HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 70%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 70%

Value 63%

Showing 41-50 of 115 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was nice. They have a good living room which help guest interactions.

Disliked: They don't have plates, forks and knifes available.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and warmth of our common area. The common area is where guests socialize and relax after a day of tourist attractions. We have plastic plates and kitchen utensils available in our common area.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good value for new York. Average / slightly below average when compared internationally though.

Disliked: Staff could be a bit friendlier / more welcoming.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Our staff assures all guests are enjoying the comfort of our hostel and being helped with any questions or concerns.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Did not like at all

Disliked: My boyfriend came down with a vomiting bug while staying and the staff were not helpful- they had no extra towels and just said it was our fault for getting sick. Spent one miserable night before leaving for a hotel despite having paid for a second night. No refund was given. Hostel nightmare would never stay here again. In addition the room was dirty with people's toenails on the floor and hairs on the sheets.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free towel service as a first come first serve. Our staff assures all guests are being helped with any questions or concern and would gladly contact any medical assistant if needed. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities are cleaned.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great value for the price

Disliked: Could have more facilities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel. All facilities are listed on our website. We have different nightly activities at our hostel to assure all guests are entertained and enjoying their stay.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location right at the central park, very friendly staff, hair dryer in bathroom

Disliked: Running tabs in shower ans bathroom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and a great help. We also have extra hair dryers that may be requested at our front desk. The tabs in the showers and bathrooms are created so water will not be running and wasted when it is not being used.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's location made it the best choice for a Central Park fan traveler.Besides, the lavatory and bathroom are clean and well maintained.

Disliked: They didn't provide water heater or drinkable hot water.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of our hostel. Tap water is drinkable in our facility, we have a microwave that guests may use to heat up water and food. We also have a water kettle in our kitchen that guests may use for hot water.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good atmosphere, good for its value

Disliked: modest

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


21 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, and pretty cheap (in NYC)

Disliked: If you stay in the 5h floor you have a long walk ...Pretty poor wifi most of the time / no wifi in the roomsdirty showers and bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We offer free wifi in our lobby and common area only. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure cleanliness of the facility for all guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and accommodation.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I'd stayed there 7 years ago but it was cleaner and safer.

Disliked: Shower didn't have anywhere to get changed or put clothes. Bed was shakey.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience. Our hostel is constructing every day a new and more modern look for our guests accommodation. Our cleaning staff comes in daily to assure the cleanliness of our facility. Each shower stall has a hook for guests to hang towels and clothing. We apologize you did not enjoy the comfort of our newly installed beds and mattresses. We have 24 hour surveillance camera throughout our building and staff at the front desk at all times.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was just as described & the area was nice as well. We had to chance to have breakfast in Central Park every morning which was the best.

Disliked: Our bed was pretty noisy so every time one of us turned around the other one would hear it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hostel. We apologize that you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses.

Check Availability