HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Five Spot Loft

Hostel | 459 Myrtle Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NY 11205

85.7% Overall Rating

69 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"Meet some nice people there, it's close to the subway so you can easily get to Manhattan. It's good for the price I paid."

Read all Five Spot Loft reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.00
  • Luggage Room USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 65.9% 33 reviews
BNAIP Intern and Student Housing
15.24 USD

Hostel 80.3% 63 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 81.6% 114 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 330 reviews
Luke's Place
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Portobello 805
22.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Portobello 898
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

69 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Five Spot Loft'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Rubiniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice location

Disliked: Facilities are a wreck, place is not clean, Wifi barely works and A/C is weak

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet some nice people there, it's close to the subway so you can easily get to Manhattan. It's good for the price I paid.

Disliked: The Internet is very unstable and it could have more bathrooms for the number of people that it accommodates.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Schoenfeld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and the place had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: It was a little bit confusing to figure out how to enter the place on arrival but that could very well have just have been my brain after a very long flight!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: The staff and the location.

Disliked: We stayed in the room above the kitchen downstairs. It seems that the exhaust from that kitchen was blowing out into our room. Although there was a fan to try and move the air around, it couldn't move the smell of deep fryer oil in the air. I guess that's fine, unless you would like to sleep, get dressed or just be in the room. To add to this, there are no lockers and the WiFi was really slow. Oh, and the shower had no blind/curtain in its window, so we were on show to the neighbourhood.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hector Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Hector would recommend this property

Liked: Is the best place that you can find for this price. (friendly staff, good location, big rooms ...)

Disliked: The hostel should be pay to hostelbookers for its advertisement on website, i mean if you pay here in hostelbookers some price for reserve and the website say, you just have to pay the difference once you arrive to the hostel so the hostel souldn't ask for more money appart of the difference when you arrive, so it is like you are paying for the advertisement of the hostel to Hostelbookers and when you arrive you have to pay all the money again and not just the difference.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay!

Disliked: All good

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cool members of staff, nice and friendly. Insane bathroom on the top floor with a jacuzzi... free laundry?! excellent news

Disliked: kinda noisey, squeaky beds, kitchen facilities not so great (but more than adequate).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alana wallis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 alana would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful location in Brooklyn and how easy it was to get from there into the city of Manhattan. What an awesomely people-friendly place! It's exactly what you need when traveling to New York. A place to rest and freshen up before hitting the 'Big City.' The Five Spot Loft is quirky and fresh with great space and atmosphere and run by the great Desmond himself :) I highly recommend this hostel and I will continue to stay here in future. Loved it!! It's right in the heart of beautiful Brooklyn!!

Disliked: Nothing, I thought it was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMIR AHARON

Alone

Business / conference

01 May 2014 TAMIR would recommend this property

Liked: great location. free laundry and wifi.

Disliked: TAMIR left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very charming and quaint, relaxed and fun to hang out with staff and other people staying here. It's clean and cosy. Love this place. Met some great people. Also easily accessible .

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: It was in a reasonable location. Near a park, some shops, bus stop and subway. The staff there were also really nice and helpful when they were around. Free washing and drying was also available.

Disliked: I couldn't sleep. The hostel is next to a club, so you get noise from that, some nights worse than others. My room also happened to have the window facing, so I was worst off. The reception/kitchen area was also right outside my door, so when inconsiderate people congregate there at 2:30am talking loudly when you've already been trying to sleep for 2-3 hours, your gonna have a bad time. Even when asking them to be quiet with a staff member sitting there with them, they did not lower their speaking for a good hour or so. My room also was really hot. It was pretty cool outside, enough to need a jacket, but my room, for whatever reason, was hot enough to be I shirts and a tshirt and still hot

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DANIEL PAUL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in a very vibrant and safe area Desmond, the host, is a very friendly, accommodating and helpful man. The price is very reasonable, especially if you're backpacking in the city Highly recommend, and I encourage people to go down to the bars in along Myrtle Ave Will definitely come again

Disliked: I would have liked if the Wifi was a bit faster, and the noise outside to be low (but thats Brooklyn for you) Other than that, for the money I paid, I got everything I needed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Great location and extremely helpful staff!!

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

felipe sanhueza

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 March 2014 felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Much space in dorms

Disliked: Door in bath and in shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Banker

Alone

City break

25 March 2014 George would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had great character with an excellent location. Tons of restaurants and cheap bars around the block and the main bus stops right in front of the property. safe and secure.

