HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI NYC Hostel New York Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 93%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Check-in: 4pm. We have a 24hr cancellation policy. Late cancellations and no-shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first night's accommodation.
Booking must be cancelled by 6:00 pm the day prior. All reservations cancelled 1 day prior by 6:00 pm Eastern Standard time will not incur a penalty. We will asses a one night charge thereafter.
***Mixed or coed dormitories can only accommodate guests traveling together as mixed travel companions. Individual guests cannot be accommodated in mixed dormitory rooms.
All parties of this reservation are guaranteed a bed for the duration of the requested stay. We cannot guarantee that all parties will be in the same room or room type requested. Hi New York will work diligently in an attempt to place all parties associated with this reservation in the same room and accommodation type as requested at time of booking.

Please note that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or chaperone. Guests under the age of 16 are not permitted to stay in the shared dormitories.
Non-members will be asked to pay a $3 non-membership fee per night.

HI New York will process a one night room charge for any reservations received for 8 or more beds. If we are unable to secure payment, we will cancel the reservation .
Please note that we do not accept group bookings for 9 or more people via the website . All such bookings must be processed via the website's groups department. Group bookings for 9 or more people via the website will be automatically cancelled and the deposits will not be refunded.

The maximum stay for any guest is 20 days for each calendar year. We do not accommodate residents from within a 75-mile radius of the property.

Packages: For the security of all guests and team members. we do not accept any parcel/ packages that arrive for guest not currently checked in to our system. All such packages will be returned to sender(not signed for) and should be looked for at your originating location.

**Hostelling International New York is a 501c3 private organization geared toward creating educational opportunities; therefore we do not except local NYC residents as overnight guests.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 93%

Location 88%

Safety 92%

Staff 94%

Value 90%

Showing 101-97 of 97 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: k

Disliked: k

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: the location

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere, great activities and tours

Disliked: Room is too crowded, no sense of privacy at all. During my stay there was a big party (something outside of the hostel with families and loud kids) that made a lot of noise and didn't end until midnight (although hostel's policy is quiet hours from 11pm)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, close to subway, very clean

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: close to central park

Disliked: everything was ok, room was cool after we turned the aircon up.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The organised tours and pub crawls are great, especially for single travellers hoping to meet people and make friends, and for all travellers to get a feel for the local spots. Having the cafe downstairs was useful, and there were so many options of spots to hang out in the hostel - theatre room, lounge room, kitchen, cafe area, outside courtyard.

Disliked: The 12-bed dorm room did get a bit smelly (even the all-girls room!), and the windows were sometimes difficult to open - may have been because of the heat.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is quite good: west of the Central Park, close to the subway red line. Staff was moderately friendly. Each bed is supplemented by a personal light and a socket. Lockers are available if you have your own lock (or buy it in the store across the street).

Disliked: Someone occupied my bed by mistake, so I needed to wake him up in the night to settle it. Also, they charged a membership surcharge for whatever reason, so the final price was about $110 for two days in 10 person room, which was not cheap. Nevertheless, I did not took part in any activities or communicated with the other guests. While it was technically possible, staff did not encouraged that (like inviting to the party during check in), and I chose different activities in the city.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere promoted

Disliked: A little expensive for a hostel...

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the hostel because I can meet new people, and because it's not just a place to sleep there are other things you can do at the hostel.

Disliked: I think that there are too many people at the room(12).

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location

Disliked: Some of the staff are rude beyond words, speaking to other people when they are serving you, ignoring you and being rather nonchalant.

Check Availability