We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in New York City, USA

93.9%
127 reviews Book Now 
1

Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel
JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, USA NJ 07304

122 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 98%
ludovic viel
As a family with children
Family Holiday
100.0%
ludovic would recommend this property 25 September 2014

Super sympas la maîtresse de maison, toujours à disposition pour rendre service.

George Triantafillos
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
George would recommend this property 20 September 2014

It is 200% better than I expected ,the host Kris was extremely helpful and friendly nothing was too much of a problem,the walk to the Path train was short and safe.I recommend this guest house to all my friends in Australia and definitely will be back.The kitchen is adequate and clean.I enjoyed my meals on the porch ,the place is very quiet and I rested comfortably after visiting NYC My rating is more than excellent !

93.6%
4 reviews Book Now 
2

Luke's Place

Guesthouse
430 Grand Street, Suite 6B, New York City, USA NY 11211

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Luke's Place

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 95% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 27 October 2013

Very happy to fit in with your schedule of arriving and departing. The bed was very comfortable. Very friendly and hospitable. Close to the subway.

Lisa Mcginnes
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Lisa would recommend this property 29 September 2013

It was very convenient to get to from subway. It was also very clean and in a safe area.

93.3%
216 reviews Book Now 
3

Times Square House

Guesthouse
526 9th Ave, 39th St - 40th St, New York City, USA 10018

210 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Times Square House

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 84% Safety - 95%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Vancho Kocevski
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Vancho would recommend this property 28 April 2014

Great location in Hell's kitchen, and good access to the subway and buses. The staff was very friendly and the place was very clean.

Warwick Devery
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Warwick would recommend this property 09 April 2014

Amazing location, Jesse the host was incredibly friendly and helpful, very clean.

93.0%
45 reviews Book Now 
4

The Local NYC

Hostel
1302 44th Avenue, New York City, USA 11101

43 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Local NYC

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 94% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Toshio Imada
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Toshio would recommend this property 30 October 2014

I wsa very satisfied to stay in this hostel.The room is very clean, and equitment in the room is enough for staying at nighe.

Customer review
Alone
City break
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 14 October 2014

Excellent location near to subway station. Loved the bar and the all round friendly atmosphere. Best hostel I've ever stayed in

93.0%
30 reviews Book Now 
5

Upper Central NYC

Hostel
246 Lenox Ave, New York City, USA 10027

30 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Upper Central NYC

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 90% Safety - 91%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 94%
Elizabeth Latham
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Elizabeth would recommend this property 11 November 2014

Really nice staff and vibe. The area was totally safe (it's the good side of Harlem). Good room, bathroom, kitchen etc (I stayed in the 10 bed female and had no problems).

Sarah Ingle
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Sarah would recommend this property 13 September 2014

Alen and the rest of the staff were so helpful and friendly! Breakfast was provided and was generally nice place to stay.

92.3%
50 reviews Book Now 
6

Serenity at Home

Apartment
57 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225 - 5312

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Serenity at Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 91%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I had a fantastic stay! The hostess was generous, helpful, and genuinely concerned with making the stay pleasurable. It was a nice, safe part of Brooklyn and only a short subway ride to all of New Yorks attractions. I only wish I had stayed longer!

Franck Atangana
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Franck would recommend this property 16 July 2013

It feels like home the place was warm and pretty. Definitely the best place to be in brooklyn!

91.0%
1483 reviews Book Now 
7

HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Hostel
891 Amsterdam Avenue, New York City, USA NY 10025

1339 out of 1483 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - New York City NYC Hostel

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 93% Safety - 95%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 21 September 2014

It's a great place to meet other travellers. They provide great tours, pub crawls etc. The rooms are clean. The garden is amazing!

Tom Doyle
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Tom would recommend this property 17 September 2014

Good location, safe area, clean rooms, complimentary towels and shower gel, lots of events going on.

90.5%
49 reviews Book Now 
8

Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Guesthouse
80 Rutland Road, New York City, USA 11225

48 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 92%
Barbara Czuczai
With my spouse / partner
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Barbara would recommend this property 15 February 2014

An apartment complete with kitchen, only a few subway stops from Manhattan. The value for money is much higher than anywhere in Manhattan.

Martin Drascher
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Martin would recommend this property 01 September 2013

Wir waren am Green Park und hatten beide Zimmer im ersten Stock. Das ist für drei super geräumig und komfortabel. Gute Betten, super eingerichtete Küche, nette stilvolle Einrichtung. Ruhige und doch zentrale Lage.

89.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
9

Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Guesthouse
62 East 127th Street, New York City, USA 10035

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 98% Facilities - 92% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Peter Symington
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Peter would recommend this property 14 November 2013

If you don't mind the walk back and forth from the Subway the location of Chic & Budget is perfect for travelling around the whole of New York . The property is also well maintained.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 March 2013

The owner was so helpfull, the place was so clean, really good for people who hasn't got the money to stay in an expensive hotel:)

87.7%
322 reviews Book Now 
10

Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Hostel
538 East 86th Street #3, Brooklyn, New York City, USA NY 11236

284 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife
31.4%
20 November 2014

What can I say? Start with the booking, after you reserve it, you will receive another invoice with another price 20% more expensive. When you arrive: You need to walk a lot to arrive at the place, 20 minutes by foot till the metro station, or 20 min by bus to get the other metro. 1st place at my life were you need to do your bed, I tough I paid for it?! Place was empty and you can not sit on couch and check your phone, because it is the rule, couch is just to watch TV. 2nd day I saw a rat on the living room and the kitchen was really dirty. Last day you will be woke up at 09:30, even if the check out is at 11:00. Never saw it on my life nether. Staff terrible, unfriendly, amateur.

Jolanta Herma
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jolanta would recommend this property 23 September 2014

David who was a manager of a hostel was really friendly and helpful from the first day. He helped me with carrying my suitcase and he borrowed me his charger. He is the best person on this position.

New York City

69 Hostels from 3.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated New York City hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in New York City. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to New York City

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to New York City. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter