HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

95.1%
17 reviews Book Now 
1

Upper Central Guesthouse

Hostel
246 Lenox Ave, New York City, USA 10027

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Upper Central Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 August 2014

I loved the hostl and I loved the stuff! It was a wonderful time! When I come back to New York I definitely will stay again in this hostl!

Gideon Ng
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Gideon would recommend this property 24 August 2014

Close proximity to the subway station which was extremely convenient. Clean bathrooms, informative staffs, no curfew hours (after all, the city never sleeps).

93.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

Luke's Place

Guesthouse
430 Grand Street, Suite 6B, New York City, USA NY 11211

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Luke's Place

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 27 October 2013

Very happy to fit in with your schedule of arriving and departing. The bed was very comfortable. Very friendly and hospitable. Close to the subway.

Lisa Mcginnes
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Lisa would recommend this property 29 September 2013

It was very convenient to get to from subway. It was also very clean and in a safe area.

93.5%
30 reviews Book Now 
3

The Local NYC

Hostel
1302 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 25 August 2014

staff was excallent, so was atomsphere. just had everything a hostel needed for a great price, huge comfy rooms with own bathroom separate form sleeping was great. Location wasnt the best but still very easy and safe to get to.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 05 August 2014

Beautiful view from the roof, cool atmosphere in lounge area and bar/cafe, staff was super friendly, convenient location

92.0%
49 reviews Book Now 
4

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

47 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 91% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

91.7%
118 reviews Book Now 
5

Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel
JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, USA NJ 07304

113 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 100% Facilities - 91% Safety - 93%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
James Hunt
Alone
City break
97.1%
James would recommend this property 10 August 2014

Lovely place.... Really quiet and clean and fast PATH train into manhattan too that made being outside of downtown new york a non-issue. Kris is lovely and very reliable / helpful

Daniela Müller
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Daniela would recommend this property 29 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, small & mostly quiet (depends on the guests) guesthouse, we felt comfortable, welcome and at home. Lot of thanks to Jay!!!! (We brought all the cake through every security check :-))

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
6

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

90.3%
1475 reviews Book Now 
7

HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1331 out of 1475 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 94% Facilities - 94% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 83%
Lauren Reade
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Lauren would recommend this property 07 August 2014

One of the best hostels I have stayed in as a solo female traveller. Great location in the Upper West side, easy to commute around the city, very clean facilities, felt very safe around here. The staff were very helpful, there are a lot of amenities for any scenario (food available, lounging rooms, pub crawls, comedy nights) and if you're simply there to sleep, it's great for that too.

Hannah Carter
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 23 June 2014

Great location ! Everything is pretty close. A lot safer than another place I stayed on the east side. I felt safe walking around at night. For a female I think that's a pretty big deal. The Deli right across the street are super friendly too.

88.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
8

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 84%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 March 2013

The owner was so helpfull, the place was so clean, really good for people who hasn't got the money to stay in an expensive hotel:)

88.8%
12 reviews Book Now 
9

International Students Residence

Hostel
2147 2nd avenue, New York City, USA NY 10029

12 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Students Residence

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 95% Facilities - 85% Safety - 85%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Rooms are clean and big. They have bowls and cups in the kitchen which is a plus. Staff were helpful. I asked for an extra blanket cuz I was feeling cold in the morning and they gave me one within 5 min. I've been to hostels where they don't offer extra things so this is another plus.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 August 2014

It was really clean and spacious - exceeded my expectations for a students' hostel. The beds were also very comfortable, blankets were thick and warm, and most importantly, the bunk beds were sturdy so moving or climbing up to the top bed wouldn't wake the bottom bunk person up.

87.1%
146 reviews Book Now 
10

The Sohotel

2.5 star Hotel
341 Broome Street, New York City, USA NY 10013

139 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Sohotel

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 90% Facilities - 82% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 August 2013

This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was centralized to where we needed to be, so it was easy for us to walk or use the subway. The staff was great and very helpful.

Kate O'Sullivan
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Kate would recommend this property 07 July 2013

Knowledgable staff - we were offered information about a wide variety of things to do. Room was clean and larger than we had expected - perfect for the 4 of us and our weekend luggage. Rooms are airconditoned which was a big plus given the weather (95ish both days).

New York City

77 Hostels from 18.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter