We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

91.4%
52 reviews Book Now 
1

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

50 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 98% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

91.3%
1520 reviews Book Now 
2

HI NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1374 out of 1520 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI NYC Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 90% Safety - 94%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2015

It was my first time at a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness. I found this hostel met my needs and was a decent value for the money.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2015

Nice, comfortable bed, and friendly staff willing to introduce nice destinations. Since it's not located in the city center, it feels quiet and relaxed during stay.

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
3

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

90.0%
12 reviews Book Now 
4

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 85%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 88%
Andrej Grahek
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Andrej would recommend this property 20 February 2015

I liked the quietness and peace of the place. Also it was quite close to the subway.

Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

89.4%
176 reviews Book Now 
5

NY Moore Hostel

Hostel
179 Moore Street, New York City, USA 11206

170 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend NY Moore Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
57.1%
13 August 2015

I liked how close this hostel was to the Morgan St station, as well as its location in general. There are great bars and places to eat and hang out in the area. The staff were very friendly as well.

daniel pickrell
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals
100.0%
daniel would recommend this property 07 August 2015

The vibrant atmosphere, along with an outstanding staff, and great guests made it an awesome place to crash in NYC. Highly recommended.

87.5%
70 reviews Book Now 
6

The Local NYC

Hostel
13-02 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

67 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 83%
Emily Radford
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
88.6%
Emily would recommend this property 24 August 2015

The view was amazing, good wifi access all over the building. Easy links with the metro

Harry Pallis
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Harry would recommend this property 19 August 2015

Spacious and within 3 minute walk to subway that took you in any direction. Very clean with groovy bar/cafe at entrance.

87.3%
956 reviews Book Now 
7

Hotel 31

2 star Hotel
120 East 31st Street, New York City, USA NY 10016

913 out of 956 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel 31

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 81% Facilities - 76% Safety - 90%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 August 2015

My fivth stay and I will return because: great location, extremly clean, very very helpful service and good value for money.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 January 2015

Close to the Empire State Building! Our room was on the 8th floor and very quiet considering the traffic outside. The room was very clean and we appreciated being upgraded to a private bathroom.

86.7%
147 reviews Book Now 
8

The Sohotel

2.5 star Hotel
341 Broome Street, New York City, USA NY 10013

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Sohotel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 83% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 August 2013

This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was centralized to where we needed to be, so it was easy for us to walk or use the subway. The staff was great and very helpful.

Kate O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Kate would recommend this property 07 July 2013

Knowledgable staff - we were offered information about a wide variety of things to do. Room was clean and larger than we had expected - perfect for the 4 of us and our weekend luggage. Rooms are airconditoned which was a big plus given the weather (95ish both days).

85.8%
453 reviews Book Now 
9

The New York Loft Hostel

Hostel
249 Varet Street, New York City, USA 11206

410 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The New York Loft Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 84% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 82%
Luke Host
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Luke would recommend this property 20 August 2015

An awesome hostel with great atmosphere. Rooms are super spacious. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Location is brilliant. Brooklyn is an amazing area and I was extremely happy to be there rather than in Manhatten.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 21 June 2015

I liked how they offered breakfast and the common area downstairs was great for encouraging people to get to know each other and hang out. The rooms had a lot of space to keep bags and move around.

85.5%
61 reviews Book Now 
10

Q4 Hostel

Hostel
2909 Queens Plaza North, New York City, USA 11101

60 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Q4 Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 86% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Rowan Threlfall
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Rowan would recommend this property 03 July 2014

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and all in working order.

David Ng
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
David would recommend this property 30 June 2014

Location was great, right beside the train station. Very accommodating facilities, hangout/social area was great, kitchen to use and a community fridge for people to keep their stuff. Bianca was great! She was friendly, had great suggestions and very polite. Room was overall quite clean.

New York City

54 Hostels from 21.66 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter