HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of BNAIP Intern and Student Housing

Hostel | 1 University Plaza, New York City, New York, USA NY 11201

72.5% Overall Rating

72 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"It is a short subway ride or walk across Brooklyn Bridge to get to Manhattan Island"

Read all BNAIP Intern and Student Housing reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Reservations are non-cancelable--the total reservation will be charged if cancelled or in case of a no-show. Adjusting dates are allowed up until 7 days before your check-in; otherwise the original balance will be charged

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Yoga Hostel
78.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 67.0% 36 reviews
Five Spot Loft
30.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 95 reviews
NYC Manhattan Guesthouse
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
NYC Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 67.1% 106 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 57.5% 48 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
37.95 USD

Hostel 74.9% 137 reviews
Broadway Lodge
30.00 USD

Apartment 74.2% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.5%

Overall Rating

72 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'BNAIP Intern and Student Housing'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014

Liked: It is a short subway ride or walk across Brooklyn Bridge to get to Manhattan Island

Disliked: The security guards, workers within the Long Island University and people in the surrounding areas were very rude to travelers. There was little to no atmosphere, and all the bars are a decent distance away. Bathroom facilities were very dirty + doors did not lock. You get what you pay for, it is cheap but dodgy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to subway station.

Disliked: The property is not well managed. Facilities are old.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Paula Wunsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014

Liked: Cheap, close to subway

Disliked: As I said, it is really really dirty. The bathrooms are disgustiing. If you only stay for one night, try to avoid the showers. There is fungi every where, the shower curtains haven't been cleaned for centuries, some of the toilets are blocked and flow over. The rooms are okay, but one can see that they are beeing cleaned once a week because there is the rubbish and dirt of the predecessors. Common areas are not nice at all so if you are travelling alone and want to meet people avoid this place!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Caique Lisboa da Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014

Liked: This hostel is very close to the metro station which makes traveling much easier.

Disliked: The rooms and bathroom are dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

László Zsolt Vági

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 László Zsolt would recommend this property

Liked: For short time staying and to sleep and shower is perfect. Local transportation is close, very helpfully staff! Good solution in summer by the price of this season.

Disliked: The rooms wasn't so clean like the fridge as well. For short time staying and to sleep and shower is perfect.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Zohaib Akhtar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: This is a hostel of long island university. IT is very safe and secure. A guard at the entrance 24/7. Also the student volunteers who run this place are very friendly and supportive. They try to make your experience a good one.

Disliked: I room I stayed in was the dirtiest room I ever stayed in. In fact, I couldn't even imagine a place which can be more filthy. There was garbage on the floor. There empty soda bottles, shopping bags, used tissue papers, on the floor. I had to look down to find a place to put my steps while walking. There were 4 desks in the room, all covered with dirty cloths and empty bottles of toiletries. The washrooms were not washed for ages. Its like they had never cleaned those rooms. They think it is your responsibility to clean that garbage when you move in. If I would have seen that room before paying, I wouldn't have paid a single penny for it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pierre Andreja Santos

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 August 2014 Pierre Andreja would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. very spacious and clean. Cheap and very accessible via the Dekalb ave metro station. You can get to Manhattan in 15 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gena Ricki Hale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Gena Ricki would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best value for your money in New York, it is a secure place with security all around, it is a great place to stay.

Disliked: Gena Ricki left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brankica Shelly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Brankica would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at BNAIP was a pleasant surprise. I'm used to staying in dorms and crowded hostels so I expected a messy, crowded room but it was really clean and spacious. And there were just 2 of us in the room that can accommodate 4 people.

Disliked: Brankica left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: unorganised and dirty rooms and bathrooms, no bathrooms on each floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilfreda Upton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Wilfreda would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Great for students with small budget.

Disliked: Wilfreda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reuben Edelmiro

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2014 Reuben would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice and big. There's only 4 people per room.

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 August 2014

Liked: Nice staff, not far from Manhattan.

Disliked: You what you paid for. I'm not usually picky with where I stay, but this place was very gross. The place is run down, the rooms had trash in them, mattress was a box of springs. There are safes but you can not put your stuff in them. The bathrooms were gross, I found a cockroach in the shower. No kitchen and you could only get water from a dirty water fountain.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, and the price was good for the services

Disliked: The bathing area is very dirty, and the cleaning was very minimal. Hygiene should be key and I felt this not the top most priority for the establishment. They need to improve in room cleaning. It should be everyday that the rooms should be cleaned, not every three or four days.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and the location

Disliked: the average cleanliness. But eh, it's summer student housing, what more could I expect?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Chery

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 July 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time ever staying at a hostel, and I was not sure what to expect. This staff was really nice, and the view from my room was amazing.

Disliked: There was nothing in particular that I did not like. It was exactly what I wanted a quiet place with a great view.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Safety, Cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Valášek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: it wasn't typical kind of hostel. It didn't have kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Suchit Kumbhare

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 July 2014 Suchit would recommend this property

Liked: It's safe and secured. Access to subways and library. Makes good good contact with fellow traveller's.

Disliked: Suchit left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miha Lunar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Miha would recommend this property

Liked: The check-in was fairly frictionless, I was even able to pay with cash, but they only accept exact amounts. There was also a $20 cash deposit (as noted) for which I got linens and a towel along with the Long Island University card that you need to get onto the campus and through the dorm door (it has a card lock). Near the end of my stay I extended it for 2 days without much of a problem, but I had to check with them afterwards to see if I was able to stay in the same room (I was). The staff I interacted with was always friendly. The location is great, 15-20min from Manhattan with the nearest subway across the street from the property. You can probably get from your door to the subway in under 5 minutes. The hostel is located in the dorm housing on the campus of the Long Island University. There are two entrances to the campus (to my knowledge), however only the main one is opened at night. Each of them has a guard posted 24 / 7. I've never had trouble entering or leaving, you just tell them that you're checking in at first, then you get a LIU card that you can show. The place seemed very secure as there's a second guard at the housing entrance too (that's where you scan the QR code that you get). The people and rooms felt safe as well. The 4 bed dorm I stayed in was very spacious as described. It also had an air conditioner, so the room wasn't too hot (you will probably have to negotiate with others so it's not too cold though ;)). The bed was a bit creaky, but otherwise fine, so I didn't have trouble sleeping. The four beds were separate, since it's a converted dorm, so there were no bunk beds. The room I was staying in had three pin-code safes (would probably fit a 15" laptop if you wanted, but no larger). They're meant for long-term reservations, but you can use them if they're free. They didn't have other lockers (at least not for short-term bookers), but that's not so unusual for a hostel. Due to my tremendous ability to break things, I managed to lock all my things in one of the safes before some sort of an anti-tampering mechanism kicked in. I managed to get help from some friendly people in the building and a guy was able to unlock it with the servicing device he had. There was also a large living space with a TV and power outlets on my floor, however I didn't spend a lot of time there. The rooms also had power outlets, but they can be in inconvenent positions depending on which bed you're sleeping in. Apart from the first couple of days, the restroom was fairly clean. The one on my floor had a surprisingly good hand dryer, but maybe it's just that I wasn't expecting it. The showers didn't run out of hot water and the one I used worked fine (but remember, turn it all the way to the MAX to get hot water!).

Disliked: The air conditioner was on the loud side, personally it didn't bother me that much, but if you have trouble sleeping in a noisy environment, you might want to watch out for that. The dorm room doors are somewhat heavy and clumsy, but you get used to that. Due to the keycard entry, it's a bit awkward carrying your card with you into the shower. The showers were for dorms, so don't expect complete privacy. There was a curtain into the shower area with three showers and a bench and a curtain for each shower. The restroom was somewhat dirty when I arrived, but it received a full cleaning after a day or two and it remained fairly clean for the rest of my stay. The one I used had two urinals and three stalls. The stalls were in a pretty bad shape, but workable with a bit of force. The toilets were more or less ok (pull the stick thing to flush!). I had to evacuate down the stairs due to a fire alarm twice during my stay, but that's just my bad luck I guess and it's not the fault of the hostel. Neither were serious and I got to see the building fire alarm lights flash like a Christmas tree from outside, so it wasn't that bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Patton

Alone

City break

07 July 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the subway is just a couple of minutes away. The rooms are neat as well as the bathrooms.

Disliked: Just a lot of people. But hey, it's New York.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ornan Bobly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Ornan would recommend this property

Liked: It' really close to everything you want to explore if you're a first-timer in NY. Great rooms, nice facilities and friendly staff at the most affordable price anywhere in NY. What more can you ask for?

Disliked: Ornan left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ALEJANDRO FRANCO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 ALEJANDRO would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. JUST FOR GO AND SLEEP

Disliked: ALEJANDRO left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alejandro Cordova

Alone

City break

25 June 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bathrooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms (by NYC standards) and a fantastic location- right by the subway for a super quick commute to Manhattan. There are 2 security checkpoints to get into the building so it felt very safe.

Disliked: There was no garbage bin in my room so people just threw trash wherever. There also weren't any lockers so I had to carry my laptop around with me everywhere.