HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BNAIP Intern and Student Housing

Hostel | 1 University Plaza, New York City, New York, USA NY 11201

80.7% Overall Rating

60 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Rachel Chery thinks…

"This was my first time ever staying at a hostel, and I was not sure what to expect. This staff was really nice, and the view from my room was amazing."

Read all BNAIP Intern and Student Housing reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Reservations are non-cancelable--the total reservation will be charged if cancelled or in case of a no-show. Adjusting dates are allowed up until 7 days before your check-in; otherwise the original balance will be charged

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 65.9% 33 reviews
Five Spot Loft
33.00 USD

Hostel 85.7% 88 reviews
NYC Manhattan Guesthouse
42.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
NYC Hostel
28.00 USD

Hostel 67.9% 104 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 51.2% 38 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 79.3% 116 reviews
Broadway Lodge
40.00 USD

Apartment 74.5% 48 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

60 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BNAIP Intern and Student Housing'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 64 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and the price was good for the services

Disliked: The bathing area is very dirty, and the cleaning was very minimal. Hygiene should be key and I felt this not the top most priority for the establishment. They need to improve in room cleaning. It should be everyday that the rooms should be cleaned, not every three or four days.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the location

Disliked: the average cleanliness. But eh, it's summer student housing, what more could I expect?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Chery

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time ever staying at a hostel, and I was not sure what to expect. This staff was really nice, and the view from my room was amazing.

Disliked: There was nothing in particular that I did not like. It was exactly what I wanted a quiet place with a great view.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Safety, Cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Valášek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it wasn't typical kind of hostel. It didn't have kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Suchit Kumbhare

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Suchit would recommend this property

Liked: It's safe and secured. Access to subways and library. Makes good good contact with fellow traveller's.

Disliked: Suchit left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miha Lunar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: The check-in was fairly frictionless, I was even able to pay with cash, but they only accept exact amounts. There was also a $20 cash deposit (as noted) for which I got linens and a towel along with the Long Island University card that you need to get onto the campus and through the dorm door (it has a card lock). Near the end of my stay I extended it for 2 days without much of a problem, but I had to check with them afterwards to see if I was able to stay in the same room (I was). The staff I interacted with was always friendly. The location is great, 15-20min from Manhattan with the nearest subway across the street from the property. You can probably get from your door to the subway in under 5 minutes. The hostel is located in the dorm housing on the campus of the Long Island University. There are two entrances to the campus (to my knowledge), however only the main one is opened at night. Each of them has a guard posted 24 / 7. I've never had trouble entering or leaving, you just tell them that you're checking in at first, then you get a LIU card that you can show. The place seemed very secure as there's a second guard at the housing entrance too (that's where you scan the QR code that you get). The people and rooms felt safe as well. The 4 bed dorm I stayed in was very spacious as described. It also had an air conditioner, so the room wasn't too hot (you will probably have to negotiate with others so it's not too cold though ;)). The bed was a bit creaky, but otherwise fine, so I didn't have trouble sleeping. The four beds were separate, since it's a converted dorm, so there were no bunk beds. The room I was staying in had three pin-code safes (would probably fit a 15" laptop if you wanted, but no larger). They're meant for long-term reservations, but you can use them if they're free. They didn't have other lockers (at least not for short-term bookers), but that's not so unusual for a hostel. Due to my tremendous ability to break things, I managed to lock all my things in one of the safes before some sort of an anti-tampering mechanism kicked in. I managed to get help from some friendly people in the building and a guy was able to unlock it with the servicing device he had. There was also a large living space with a TV and power outlets on my floor, however I didn't spend a lot of time there. The rooms also had power outlets, but they can be in inconvenent positions depending on which bed you're sleeping in. Apart from the first couple of days, the restroom was fairly clean. The one on my floor had a surprisingly good hand dryer, but maybe it's just that I wasn't expecting it. The showers didn't run out of hot water and the one I used worked fine (but remember, turn it all the way to the MAX to get hot water!).

