We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

93.9%
128 reviews Book Now 
1

Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel
JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, USA NJ 07304

123 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 98%
Julia Toft
As a family with children
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Julia would recommend this property 16 January 2015

Kris runs a very friendly and helpful guesthouse. She keeps the rooms and kitchen scrupulously clean and the whole guest house was kept very warm (January). Kris is extremely friendly and quickly responded to emails, gave advice about planning day trips, helped with airport info and even ran us a couple of places in her car. We both slept very well as the beds were comfortable and it is a very peaceful place to stay. This is a wonderful place to stay and if you are reading the reviews, go ahead and book it now!

ludovic viel
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
ludovic would recommend this property 25 September 2014

Super sympas la maîtresse de maison, toujours à disposition pour rendre service.

93.3%
216 reviews Book Now 
2

Times Square House

Guesthouse
526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, USA 10018

210 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Times Square House

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 84% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Vancho Kocevski
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Vancho would recommend this property 28 April 2014

Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean.

Warwick Devery
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Warwick would recommend this property 09 April 2014

Amazing location, Jesse the host was incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean.

92.3%
50 reviews Book Now 
3

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

92.2%
49 reviews Book Now 
4

The Local NYC

Hostel
1302 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

47 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 93% Safety - 96%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Toshio Imada
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Toshio would recommend this property 30 October 2014

I wsa very satisfied to stay in this hostel.The room is very clean, and equitment in the room is enough for staying at nighe.

Customer review
Alone
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 14 October 2014

Excellent location near to subway station. Loved the bar and the all round friendly atmosphere. Best hostel I've ever stayed in

91.8%
1488 reviews Book Now 
5

HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1344 out of 1488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI New York City NYC Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 21 September 2014

It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!

Tom Doyle
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Tom would recommend this property 17 September 2014

Good location, safe area, clean rooms, complimentary towels and shower gel, lots of events going on.

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
6

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

89.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
7

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 March 2013

The owner was so helpfull, the place was so clean, really good for people who hasn't got the money to stay in an expensive hotel:)

88.7%
324 reviews Book Now 
8

Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, USA NY 11236

286 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 90%
rhalya ejaz
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
rhalya would recommend this property 28 November 2014

Extremely cozy and very clean. Well organized and very serious about every in-house rules. The hosts are friendly too

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
31.4%
20 November 2014

What can I say? Start with the booking, after you reserve it, you will receive another invoice with another price 20% more expensive. When you arrive: You need to walk a lot to arrive at the place, 20 minutes by foot till the metro station, or 20 min by bus to get the other metro. 1st place at my life were you need to do your bed, I tough I paid for it?! Place was empty and you can not sit on couch and check your phone, because it is the rule, couch is just to watch TV. 2nd day I saw a rat on the living room and the kitchen was really dirty. Last day you will be woke up at 09:30, even if the check out is at 11:00. Never saw it on my life nether. Staff terrible, unfriendly, amateur.

88.5%
161 reviews Book Now 
9

NY Moore Hostel

Hostel
179 Moore Street, New York City, USA 11206

157 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend NY Moore Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 98% Facilities - 80% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Melanie Koch
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Melanie would recommend this property 30 December 2014

For a hostel, the room and the bathroom were clean enough. It's good that it offers you 3-dorm-bedrooms, so it has a more private character. The staff welcomes you friendly and open-minded, so you feel very comfortable and they help and explain you a lot about the subway, the neighborhood and the stuff you need. There are a lot of young people, so I can recommend this hostel for young groups snd sightseeing trips. The subway is easy to reach, only 10 minutes to walk and you can easly get to the busy and cultural parts of the city.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 October 2014

I was impressed by everything at the Moore Hostel. The staff are helpful and provessional. They went above and beyond to ensure the room was clean and the bed had new linens. The location is great -interesting art galleries and restaurants in the area, and convenient to metro. The common room and kitchen are great - easy to meet people. Entire buildnig is clean. Felt very safe - very professional staff at the front desk at all times.

86.7%
147 reviews Book Now 
10

The Sohotel

2.5 star Hotel
341 Broome Street, New York City, USA NY 10013

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Sohotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 83% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 August 2013

This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was centralized to where we needed to be, so it was easy for us to walk or use the subway. The staff was great and very helpful.

Kate O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Kate would recommend this property 07 July 2013

Knowledgable staff - we were offered information about a wide variety of things to do. Room was clean and larger than we had expected - perfect for the 4 of us and our weekend luggage. Rooms are airconditoned which was a big plus given the weather (95ish both days).

New York City

64 Hostels from 10.99 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter