HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 73%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 73%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

Showing 71-80 of 107 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and gave a lot of good tips on the city. Other travelers were nice and willing to socialise with each other.

Disliked: The first night an outside person was able to come into the sleeping area at about 5am which wasn't safe.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. Our common area is a great place for guests to socialize and relax. We have 24 hour surveillance cameras throughout our building and also staff at the front desk 24 hours to assure the safety of all our guests.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th.

Disliked: Not free access to Wi-fi - it would be great to have this service included in the fee. Buying a wifi pass here is expensive considering you can't bank your 24 hours of access and the countdown is continuous after purchasing a pass so it kind of defeats the purpose of having to create an account and password if you can't log out and save your time. This was my biggest beef and I hope in future they can provide this service since as a traveler things can happen where you need to communicate/ manage accounts/ manage travel plans, etc. If there is concern about users abusing free wifi with movies/porn - unneccessary stuff, i'm sure you can set up restrictions so it's only used for necessary purposes.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good vibes and silent rooms

Disliked: So far to the downtown

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: Hot water anyone?It's a typical big city American hostel: functional, but doesn't go out of its way

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, on the northwest side of Central Park is excellent, close to a subwaystation. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The plumbing left something to be desired. You could either get a piping hot or cold shower.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed happy to help. There's 2 social rooms there, one being in the basement, which is pretty cool. It's not badly done out, I think for a hostel it's definitely one of the better ones.

Disliked: The toilets and showers could have been better, and perhaps a bit more to do like music and games, but I wouldn't say these services were bad, it was generally quite a nice place.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Room was hot.Dirty bathrooms.Poor illumination

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Bed was made up, didn't have to do it yourself. Also free towel and don't have to make your bed down when you leave.

Disliked: Pretty unhelpful reception, didn't inform me I had a specific bed in the room so I took a random one which annoyed everyone as it started a game of musical beds with everyone swapping. The bed was literally the worst bed i've ever slept in in my life. It's what I imagine criminals in the most hardened prisons in America bed down in each night. Horrible squeeky bunkbeds that are so loud you hear everyone turning over in the night from anywhere in the upper west side. Broken springs in the bed mean if i'd stayed more than the one night i Imagine i'd have needed a wheelchair to leave. The showers were crappy, no shelves in there, no where to hang your clothes or towel. Stayed in much better in New York, have a look at Royal Park if you're not travelling alone, or New York Loft if you are. Better in every way.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: good breakfast. good price.

Disliked: restroom is terrible small, ramshackle, and is one for all the plant.shower is imposible to regulate water temperature. amazing walking trough the roof and laberintic corridor to get in the room in the last floor. Door was broken.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The bagels, close to the train.

Disliked: The guy at the desk. He was not welcoming. Where do I begin? He was classist and ageist. I would have preferred to stay elsewhere then be treated like crap. Just make a policy of no one over 30 and I would have just skipped this hostel entirely, rather than be treated like crap.

Check Availability