Disliked: Not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Pflug

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so helpful and nice! Great and SAFE place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, decent value for money. Desmond, one of the staff members is very helpful, informative and interesting.

Disliked: No one answers the phone number listed on the door when I arrived, then I had to wait in the cafe next door for about 15 minutes before I could check in. The kitchen was very minimally equipped, with barely any utensils. Bedrooms were not particularly secure and beds were ok, but not particularly comfortable. There is no atmosphere to speak of but maybe that's because there were not many people there at the time. It has a lot of potential but I really don't think it's managed well enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Manhattan clean lots of space

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chaim Alistair

Alone

Partying / nightlife

14 January 2014 Chaim would recommend this property

Liked: The property was amazing . Very spacious but still warm and cozy. The kitchen facilities were great for cooking meals and the lounge area was awesome ...free wifi. I also like the washer and dryer . I was able to do laundry while hanging out in the lounge area. The food downstairs in the five spot is delicious especially the fried chicken and Mac and cheese. The red velvet cake was unbelievably scrumptious I had a slice for breakfast.. The beds and linen were very comfortable my nite sleep felt like HOME!!! Five Spot Loft is an Amazing Hostel in Brooklyn .. Perfect location.. So close to manhattan you can walk!

Disliked: Chaim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a calm, clean and safe atmosphere. Perfect location for getting around Manhattan and brooklyn easily. The neighborhood is very safe and very alive even throughout the night with 24 hr stores all down the block. I can recommend for those seeking a decent place for a decent price.

Disliked: For the money I paid its hard to complain about anything.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

kenneth mcnamar

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014

Liked: excellent location and centrally located with shopping areas of clinton hill.

Disliked: dirty, and the night before i left, another person staying at the hostel was not necessarily desirable. small confrontation.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a old school like pay when u come hostel. above brooklyn sou food resturuat run by owner. he seem decent. i only stay there one night. its no frills. u got what u need and rooms is spacious . in a very brooklyn duplex on main street . ft green near pratt .. i loved fact there was a Jacuzzi. seem no one used it. i had to clean it myself there's two baths and most of the place is not to clean but looks like a college apartment. whole big hostel but enough space.. was not the cleanest hostel if ur anal retentive. some atmosphere of jazz era kind of.. but the upstairs bath has also a washer and dryer u can use i think and the Jacuzzi was great.. kitchen ugot four burner and resturuant sink.. and dishes cups. microwave.. one shower on each floor.

Disliked: That it was not cleanest but did not bother me as others commented.. not as bad as they said. the wors part was they rent you a locker.. not the lock the locker.. for five dollars. not to cool. and afraid to leave me stuff alone. so bring suit case with locks if u want to avoid. some of guest were not to friendly people to their own group. it was pretty cold.. all night. froze.. u get a heavy vintage blanket and sheets. you get a door code to get in. lock o front door not to secure in that neighbor hood..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Varner

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2013 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Clinton Hill is a very cosmopolitan and vibrant Brooklyn neighborhood. It's very clean. I saw that people had a lot of complaints. I think that for your money, this is a fabulous value. The street is "noisy" but that's to be expected in a city as big as this, plus Myrtle ave is a main two way street so of course it's going to be fairly busy. I never lost any sleep or had difficulty going to sleep. The place is old, but it's very clean. As a matter of fact, when I checked in slightly after 2pm, there was a gentleman mopping all the floors, and cleaning the bathroom. The bathroom is OLD, but it's CLEAN. It's like going to your grandmother's house... The bathroom needs redoing, but it's clean!!!! I was in a room with three bunk bets and one small twin bed, despite the room being full, I never felt awkward. At many times during the day, I was the only person in the room because everyone else was out doing whatever in the city! Nothing was stolen from me, my things were never touched with the exception of someone moving my tablet which I halfway hid. (they put it in a new outlet and laid it on my bed under my pillow) the other roomers were very respectful. The staff was friendly, nice, and polite. As far as feeling in danger... NEVER! the door is not wide open for anyone to come in at night.. You use a passcode to get it, it's quite secure. Also, at night, the downstairs did not appear to be rowdy or loud. Bathrooms also were not constantly in use as others have complained. I mainly had to wait for the cleaner to be done! This area is a great location near many stores, banks and the Brooklyn fleamarket. If you want your own... get an expensive hotel and spend that $$$$$!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pia johansson goldmann

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 November 2013 pia would recommend this property

Liked: it was like coming home and feeling at home, not like a hostel that feels like a hostel. it was as if it was your own apartment. and a nice neighbourhood. and the people working there, lovely :)

Disliked: nothong :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: no locker