HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York

Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 58%

Location 85%

Safety 79%

Staff 72%

Value 64%

Showing 251-164 of 164 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy to get to the metro. Near Central Park made it quiet at night for sleeping. Clean. Smelled o.k.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation. Other comparable hostels in nYC are cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the property as it is closed to the subway, Central Park and to restaurants and dairy shops. The room I was assigned to was clean, spacious and pleasant to sleep to be replaced as not working.

Disliked: I was biten on my right face by an insect which I do not know what it was. It became swollen for a no. of days. Mosquitoes would bite me during the night. There was a toilet in Level 1 for Men in which Women can use it. That toilet needs replacement.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it's safe and very clean. The staff is also super nice!

Disliked: the location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs and near by mta lines! Easy access to places in nyc!

Disliked: No wifi access in rooms, no hot water for drinking; making tea or coffee 24/7, limited microwave oven use; have to ask friendly staffs to help me reheat my food

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful and laid back. The location was great and I couldn't complain about the price since most hotels were charging $200 / night.

Disliked: The building could use some maintenance, but given the price I could understand.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are very friendly here - quick to suggest a good place for dinner, or to set you up with a password to access their wifi. The location was also quite good. It's relatively far from Times Square, Wall Street and other popular tourist destinations, but it's a stone's throw from Central Park, and going for a jog there was one of the highlights of my entire trip to New York.

Disliked: This hostel is not particularly clean. Neither of the stalls in the washroom across from my room was in order during my stay, and one looked like there had been an explosion of excrement. This wasn't really a problem, considering there was another washroom on the next floor, but none of the showers were very clean. The hostel boasts a continental breakfast, but it's quite disappointing. They don't have a toaster, so you're served slices of bread that you spread with what I think were jelly and butter. However, most of these inconveniences were frustrating because we had paid so much to stay here. My friend and I paid $140 between the two of us for two beds. The next night we paid $129 (before taxes) for a one-star hotel with superior accommodations and a more central location. If we had been able to get beds for $25 or so (they must book up very quickly), I wouldn't have cared about any of the other things.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Breakfast was provided and quite decent, considering that it was free. It's in a good location right next to central park. Good subway service too.

Disliked: Being on the fourth floor with no lift, but a lovely guy from reception did carry my suitcase up for me!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location of this hostel is very good, you can reach any sight very easily by subway. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendly stuff.

Disliked: The bedraggled accomodation.The dirty bathroom.The old broken beds.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was convenient.

Disliked: The day I arrived the staff told me my reservation was double booked and I would have to either move to a mixed sex room or move to another hostel! The bedsheets were stained and even though I asked for them to be changed, they were never changed. Moreover, there was no elevator and I had to lift my heavy luggage up to the second floor. Finally, the toilets on my floor were out of service and I had to go two floors up every time I wanted to use the toilet. Overall, my stay was a bit disappointing.

Check Availability