We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Spot Loft

Hostel | 459 Myrtle Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 11205

80.7% Overall Rating

74 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Homey, can climb to the roof, interesting travelers come here, great staff, relaxed non strict place."

Read all Five Spot Loft reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.00
  • Luggage Room USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
30.00 USD

Apartment 67.0% 36 reviews
BNAIP Intern and Student Housing
106.13 USD

Hostel 73.8% 85 reviews
Yoga Hostel
78.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 74.9% 138 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 345 reviews
Luke's Place
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
NY Moore Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 156 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

74 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Spot Loft'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kwangsuk kim

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 November 2014 kwangsuk would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. It was worth the price.

Disliked: None

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Marina Mijic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014

Liked: Nothing actually

Disliked: Everything, especially crowded rooms and no aircondition, we were cooking. The bathroom was filthy.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Luis Escobar

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 September 2014

Liked: Available

Disliked: I was a messy place. the kitchen and bath were dirty .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homey, can climb to the roof, interesting travelers come here, great staff, relaxed non strict place.

Disliked: Father from a metro, but if you take the initiative and buy a citibike pass this can add to the experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay. A little inconvenient/farther walk to the main lines, but so is most of Brooklyn. Sweet view from the roof, clean beds and bathrooms. Was easy to find and for the price, a great stay.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms in the hostel, but usually people are using them at random times so it isn't too bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Rubiniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice location

Disliked: Facilities are a wreck, place is not clean, Wifi barely works and A/C is weak

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet some nice people there, it's close to the subway so you can easily get to Manhattan. It's good for the price I paid.

Disliked: The Internet is very unstable and it could have more bathrooms for the number of people that it accommodates.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and the place had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: It was a little bit confusing to figure out how to enter the place on arrival but that could very well have just have been my brain after a very long flight!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: The staff and the location.

Disliked: We stayed in the room above the kitchen downstairs. It seems that the exhaust from that kitchen was blowing out into our room. Although there was a fan to try and move the air around, it couldn't move the smell of deep fryer oil in the air. I guess that's fine, unless you would like to sleep, get dressed or just be in the room. To add to this, there are no lockers and the WiFi was really slow. Oh, and the shower had no blind/curtain in its window, so we were on show to the neighbourhood.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best place that you can find for this price. (friendly staff, good location, big rooms ...)

Disliked: The hostel should be pay to hostelbookers for its advertisement on website, i mean if you pay here in hostelbookers some price for reserve and the website say, you just have to pay the difference once you arrive to the hostel so the hostel souldn't ask for more money appart of the difference when you arrive, so it is like you are paying for the advertisement of the hostel to Hostelbookers and when you arrive you have to pay all the money again and not just the difference.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay!

Disliked: All good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cool members of staff, nice and friendly. Insane bathroom on the top floor with a jacuzzi... free laundry?! excellent news

Disliked: kinda noisey, squeaky beds, kitchen facilities not so great (but more than adequate).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alana wallis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 alana would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful location in Brooklyn and how easy it was to get from there into the city of Manhattan. What an awesomely people-friendly place! It's exactly what you need when traveling to New York. A place to rest and freshen up before hitting the 'Big City.' The Five Spot Loft is quirky and fresh with great space and atmosphere and run by the great Desmond himself :) I highly recommend this hostel and I will continue to stay here in future. Loved it!! It's right in the heart of beautiful Brooklyn!!

Disliked: Nothing, I thought it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMIR AHARON

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2014 TAMIR would recommend this property

Liked: great location. free laundry and wifi.

Disliked: TAMIR left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very charming and quaint, relaxed and fun to hang out with staff and other people staying here. It's clean and cosy. Love this place. Met some great people. Also easily accessible .

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: It was in a reasonable location. Near a park, some shops, bus stop and subway. The staff there were also really nice and helpful when they were around. Free washing and drying was also available.

Disliked: I couldn't sleep. The hostel is next to a club, so you get noise from that, some nights worse than others. My room also happened to have the window facing, so I was worst off. The reception/kitchen area was also right outside my door, so when inconsiderate people congregate there at 2:30am talking loudly when you've already been trying to sleep for 2-3 hours, your gonna have a bad time. Even when asking them to be quiet with a staff member sitting there with them, they did not lower their speaking for a good hour or so. My room also was really hot. It was pretty cool outside, enough to need a jacket, but my room, for whatever reason, was hot enough to be I shirts and a tshirt and still hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL PAUL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a very vibrant and safe area Desmond, the host, is a very friendly, accommodating and helpful man. The price is very reasonable, especially if you're backpacking in the city Highly recommend, and I encourage people to go down to the bars in along Myrtle Ave Will definitely come again

Disliked: I would have liked if the Wifi was a bit faster, and the noise outside to be low (but thats Brooklyn for you) Other than that, for the money I paid, I got everything I needed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Great location and extremely helpful staff!!

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

felipe sanhueza

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 March 2014 felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Much space in dorms

Disliked: Door in bath and in shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Banker

Alone

City break

25 March 2014 George would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great character with an excellent location. Tons of restaurants and cheap bars around the block and the main bus stops right in front of the property. safe and secure.

Disliked: Not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Pflug

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful and nice! Great and SAFE place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent value for money. Desmond, one of the staff members is very helpful, informative and interesting.

Disliked: No one answers the phone number listed on the door when I arrived, then I had to wait in the cafe next door for about 15 minutes before I could check in. The kitchen was very minimally equipped, with barely any utensils. Bedrooms were not particularly secure and beds were ok, but not particularly comfortable. There is no atmosphere to speak of but maybe that's because there were not many people there at the time. It has a lot of potential but I really don't think it's managed well enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Manhattan clean lots of space

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chaim Alistair

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 January 2014 Chaim would recommend this property

Liked: The property was amazing . Very spacious but still warm and cozy. The kitchen facilities were great for cooking meals and the lounge area was awesome ...free wifi. I also like the washer and dryer . I was able to do laundry while hanging out in the lounge area. The food downstairs in the five spot is delicious especially the fried chicken and Mac and cheese. The red velvet cake was unbelievably scrumptious I had a slice for breakfast.. The beds and linen were very comfortable my nite sleep felt like HOME!!! Five Spot Loft is an Amazing Hostel in Brooklyn .. Perfect location.. So close to manhattan you can walk!

Disliked: Chaim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a calm, clean and safe atmosphere. Perfect location for getting around Manhattan and brooklyn easily. The neighborhood is very safe and very alive even throughout the night with 24 hr stores all down the block. I can recommend for those seeking a decent place for a decent price.

Disliked: For the money I paid its hard to complain about anything.