HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 70%

Value 63%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 57%

Location 81%

Safety 77%

Staff 70%

Value 63%

Showing 31-40 of 115 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and easy to reach, which made me feel safe during my stay. I was able to leave my big suitcase in a safe in downstairs, which was very nice since there was no elevator. The atmosphere all in all was pleasant and I felt welcome. The hostel was very easy to find and the location right next to Central Park was great.

Disliked: The room was dirty and the bed sheets hadn't been changed. Also the room was roasting hot when I got there but with a window open it was bearable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy the comfort and convenience of our hostel. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold weather outside. Cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities and guest rooms are cleaned. Extra bed sheets may be requested with our front desk.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I like the rooms. They are pretty clean. They actually upgraded me to a 2 dorm from 6 to accomadate needs and I had no problem with that. Less people the better.

Disliked: Probably th only thing I didn't like was the hike to the station in the cold .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had a comforting stay at our hostel.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Some very strange house rules (no eating and drinking in rooms etc) - I have never come across rules like this anywhere in the worldNearest toilets were located 2 floors down from my room

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have toilets and showers located on each floor and each end of the hallway. Unfortunately our policies are no food and drinks allowed in the rooms, if found will be disposed by housekeeping. However, we do have a refrigerator available for guests to store their food and drinks.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great location, easily accessible by subway, safe to walk alone at night.Clean shared bathroom, decent bedroom size and furnishings.

Disliked: Heating is not adjustable! It was almost impossible to breathe, even with the window open in the middle of winter.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hostel. We have central heating in our hostel that adjusts to the cold temperature outside.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was pretty good. And the room was clean and warm.

Disliked: I can use wifi only on main floor. Even sometimes not working. Everyone came down for wifi. There has No breakfast, No kitchen, No elevator. How can I carry my luggage to 5th floor? Doesn't make sense. And the bathroom where on 5th floor, was out of service for 7days. I never seen like this hostel.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the warmth and cleanliness of our hostel. Unfortunately we do no advertise an elevator, meal plans or a full kitchen facility in our hostel. However, we do have a microwave and refrigerator available for guests to use and convenient stores just a few steps away. Our staff would gladly assist with luggage if needed.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: being able to do laundryspacious rooms with less beds than other hostels per roomwarm rooms, enough bathrooms so you don't have to wait in a line like other hostels!the social atmosphere, I got to go to a NY club and dance with a group taking lots of pictures! It was like joining a school club and then getting to participate in the group activities! This was my second stay and I came back because of Jose and Marie!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you had an amazing time at our hostel. Our staff assures all guests are enjoying their stay and being helped with any questions or concerns. We are glad your were able to enjoy the comfort and warmth of our beds and rooms. Our hostel has nightly events for guests to enjoy and experience during their stay.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: rooms and beds were okay

Disliked: Stayed in two rooms: One overheated, second ok, but blanket was too thin -I was freezing!Not enough bathroomshang out area not nice


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold temperature outside. Extra blankets may be requested at our front desk. We have toilets located on each floor and each of the hallway available for guests to use.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location and very convenient for exploring this part of New York!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our hostel and the attractions around us.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location right near Central Park is good, and relatively close to a subway station.

Disliked: Wifi is very slow and only in common area. Toilets and showers for males located on a different floor from my room - why?!


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were able to enjoy the convenience of our hostel location and attractions near by. We offer free wifi in our lobby and cafeteria area. The signal may be a bit slow at times because of the high volume usage. We have toilets and showers for females and males located at each end of the hallway on each floor.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was the first hostel I stayed at on my travelling experience, and it was my first travelling experience, which meant I was really nervous to travel by myself and stay somewhere I didn't know anybody. The whole atmosphere of this hostel was great, particularly in the common area. There was always music playing at night to get people into a party mood. The staff at this hostel were all very friendly and accomodating. Encouraging me to come out to have a few drinks with people to make some friends. I felt it was all a great experience for me to stay in this hostel. The hostel was cleaned every day by the cleaners, so it was pretty decent to stay in. You can see Central Park from out the front of the hostel, as it is half a block away uptown. Even though this hostel is uptown, it isn't much to get downtown. You only have to walk about 2 blocks to get to the closest subway station and catch the subway. I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind staying in hostels! The price is pretty good to stay somewhere in New York, that is close to places to get food and Central Park. So I would definitely say you get what you paid for. They also have a comedy show on Thursday and Sunday nights, which is really fun to go to! Great first experience in a hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you kindly for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hostel and that our staff was friendly and welcoming. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our hostel and the nightly events. Our common area is a great place for guests to socialize and relax.

Check Availability