HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 102 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nothing at all

Disliked: Never stay here. They charged me twice on purpose. THERE IS NO WI-FI IN ROOMS. So expensive. I swear, you can much better rooms for that price. Never ever stay here. You will regret

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Nice staff, great location.

Disliked: No elevator, no breakfast and they charge to store bags which I thought was pretty mean.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


07 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good value for money

Disliked: Facilities

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The location is good. Close to Central Park and it is quiet and peaceful place. I had the good fortune of having great roommates throughout my stay. The price was also great and especially for New York standards.

Disliked: Wifi only works in the lobby. The WC and bathroom are not avaliable for each floor. Have to go downstairs.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful!

Disliked: The subway was broken down when we stayed there, and that made the trip getting home about twice as long. However that is not the hostels fault!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The free wifi in the living room was very convenient.

Disliked: Some personelle was rude, not cosy at all, the comedy show was way too awkward, and overall not as well located as imagined.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating


11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: i was given a bottom bunk, and they had lockers

Disliked: not friendly, only one restroom and toilet on floor, restroom and toilet were extremely small. shower areas arent the best, no amenities, didnt give a tour of the facility. just kinda gave me my key and sent me on my way to find my room, restrooms, shower areas.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Location and the other travelers, the staff was nice most of the time .

Disliked: qouted 500 dollars on line ended up being 700 dollars. No kitchen no plates not even a bottle opener. The fire alarm went off at 3 am the last two nights there. Staff took hours to even notice.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location is excellent, only a few meters away from Central Park.

Disliked: Only 1 toilet for the entire floor, plus it was always dirty. But the worst thing is that there's a column in front of it, so you have to do whatever you must do sideways, literally..

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay with us. Two bathrooms are located at the end of each corridor on every floor. Central Park is located literally steps away from our location as well as a variety of restaurants, and the subway.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: The room was literally like a prison cell. Walls were barely isolated so every time some drunk fellow came home you got waken up. When we checked in I asked why we suddenly had to pay 15 dollars more than the price on hostel bookers said, and were told that was for taxes and fees. I've booked through hostelbookers many times and never heard something that stupid when I checked in.

Check Availability