HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

Showing 21-30 of 102 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Excellent location. Right next to Central Park. Friendly staff. Fun staff led beer pong and pub crawl.

Disliked: Man, this spot could use an elevator.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to subway station and easy to find and get around the city. Staff are helpful

Disliked: Not much events put on for single travellers

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. We apologize you were not able to enjoy or take part of our nightly events held in our common room area every night. However, we are glad you enjoyed the comfort and conveniences of our hostel.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to Central Park and local metro station, also a short walk to a supermarket

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Atmosphere and security

Disliked: Bathrooms aren't that nice

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We apologize you were not able to enjoy our new and improved bathroom facilities. However, we are very pleased to hear that you felt safe and enjoyed the comfort and conveniences of our hostel. Thank you for taking the time out to review your experience with us!!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location good

Disliked: One member of staff was not particularly welcoming or helpful on arrival. However other members of staff were all friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered through out your stay with us. Our front desk team always strives to provide outstanding customer service to ensure our guest satisfaction.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The impersonator of Micheal Jackson was really good he is doing animation there and keeping the atmosphere good otherwise would be a funeral. He is doing beer pong pub crawls clubs tour and shows of MJ and PRINCE

Disliked: NO kitchen NO breakfastRidiculous for a hostel of 32$/night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review. We do not advertise a kitchen at our facility; however, a fridge, microwave, and a hot water dispenser is available to our guests at all times. We are very pleased to hear that you took part of our nightly events which are held for FREE in our common room area.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly service, washing and drying machine in the House, corner Store and Subway near

Disliked: Showers not too clean,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. Our cleaning staff arrives daily to ensure that ALL facilities at our hostel are clean and available to our guests. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and services at our hostel. We strive to make our guest traveling experience a memorable one.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location right next to central park is great and you also get to the subway to the city really quick.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to write us a review. We really appreciate it.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convient location, subway accessible

Disliked: Outside of room bathroom door was slamming and squeaky each time someone went in, was a bit load at night while trying sleep

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The confirmation showed that I will have to pay 53$ but when I arrived in the hostel I had to pay 62$. The reception staff said that it was a price including tax. iAdvertisement seems to be cheaper than other hostels but It is not true if including tax. Be careful!

Check Availability