HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Jazz on the Park Youth Hotel New York Hostel

36 West 106th Street @ Central Park West, New York City, New York, USA

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 5.00USD

Important Information

Note: Though we make every attempt to do so, we cannot guarantee that everyone in your party will be able to stay in the same room. Room allocations are made based on availability and on a first-come first-served basis. Note: Total Cost DOES NOT include taxes or fees. In New York, hotel and state tax is 14.75% plus a $3.50 per night tax will be charged for each bed booked. These amounts will be added to your total bill and will be charged upon check in. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents. WIFI available for a fee

You must be between 18 and 40 years of age to check in, if under, you must be accompanied by an adult and have a consent stating your guardians are aware of where you are staying.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 54%

Location 78%

Safety 74%

Staff 69%

Value 62%

Showing 251-102 of 102 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Rooms wern't overcrowded, great common areas, free wifi although it doesn't work in the rooms (unless you're lucky enough to get a room on the ground floor.) The entertainment guy Dane was awesome, I really enjoyed the pub crawl and he was really helpful, as were the other staff. Free towels, free breakfast, lockers.

Disliked: Rooms were incredibly overheated and the beds are horrendous. Although the hostel is super close to the subway, Central Park West is not a very exciting neighborhood. The whole bathroom situation needs to be rectified-having to go up a flight of stairs for a female toilet/shower is not cool and the showers are abysmal.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Less than 5min walk to the subway sta. Close to the central park, walkable to Metropolitan Museum.They have storage for baggages before checking in.The included breakfast was nice, though I thought they can reduce the amount of disposal dishes.The wi-fi worked very well.

Disliked: The subway station is not so close to the airport. It's relatively cheap as an accomodation in NY, but still bit expesinve.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: free breakfast, wide rooms

Disliked: there is no elevator and you have to carry your bags up to (even) 5th floor! and if you want to check-out and leave your luggage for few hours the same day at the reception desk - they want charge you for this (in other hostels it's for free). wireless internet is not available on higher floors.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff is extra nice ! They been so helpful and friendly, specially Ramon and Alana .

Disliked: There is no place to set things in the bathroom! Slamming doors often, the bathrooms areVery far away for some genders .

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Affordable accommodation in New York. Friendly & helpful staff. Discount with ISIC card. Although all the way up on West 106th, it's only 3 blocks from the Subway and there's loads to explore nearby anyway. Luggage room to store your bags if you arrive before check-in. though breakfast isn't anything fancy, it's sufficient to get you going for the day. I was also quite lucky and was staying in a large 4 bed dorm, so plenty of space. Although not best hostel I have stayed in, as far as I can tell it's pretty good for New York!

Disliked: Lack of privacy in the shower room. No lift, so prepare yourself for a workout when getting to your room - though I told myself it was good exercise! No kitchen for guests; instead a cafe area, which I never saw anyone buying anything from!The polystyrene plates & cups, plus plastic cutlery at breakfast was annoying - all of it was just trash, very unenvironmentally friendly. Despite all this, I would stay again if I needed budget accommodation in NY!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Easy to get to the metro. Near Central Park made it quiet at night for sleeping. Clean. Smelled o.k.

Disliked: Very basic accommodation. Other comparable hostels in nYC are cheaper.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the property as it is closed to the subway, Central Park and to restaurants and dairy shops. The room I was assigned to was clean, spacious and pleasant to sleep to be replaced as not working.

Disliked: I was biten on my right face by an insect which I do not know what it was. It became swollen for a no. of days. Mosquitoes would bite me during the night. There was a toilet in Level 1 for Men in which Women can use it. That toilet needs replacement.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it's safe and very clean. The staff is also super nice!

Disliked: the location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staffs and near by mta lines! Easy access to places in nyc!

Disliked: No wifi access in rooms, no hot water for drinking; making tea or coffee 24/7, limited microwave oven use; have to ask friendly staffs to help me reheat my food

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very helpful and laid back. The location was great and I couldn't complain about the price since most hotels were charging $200 / night.

Disliked: The building could use some maintenance, but given the price I could understand.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability