HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York

Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

Showing 21-30 of 161 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The impersonator of Micheal Jackson was really good he is doing animation there and keeping the atmosphere good otherwise would be a funeral. He is doing beer pong pub crawls clubs tour and shows of MJ and PRINCE

Disliked: NO kitchen NO breakfastRidiculous for a hostel of 32$/night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We do not advertise a kitchen at our facility; however, a fridge, microwave, and a hot water dispenser is available to our guests at all times. We are very pleased to hear that you took part of our nightly events which are held for FREE in our common room area.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly service, washing and drying machine in the House, corner Store and Subway near

Disliked: Showers not too clean,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. Our cleaning staff arrives daily to ensure that ALL facilities at our hostel are clean and available to our guests. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and services at our hostel. We strive to make our guest traveling experience a memorable one.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location right next to central park is great and you also get to the subway to the city really quick.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review. We really appreciate it.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convient location, subway accessible

Disliked: Outside of room bathroom door was slamming and squeaky each time someone went in, was a bit load at night while trying sleep

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The confirmation showed that I will have to pay 53$ but when I arrived in the hostel I had to pay 62$. The reception staff said that it was a price including tax. iAdvertisement seems to be cheaper than other hostels but It is not true if including tax. Be careful!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is quite good (3 min from the subway and 50 meters from Central Park).For a low value I slept in a room with just another guy.Some of the staff is great and some of the staff is not so helpful, but overall it was a great place to spend a few nights.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location. that's it.

Disliked: Rooms very far away from the entrance and up five floors by stairs (no elevator).The mattress was thin as a napkin, and there are not enough shared toilets for the amount of people per floor. I had to go down to the third floor toilet (the fourth doesn't have one!) for 4 days because the one on the 5th was broken.Can't leave any food or drinks in the fridge.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we do not advertise an elevator in our building. We apologize you did not enjoy the comfort of our new spring-less mattresses. Toilets and showers are located at each end of the hallway on each floor. Guests may use our common area to eat/drink, we also have a microwave and hot water kettle available. We are pleased to hear you enjoy the convenience of our hostel.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is very well located right at the border of central park in a quiet area that felt quite save. (which was important to me, because I'm a solo-traveling woman)

Disliked: The hostel was really really basic. The rooms, were cold (march) and really run down. There were cockroaches in the bathroom and the whole hostel was lacking any charm at all.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We have central heating that adjusts to the cold weather outside. Extra blankets may be requested at our front desk. Cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all guest rooms and facilities are cleaned. Our hostel is renovating and improving every day for a modern style. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience and atmosphere of our hostel.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and easy to reach, which made me feel safe during my stay. I was able to leave my big suitcase in a safe in downstairs, which was very nice since there was no elevator. The atmosphere all in all was pleasant and I felt welcome. The hostel was very easy to find and the location right next to Central Park was great.

Disliked: The room was dirty and the bed sheets hadn't been changed. Also the room was roasting hot when I got there but with a window open it was bearable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that our staff was a great help and welcoming. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy the comfort and convenience of our hostel. Our hostel has central heating that adjusts to the cold weather outside. Cleaning staff comes in daily to assure all facilities and guest rooms are cleaned. Extra bed sheets may be requested with our front desk.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I like the rooms. They are pretty clean. They actually upgraded me to a 2 dorm from 6 to accomadate needs and I had no problem with that. Less people the better.

Disliked: Probably th only thing I didn't like was the hike to the station in the cold .

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had a comforting stay at our hostel.

Check Availability