HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 83%

Safety 80%

Staff 74%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 83%

Safety 80%

Staff 74%

Value 65%

Showing 51-60 of 123 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Safe, handy to the subway, 2 person rooms, air conditioning, laundry room, staff were great.

Disliked: The noises from other guests slamming their doors, the air conditioning in the bathroom and other guests talking in hallways kept me awake. No elevator, wifi was unpredictable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safety and accommodation of our facility. We are glad that our staff was welcoming and a great help. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our hostel. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria, that may be a bit slow due to high volume usage at times.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to Central Park and Metro. Bedrooms with just 2 beds.

Disliked: NO elevator or escalator! You have to carry your luggage 5 or 6 floors up! The bathrooms are digusting, old, no money seems to be invested here. Wi-Fi only works in the lobby, not in the dorms. Just one tiny toilet for dozens of people on the 5th floor! The mattress was as thin as a pillow. The lockers were damaged. Poor breakfast. On one day there was no breakfast at all because of an upcoming local inspection. No refund or anything for that.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our hostel. Our staff would gladly offer a hand and assist with luggage. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria. We have toilets on each floor at each end of the hallway. We apologize you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. Customer service is a priority to our staff and we assure all guests are helped with any questions or concerns.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice atmosphere in the lounge

Disliked: Horrible bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: All the staff were very helpful and polite. They gave us free pizza on Monday :)

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Not a good crowd

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big roomsBreakfast every morning5 min walk from the 103st subway stationHelpful and nice staff members

Disliked: Barely no wifi in the common roomNo wifi in the roomsNo kitchenVery uncomfortable bedsNo shower in my floor, had to go downstairs

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Loved how close it was to metro and staff was great!

Disliked: Some guy who was friends of the desk staff was totally hitting on my teenaged daughters while I was checking in - he looked 30 and was asking way too much information - did not strike me as a hostel type person.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked being waken up by two very loud, rude drunk guests at 1am who I believe were trying to set the record of the most junk food eaten in one night. Not.

Disliked: No water for most the evening due to a burst pipe. I would NOT stay here again. $8 for two people to leave luggage for a few hours after check out is a joke, especially when they add on so many fees when you check in. Breakfast very average. Tiny communal space for the size of the hostel. One toilet for the whole of the floor we stayed on. No kicthen other than one fridge and a microwave. No elevator and at 10am a hour before check out the staircase was being mopped with no hazard sign.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean. Friendly staff. Decent free Breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability