HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

94.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Upper Central Guesthouse

Hostel
246 Lenox Ave, New York City, USA 10027

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Upper Central Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 90%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 08 July 2014

You cannot ask for more! i was afraid of being in Harlem at the first night but i didn't have to worry Safe, Clean and Huge Place. close to subway station - just 2min convenient stores around subway station like Dunkin Dounts Marshalls, CVS especailly H&M lol and a lot more.. Staff was nice i will be there again if i visited NY

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 10 June 2014

Great location, only two blocks from subway. Huge room with high ceiling.The hostel itself looked like it just opened. Everything was new such as new beds, new towel and new linens. The guests need to bring their own padlocks for lockers. Each room had its own seperated bathroom that I didn't need to wait for other guests. Most of all, the value for the money is excellent.

93.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

Luke's Place

Guesthouse
430 Grand Street, Suite 6B, New York City, USA NY 11211

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Luke's Place

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 27 October 2013

Very happy to fit in with your schedule of arriving and departing. The bed was very comfortable. Very friendly and hospitable. Close to the subway.

Lisa Mcginnes
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Lisa would recommend this property 29 September 2013

It was very convenient to get to from subway. It was also very clean and in a safe area.

93.1%
26 reviews Book Now 
3

The Local NYC

Hostel
1302 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

24 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 July 2014

Professional staff and clean, nice rooms. Well connected to Manhattan/Brooklyn by subway. Great cheap eating options nearby, including a 24 hr diner!

Customer review
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2014

Just an amazing place to stay in New York! Met a lot of new friends through the included bar & organized events by the hostel. You have everything you need: washing machine, a kitchen, a locker (even the locks can be borrowed for free, same goes for adapter), computer & wireless for free, a big projector. The location is great too! A walk of 5 minutes to the next subway (just take the 7 and next you can go off at Central Station or Times Square). There is also an amazing view of Manhattan from the roof top of the hostel.

93.0%
47 reviews Book Now 
4

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

45 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 91% Safety - 93%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

92.2%
114 reviews Book Now 
5

Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel
JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, USA NJ 07304

109 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 95%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 96%
Daniela Müller
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Daniela would recommend this property 29 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, small & mostly quiet (depends on the guests) guesthouse, we felt comfortable, welcome and at home. Lot of thanks to Jay!!!! (We brought all the cake through every security check :-))

Huy Nguyen
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Huy would recommend this property 26 April 2014

I stayed there for five nights. It was a really cheap place to stay, Jay, the girl who works there, is really friendly. She drove us to the mall and to the airport when we wanted to. Really nice that we got that extra service. I'm really satisfied with my stay there and would absolutely recommend it for others who look for a cheap accomodation worth your money.

90.7%
8 reviews Book Now 
6

International Students Residence

Hostel
2147 2nd avenue, New York City, USA NY 10029

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend International Students Residence

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 95% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
Sara Davis
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday
97.1%
Sara would recommend this property 29 May 2014

This is the best hostel I've ever booked! Very nice facilities. I booked the 4 bed dorm and in the room you get your own kitchen and bathroom! The location was great too, 2 blocks away from the subway and easy to get to the tourists places. What I loved the most was the amazing view that I got from my room, there was a balcony there! and at night it looked awesome!!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 27 May 2014

Very good accommodation for that price Subway (green line) goes directly to downtown and crosses main stations as Grand Central and Union Square

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
7

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

88.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
8

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 84%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 March 2013

The owner was so helpfull, the place was so clean, really good for people who hasn't got the money to stay in an expensive hotel:)

88.2%
1470 reviews Book Now 
9

HI - New York City

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1327 out of 1470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - New York City

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 92% Facilities - 93% Safety - 91%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 80%
Hannah Carter
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 23 June 2014

Great location ! Everything is pretty close. A lot safer than another place I stayed on the east side. I felt safe walking around at night. For a female I think that's a pretty big deal. The Deli right across the street are super friendly too.

tamara evans
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
tamara would recommend this property 11 March 2014

Mostly the cleanliness and good order of things. Staff was accomadating and nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean and secure. The property itself is well kept outside and in, with plenty of areas to relax in a quiet environment. The facility has great event options too! Free jazz, group activities... Full service cafe, kitchen... It was a great stay!

88.1%
307 reviews Book Now 
10

Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, USA NY 11236

272 out of 307 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 88% Facilities - 89% Safety - 91%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 87%
karolina briejnev
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
karolina would recommend this property 23 July 2014

the staff were nice and strict about the rules and i just loved the bathroom ! If you look for comfort, quietness and a clean place then you should stay there. I will most definitely be back, do not let the outside appearance fool you give a chance i did not regret I did !

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 23 July 2014

Clean and fell like home more your own flat with roommates than a typical hostel.

New York City

80 Hostels from 18.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter