We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Spot Loft

Hostel | 459 Myrtle Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 11205

73.5% Overall Rating

85 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2015)

"It's a really nice little Hostel in an old house10 mins away from Booklyn downtown. The personal is nice and welcoming, the hostel has everything you need. For New York relations it's quite quiet."

Read all Five Spot Loft reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.00
  • Luggage Room USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
29.00 USD

Apartment 65.8% 38 reviews
NYC Summer Dorms
25.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 95 reviews
Yoga Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 87.2% 165 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 358 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
NY Moore Hostel
50.00 USD

Hostel 90.2% 168 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel 51.9% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

85 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Spot Loft'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice little Hostel in an old house10 mins away from Booklyn downtown. The personal is nice and welcoming, the hostel has everything you need. For New York relations it's quite quiet.

Disliked: I can understand the critics about cleanness, though I don't estimate it as unacceptable. One must consider that the hostel is located aside the hotspots, although they are definitly in reach. For the price it's definitly worth to consider.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeremy Flores

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2015 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and staff are very welcoming.

Disliked: I didn't like the smell of the place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

bruno brito

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 April 2015 bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: It is dirty, ugly and not well accessible

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Pedro Faleiros Neves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2015 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: If you are going to NY on a budget this is the place.

Disliked: Pedro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awsome. Open kitchen and amazing hospitality by the owner.

Disliked: NOTHING

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015

Liked: There were no such a things to like about the property :/

Disliked: It Wasn't very clean . We checked in into the room which wasn't finished so Can be rented . The floors weren't done , no single furtitute piece in it . Even a chair . Just one bed .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Romain Kassehi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2014 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to be in NewYork! It is like living in a big roomate just next to Manhattan and the host Know his city!

Disliked: Romain left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kwangsuk kim

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 November 2014 kwangsuk would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. It was worth the price.

Disliked: None

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marina Mijic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: Nothing actually

Disliked: Everything, especially crowded rooms and no aircondition, we were cooking. The bathroom was filthy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Luis Escobar

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 September 2014

Liked: Available

Disliked: I was a messy place. the kitchen and bath were dirty .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homey, can climb to the roof, interesting travelers come here, great staff, relaxed non strict place.

Disliked: Father from a metro, but if you take the initiative and buy a citibike pass this can add to the experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay. A little inconvenient/farther walk to the main lines, but so is most of Brooklyn. Sweet view from the roof, clean beds and bathrooms. Was easy to find and for the price, a great stay.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms in the hostel, but usually people are using them at random times so it isn't too bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Rubiniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice location

Disliked: Facilities are a wreck, place is not clean, Wifi barely works and A/C is weak

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet some nice people there, it's close to the subway so you can easily get to Manhattan. It's good for the price I paid.

Disliked: The Internet is very unstable and it could have more bathrooms for the number of people that it accommodates.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and the place had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: It was a little bit confusing to figure out how to enter the place on arrival but that could very well have just have been my brain after a very long flight!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: The staff and the location.

Disliked: We stayed in the room above the kitchen downstairs. It seems that the exhaust from that kitchen was blowing out into our room. Although there was a fan to try and move the air around, it couldn't move the smell of deep fryer oil in the air. I guess that's fine, unless you would like to sleep, get dressed or just be in the room. To add to this, there are no lockers and the WiFi was really slow. Oh, and the shower had no blind/curtain in its window, so we were on show to the neighbourhood.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best place that you can find for this price. (friendly staff, good location, big rooms ...)

Disliked: The hostel should be pay to hostelbookers for its advertisement on website, i mean if you pay here in hostelbookers some price for reserve and the website say, you just have to pay the difference once you arrive to the hostel so the hostel souldn't ask for more money appart of the difference when you arrive, so it is like you are paying for the advertisement of the hostel to Hostelbookers and when you arrive you have to pay all the money again and not just the difference.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay!

Disliked: All good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cool members of staff, nice and friendly. Insane bathroom on the top floor with a jacuzzi... free laundry?! excellent news

Disliked: kinda noisey, squeaky beds, kitchen facilities not so great (but more than adequate).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alana wallis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 alana would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful location in Brooklyn and how easy it was to get from there into the city of Manhattan. What an awesomely people-friendly place! It's exactly what you need when traveling to New York. A place to rest and freshen up before hitting the 'Big City.' The Five Spot Loft is quirky and fresh with great space and atmosphere and run by the great Desmond himself :) I highly recommend this hostel and I will continue to stay here in future. Loved it!! It's right in the heart of beautiful Brooklyn!!

Disliked: Nothing, I thought it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMIR AHARON

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2014 TAMIR would recommend this property

Liked: great location. free laundry and wifi.

Disliked: TAMIR left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very charming and quaint, relaxed and fun to hang out with staff and other people staying here. It's clean and cosy. Love this place. Met some great people. Also easily accessible .

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: It was in a reasonable location. Near a park, some shops, bus stop and subway. The staff there were also really nice and helpful when they were around. Free washing and drying was also available.

Disliked: I couldn't sleep. The hostel is next to a club, so you get noise from that, some nights worse than others. My room also happened to have the window facing, so I was worst off. The reception/kitchen area was also right outside my door, so when inconsiderate people congregate there at 2:30am talking loudly when you've already been trying to sleep for 2-3 hours, your gonna have a bad time. Even when asking them to be quiet with a staff member sitting there with them, they did not lower their speaking for a good hour or so. My room also was really hot. It was pretty cool outside, enough to need a jacket, but my room, for whatever reason, was hot enough to be I shirts and a tshirt and still hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL PAUL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a very vibrant and safe area Desmond, the host, is a very friendly, accommodating and helpful man. The price is very reasonable, especially if you're backpacking in the city Highly recommend, and I encourage people to go down to the bars in along Myrtle Ave Will definitely come again

Disliked: I would have liked if the Wifi was a bit faster, and the noise outside to be low (but thats Brooklyn for you) Other than that, for the money I paid, I got everything I needed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Great location and extremely helpful staff!!

Disliked: NA