Disliked: The air conditioner was on the loud side, personally it didn't bother me that much, but if you have trouble sleeping in a noisy environment, you might want to watch out for that. The dorm room doors are somewhat heavy and clumsy, but you get used to that. Due to the keycard entry, it's a bit awkward carrying your card with you into the shower. The showers were for dorms, so don't expect complete privacy. There was a curtain into the shower area with three showers and a bench and a curtain for each shower. The restroom was somewhat dirty when I arrived, but it received a full cleaning after a day or two and it remained fairly clean for the rest of my stay. The one I used had two urinals and three stalls. The stalls were in a pretty bad shape, but workable with a bit of force. The toilets were more or less ok (pull the stick thing to flush!). I had to evacuate down the stairs due to a fire alarm twice during my stay, but that's just my bad luck I guess and it's not the fault of the hostel. Neither were serious and I got to see the building fire alarm lights flash like a Christmas tree from outside, so it wasn't that bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Patton

Alone

City break

07 July 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the subway is just a couple of minutes away. The rooms are neat as well as the bathrooms.

Disliked: Just a lot of people. But hey, it's New York.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ornan Bobly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Ornan would recommend this property

Liked: It' really close to everything you want to explore if you're a first-timer in NY. Great rooms, nice facilities and friendly staff at the most affordable price anywhere in NY. What more can you ask for?

Disliked: Ornan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ALEJANDRO FRANCO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. JUST FOR GO AND SLEEP

Disliked: ALEJANDRO left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alejandro Cordova

Alone

City break

25 June 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms (by NYC standards) and a fantastic location- right by the subway for a super quick commute to Manhattan. There are 2 security checkpoints to get into the building so it felt very safe.

Disliked: There was no garbage bin in my room so people just threw trash wherever. There also weren't any lockers so I had to carry my laptop around with me everywhere.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Akshara Rai

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Akshara would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway, helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms were very dirty and unequipped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity of various subway lines. Friendly casual staff. Free Wi-Fi. Cheap. Fridge and micro-wave in the room. Excellent communication prior to arrival and staff always ready to try and help while we were there.

Disliked: Problems with the reservation: we had booked a whole room but were woken up several times by different people coming to check if there was a spare bed. Heating on (had to put the air co to cool the room!). I believe these two points were due to the fact that it was just the beginning of the summer renting season. Cleanliness "average": not because it was not cleaned - it was! - but because many people did not seem to care much about the state they left the facities in!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gregory Hull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: It's dirt cheap for New York prices. The location is great, like 2 mins walk from a subway station. You can get to Manhattan centre in under 20 mins on the train.

Disliked: It's dirt cheap... any you pay for what you get. Everything's falling apart including all three of the toilet doors in my bathroom. One shower out of three works properly and the whole place could do with several licks of paint to bring it out of the 1960s. Like I said though at close to $10 a night and with the location I'm honestly not complaining.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marianela Rivadeneira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Marianela would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, the safety and the friendly staff.

Disliked: Air conditioner is too loud

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, safety, helpfulness

Disliked: unclean room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location very close to Brooklyn bridge, nearest metro station and several stops to Manhattan

Disliked: No kitchen, even coffe/tea

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt safe because there were security guards at gates, at all hours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't beat the price and the location for this hostel. It has AC in a dorm setting. The max people to a room is 4 people. It's very spacious and lots of place to pu stuff in . It comes with a fridge and microwave and a safe. The subway stop is literally outside in the corner. Subway takes you ito the city in 20 minutes. Security has 2 checkpoints to get into the building.

Disliked: The only thing that was a bit chaotic was checking in the facility. Check in was 3 pm and staff was taking a break at that time and there were other people waiting in line. In addition, I felt like only one of them knew how to check in people, who was very nice but seem to be doing everything else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Siteneski

Alone

Business / conference

02 June 2014 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: It's located near several subway stations.

Disliked: ...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Nothing really

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Smith

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: We had a blast staying here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious for a hostel (only 4 to a room). The price was insanely great, and we met tons of people. They really went out of their way to make sure everybody had a good time.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: An absolutely fantastic hostel. It's a surprisingly large building with heaps of students coming in and out all day. Super easy to meet people, and tons of fun. There are girls doing yoga on the lawn in the morning, group dinners, and then everybody goes out on the lawn and watches movies on the big screen at night. Heaps of fun!

Disliked: Bill left no negative feedback.