HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York

Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

Showing 61-70 of 160 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were GREAT and a really big help when I was trying to find something to do in this big ole city.

Disliked: The ONLY thing I didn't like was not being able to use wifi in the dorm room. I'm not big on crowds so sitting in the common area with all the loud music and loads of people.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: online

Disliked: sheets weren't clean, mattress had big dent in the middle

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location: subway and buses connectivity.

Disliked: The kitchen is only a microwave, you don't have proper plate glasses, forks, knifes and spoons, everything plastic. The breakfast doesn't include any healthy option (just one day we had apples, and they told me was going to be fruits in it)Wifi only in the lobby no wifi in other parts of the buildingThe bathroom is a long way from the roomHad problems with my card twiceThe rooms are half painted, the hall is dirty and almost every dust cover from the wall is unattached or losenIt's expensive for what it is.Today I couldn't take a shower because the three showers were stacked with something and after some minutes we had a filtration from the second floor to right in the middle between lobby and kitchen area.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pleasant enough, friendly staff. The location is not amazing (being quite far from the centre if town) but being right next to Central Park is a redeeming quality.

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere, the decoration and the cleanliness of the place left a bit to be desired - especially the bathroom- but the dorms were ok.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is located next to Central parks

Disliked: Bed. Beds are bunk bed. We have to care of sleeping people on the lower bed


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the attractions near us. We apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less beds. Our rooms state that it is all shared with other travelers.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and gave a lot of good tips on the city. Other travelers were nice and willing to socialise with each other.

Disliked: The first night an outside person was able to come into the sleeping area at about 5am which wasn't safe.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. Our common area is a great place for guests to socialize and relax. We have 24 hour surveillance cameras throughout our building and also staff at the front desk 24 hours to assure the safety of all our guests.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Conveniently located a couple of blocks away from Subway and Central Park. The neighborhood is close to ammenities and a delicious bakery off of Broadway and 105th.

Disliked: Not free access to Wi-fi - it would be great to have this service included in the fee. Buying a wifi pass here is expensive considering you can't bank your 24 hours of access and the countdown is continuous after purchasing a pass so it kind of defeats the purpose of having to create an account and password if you can't log out and save your time. This was my biggest beef and I hope in future they can provide this service since as a traveler things can happen where you need to communicate/ manage accounts/ manage travel plans, etc. If there is concern about users abusing free wifi with movies/porn - unneccessary stuff, i'm sure you can set up restrictions so it's only used for necessary purposes.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good vibes and silent rooms

Disliked: So far to the downtown

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: Hot water anyone?It's a typical big city American hostel: functional, but doesn't go out of its way

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location, on the northwest side of Central Park is excellent, close to a subwaystation. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The plumbing left something to be desired. You could either get a piping hot or cold shower.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability