HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

Showing 51-60 of 100 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, good for its value

Disliked: modest

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


21 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, and pretty cheap (in NYC)

Disliked: If you stay in the 5h floor you have a long walk ...Pretty poor wifi most of the time / no wifi in the roomsdirty showers and bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free wifi in our lobby and common area only. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure cleanliness of the facility for all guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and accommodation.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I'd stayed there 7 years ago but it was cleaner and safer.

Disliked: Shower didn't have anywhere to get changed or put clothes. Bed was shakey.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience. Our hostel is constructing every day a new and more modern look for our guests accommodation. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility. Each shower stall has a hook for guests to hang towels and clothing. We apologize you did not enjoy the comfort of our newly installed beds and mattresses. We have 24 hour surveillance camera throughout our building and staff at the front desk at all times.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was just as described & the area was nice as well. We had to chance to have breakfast in Central Park every morning which was the best.

Disliked: Our bed was pretty noisy so every time one of us turned around the other one would hear it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hostel. We apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Poor WiFi, no breakfast in hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria. Unfortunately we do not advertise any breakfast however, there are convenience stores just a few steps away that sell great american breakfast for a fair price. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our hostel location.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great.

Disliked: The noises from other guests slamming their doors, the air conditioning in the bathroom and other guests talking in hallways kept me awake. No elevator, wifi was unpredictable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safety and accommodation of our facility. We are glad that our staff was welcoming and a great help. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our hostel. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria, that may be a bit slow due to high volume usage at times.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to Central Park and Metro. Bedrooms with just 2 beds.

Disliked: NO elevator or escalator! You have to carry your luggage 5 or 6 floors up! The bathrooms are digusting, old, no money seems to be invested here. Wi-Fi only works in the lobby, not in the dorms. Just one tiny toilet for dozens of people on the 5th floor! The mattress was as thin as a pillow. The lockers were damaged. Poor breakfast. On one day there was no breakfast at all because of an upcoming local inspection. No refund or anything for that.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our hostel. Our staff would gladly offer a hand and assist with luggage. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria. We have toilets on each floor at each end of the hallway. We apologize you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. Customer service is a priority to our staff and we assure all guests are helped with any questions or concerns.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice atmosphere in the lounge

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: All the staff were very helpful and polite. They gave us free pizza on Monday :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability