We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

93.3%
216 reviews Book Now 
1

Times Square House

Guesthouse
526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, USA 10018

210 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Times Square House

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 84% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Vancho Kocevski
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Vancho would recommend this property 28 April 2014

Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean.

Warwick Devery
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Warwick would recommend this property 09 April 2014

Amazing location, Jesse the host was incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean.

92.3%
50 reviews Book Now 
2

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

91.0%
1491 reviews Book Now 
3

HI New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1347 out of 1491 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI New York City NYC Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 90% Facilities - 92% Safety - 94%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Jason Ronald
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
71.4%
Jason would recommend this property 06 February 2015

It's so easy to get places. The onsite shop is decent. They organize good outings.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 21 September 2014

It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
4

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

90.3%
55 reviews Book Now 
5

The Local NYC

Hostel
13-02 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

53 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 92% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Willem Wigman
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Willem would recommend this property 02 February 2015

The place is very clean, well located and the staff is very helpful & polite.

Mimi Connolly
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Mimi would recommend this property 02 February 2015

Lovely staff, fantastic facilities. Nice little arty events nights. Very clean - please keep up the good work! I will Be back with more guests.

90.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
6

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 85%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Andrej Grahek
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Andrej would recommend this property 20 February 2015

I liked the quietness and peace of the place. Also it was quite close to the subway.

Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

89.6%
326 reviews Book Now 
7

Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, USA NY 11236

288 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 91%
rhalya ejaz
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
rhalya would recommend this property 28 November 2014

Extremely cozy and very clean. Well organized and very serious about every in-house rules. The hosts are friendly too

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
31.4%
20 November 2014

What can I say? Start with the booking, after you reserve it, you will receive another invoice with another price 20% more expensive. When you arrive: You need to walk a lot to arrive at the place, 20 minutes by foot till the metro station, or 20 min by bus to get the other metro. 1st place at my life were you need to do your bed, I tough I paid for it?! Place was empty and you can not sit on couch and check your phone, because it is the rule, couch is just to watch TV. 2nd day I saw a rat on the living room and the kitchen was really dirty. Last day you will be woke up at 09:30, even if the check out is at 11:00. Never saw it on my life nether. Staff terrible, unfriendly, amateur.

89.6%
165 reviews Book Now 
8

NY Moore Hostel

Hostel
179 Moore Street, New York City, USA 11206

161 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend NY Moore Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 83% Safety - 89%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Zoe Gelfant
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Zoe would recommend this property 26 February 2015

I had such a nice stay here. I was in a mixed 3 bed dorm, I'm a girl and there were two guys as my roommates. The room was really spacious, lots of natural light, the bathroom was big and clean, and there was lots of space to unpack my clothes and hang them up. Not the usual cramped, dingy hostel experience! And for an amazing price in such a great location. Right around the corner from the Morgan stop, and food and vintage and pretty much anything to get the Bushwick experience.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 February 2015

Excellent place to stay! The rooms are large, pleasant, comfortable, and don't have far too many beds crammed in like many hostels attempt to do. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The WiFi works and is available throughout the building. Free tea and coffee. And the rooms were kept nice and warm (thankfully, as it was -16C when I arrived!)

86.7%
147 reviews Book Now 
9

The Sohotel

2.5 star Hotel
341 Broome Street, New York City, USA NY 10013

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Sohotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 83% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 August 2013

This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was centralized to where we needed to be, so it was easy for us to walk or use the subway. The staff was great and very helpful.

Kate O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Kate would recommend this property 07 July 2013

Knowledgable staff - we were offered information about a wide variety of things to do. Room was clean and larger than we had expected - perfect for the 4 of us and our weekend luggage. Rooms are airconditoned which was a big plus given the weather (95ish both days).

86.3%
446 reviews Book Now 
10

The New York Loft Hostel

Hostel
249 Varet Street, New York City, USA 11206

403 out of 446 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The New York Loft Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 87% Facilities - 85% Safety - 91%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2015

Location was ok. They had a nice bar downstairs with live music and comedy nights

ASHLEE OSWALD
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
ASHLEE would recommend this property 16 December 2014

Breakfast in the morning was good, great location in the brooklyn area, close to transport and good restaurant/bars. Staff gave good recommendations

New York City

61 Hostels from 14.99 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter