HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 56%

Location 82%

Safety 76%

Staff 70%

Value 64%

Showing 41-50 of 100 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: rooms and beds were okay

Disliked: Stayed in two rooms: One overheated, second ok, but blanket was too thin -I was freezing!Not enough bathroomshang out area not nice


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold temperature outside. Extra blankets may be requested at our front desk. We have toilets located on each floor and each of the hallway available for guests to use.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location and very convenient for exploring this part of New York!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our hostel and the attractions around us.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location right near Central Park is good, and relatively close to a subway station.

Disliked: Wifi is very slow and only in common area. Toilets and showers for males located on a different floor from my room - why?!


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our hostel location and attractions near by. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria area. The signal may be a bit slow at times because of the high volume usage. We have toilets and showers for females and males located at each end of the hallway on each floor.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was the first hostel I stayed at on my travelling experience, and it was my first travelling experience, which meant I was really nervous to travel by myself and stay somewhere I didn't know anybody. The whole atmosphere of this hostel was great, particularly in the common area. There was always music playing at night to get people into a party mood. The staff at this hostel were all very friendly and accomodating. Encouraging me to come out to have a few drinks with people to make some friends. I felt it was all a great experience for me to stay in this hostel. The hostel was cleaned every day by the cleaners, so it was pretty decent to stay in. You can see Central Park from out the front of the hostel, as it is half a block away uptown. Even though this hostel is uptown, it isn't much to get downtown. You only have to walk about 2 blocks to get to the closest subway station and catch the subway. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying in hostels! The price is pretty good to stay somewhere in New York, that is close to places to get food and Central Park. So I would definitely say you get what you paid for. They also have a comedy show on Thursday and Sunday nights, which is really fun to go to! Great first experience in a hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you kindly for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hostel and that our staff was friendly and welcoming. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel and the nightly events. Our common area is a great place for guests to socialize and relax.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions.

Disliked: They don't have plates, forks and knifes available.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and warmth of our common area. The common area is where guests socialize and relax after a day of tourist attractions. We have plastic plates and kitchen utensils available in our common area.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good value for new York. Average / slightly below average when compared internationally though.

Disliked: Staff could be a bit friendlier / more welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our staff assures all guests are enjoying the comfort of our hostel and being helped with any questions or concerns.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Did not like at all

Disliked: My boyfriend came down with a vomiting bug while staying and the staff were not helpful- they had no extra towels and just said it was our fault for getting sick. Spent one miserable night before leaving for a hotel despite having paid for a second night. No refund was given. Hostel nightmare would never stay here again. In addition the room was dirty with people's toenails on the floor and hairs on the sheets.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free towel service as a first come first serve. Our staff assures all guests are being helped with any questions or concern and would gladly contact any medical assistant if needed. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities are cleaned.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great value for the price

Disliked: Could have more facilities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel. All facilities are listed on our website. We have different nightly activities at our hostel to assure all guests are entertained and enjoying their stay.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location right at the central park, very friendly staff, hair dryer in bathroom

Disliked: Running tabs in shower ans bathroom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and a great help. We also have extra hair dryers that may be requested at our front desk. The tabs in the showers and bathrooms are created so water will not be running and wasted when it is not being used.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's location made it the best choice for a Central Park fan traveler.Besides, the lavatory and bathroom are clean and well maintained.

Disliked: They didn't provide water heater or drinkable hot water.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our hostel. Tap water is drinkable in our facility, we have a microwave that guests may use to heat up water and food. We also have a water kettle in our kitchen that guests may use for hot water.

Check Availability