleaning staff working all the time...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability