HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

Showing 81-90 of 100 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The bagels, close to the train.

Disliked: The guy at the desk. He was not welcoming. Where do I begin? He was classist and ageist. I would have preferred to stay elsewhere then be treated like crap. Just make a policy of no one over 30 and I would have just skipped this hostel entirely, rather than be treated like crap.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff, atmosphere, clean

Disliked: The heating was always on full blast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Decent rooms (stayed in 6-person room)

Disliked: The beds are SO noisy! And not very comfortable.Also, no elevator (that I was told about, for my walk up 5 flights)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: the staff was very helpful

Disliked: small bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The complimentary breakfast is good for a free one.The wash room is cleaned every day.The pub crawl on Wednesdays was great for meeting new poeple.

Disliked: The beds are horribly uncomortable because they are cheap metal bunk beds with way too thin mattresses.There is no men's room on 2nd floor, you have to go upstairs. It was way too hot in the room because the heater was turned on all the time; we had to open the window AND to turn on the AC.After some days, the free wifi in the common room broke down and there was NO replacement.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the subway station. Cheap price. Nice staff. Other travelers were also nice. Free breakfast.

Disliked: No elevator but good thing my luggage was not to heavy to be carried to 4th floor. Free wifi only in the first floor and the connection was always terrible. The mattress was too soft and made me not comfortable. Even when I moved just a little bit on the bed the mattress made a huge noise. Hair dryer on my floor was not working.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The people

Disliked: Door was busted and didn't close

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Near a subway station.

Disliked: Rooms are too hot, and beds are uncomfortable. No tea/coffee facilities but there is a fridge. You are not able to make food on sight. Most hostels have a quiet time after 10pm, that doesn't happen here. No tv relaxing room. Our room was opposite the bathrooms that had a really loud fan, and people would shower at 3am. No duvet on the beds just a blanket, but it was so hot, and you couldn't turn the heat down. Also no lift. And if your on the 5th floor good luck with the stairs. Overall decor was snappy and unappealing. No free wifi in rooms only in common area (had to pay for wifi in rooms) Would not stay here again. I also had a private room with a friend which was overpriced.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I love how it is close to the metro, I usually stay here to come for the holidays,The deli's in the Upper West Side area are great and there is a a lot of dining choices. They have great events one shopping excursion to Woodbury Common Outlets which is a must for the holidays!! Speedy internet and also laundry was super convenient. Sergio,Jose were super accommodating

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and friendly. We are also glad you enjoyed the convenience of our facility.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location near subway stations, friendly staff, good breakfast...

Disliked: No decent internet.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability