HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 73%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 51%

Location 78%

Safety 73%

Staff 66%

Value 60%

Showing 61-70 of 107 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big roomsBreakfast every morning5 min walk from the 103st subway stationHelpful and nice staff members

Disliked: Barely no wifi in the common roomNo wifi in the roomsNo kitchenVery uncomfortable bedsNo shower in my floor, had to go downstairs

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Loved how close it was to metro and staff was great!

Disliked: Some guy who was friends of the desk staff was totally hitting on my teenaged daughters while I was checking in - he looked 30 and was asking way too much information - did not strike me as a hostel type person.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked being waken up by two very loud, rude drunk guests at 1am who I believe were trying to set the record of the most junk food eaten in one night. Not.

Disliked: No water for most the evening due to a burst pipe. I would NOT stay here again. $8 for two people to leave luggage for a few hours after check out is a joke, especially when they add on so many fees when you check in. Breakfast very average. Tiny communal space for the size of the hostel. One toilet for the whole of the floor we stayed on. No kicthen other than one fridge and a microwave. No elevator and at 10am a hour before check out the staircase was being mopped with no hazard sign.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Decent free Breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenient location close to subway. Great breakfast

Disliked: Small common area

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were GREAT and a really big help when I was trying to find something to do in this big ole city.

Disliked: The ONLY thing I didn't like was not being able to use wifi in the dorm room. I'm not big on crowds so sitting in the common area with all the loud music and loads of people.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: online

Disliked: sheets weren't clean, mattress had big dent in the middle

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location: subway and buses connectivity.

Disliked: The kitchen is only a microwave, you don't have proper plate glasses, forks, knifes and spoons, everything plastic. The breakfast doesn't include any healthy option (just one day we had apples, and they told me was going to be fruits in it)Wifi only in the lobby no wifi in other parts of the buildingThe bathroom is a long way from the roomHad problems with my card twiceThe rooms are half painted, the hall is dirty and almost every dust cover from the wall is unattached or losenIt's expensive for what it is.Today I couldn't take a shower because the three showers were stacked with something and after some minutes we had a filtration from the second floor to right in the middle between lobby and kitchen area.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pleasant enough, friendly staff. The location is not amazing (being quite far from the centre if town) but being right next to Central Park is a redeeming quality.

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere, the decoration and the cleanliness of the place left a bit to be desired - especially the bathroom- but the dorms were ok.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is located next to Central parks

Disliked: Bed. Beds are bunk bed. We have to care of sleeping people on the lower bed


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the attractions near us. We apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less beds. Our rooms state that it is all shared with other travelers.

Check Availability