HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York

Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

Showing 71-80 of 162 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and seemed happy to help. There's 2 social rooms there, one being in the basement, which is pretty cool. It's not badly done out, I think for a hostel it's definitely one of the better ones.

Disliked: The toilets and showers could have been better, and perhaps a bit more to do like music and games, but I wouldn't say these services were bad, it was generally quite a nice place.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Room was hot.Dirty bathrooms.Poor illumination

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Bed was made up, didn't have to do it yourself. Also free towel and don't have to make your bed down when you leave.

Disliked: Pretty unhelpful reception, didn't inform me I had a specific bed in the room so I took a random one which annoyed everyone as it started a game of musical beds with everyone swapping. The bed was literally the worst bed i've ever slept in in my life. It's what I imagine criminals in the most hardened prisons in America bed down in each night. Horrible squeeky bunkbeds that are so loud you hear everyone turning over in the night from anywhere in the upper west side. Broken springs in the bed mean if i'd stayed more than the one night i Imagine i'd have needed a wheelchair to leave. The showers were crappy, no shelves in there, no where to hang your clothes or towel. Stayed in much better in New York, have a look at Royal Park if you're not travelling alone, or New York Loft if you are. Better in every way.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: good breakfast. good price.

Disliked: restroom is terrible small, ramshackle, and is one for all the plant.shower is imposible to regulate water temperature. amazing walking trough the roof and laberintic corridor to get in the room in the last floor. Door was broken.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The bagels, close to the train.

Disliked: The guy at the desk. He was not welcoming. Where do I begin? He was classist and ageist. I would have preferred to stay elsewhere then be treated like crap. Just make a policy of no one over 30 and I would have just skipped this hostel entirely, rather than be treated like crap.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff, atmosphere, clean

Disliked: The heating was always on full blast

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Decent rooms (stayed in 6-person room)

Disliked: The beds are SO noisy! And not very comfortable.Also, no elevator (that I was told about, for my walk up 5 flights)

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: the staff was very helpful

Disliked: small bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The complimentary breakfast is good for a free one.The wash room is cleaned every day.The pub crawl on Wednesdays was great for meeting new poeple.

Disliked: The beds are horribly uncomortable because they are cheap metal bunk beds with way too thin mattresses.There is no men's room on 2nd floor, you have to go upstairs. It was way too hot in the room because the heater was turned on all the time; we had to open the window AND to turn on the AC.After some days, the free wifi in the common room broke down and there was NO replacement.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the subway station. Cheap price. Nice staff. Other travelers were also nice. Free breakfast.

Disliked: No elevator but good thing my luggage was not to heavy to be carried to 4th floor. Free wifi only in the first floor and the connection was always terrible. The mattress was too soft and made me not comfortable. Even when I moved just a little bit on the bed the mattress made a huge noise. Hair dryer on my floor was not working.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability