We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NYC Summer Dorms

Hostel | 1 University Plaza, New York City, New York, USA NY 11201

85.9% Overall Rating

104 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

Steven Mills thinks…

"That was a great place to stay! nice area, big rooms, respectible staff, nothing bothered me"

Read all NYC Summer Dorms reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Reservations are non-cancelable--the total reservation will be charged if cancelled or in case of a no-show. Adjusting dates are allowed up until 7 days before your check-in; otherwise the original balance will be charged. Please note the property only accepts guests from 18 to 30 years of age.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 60.5% 44 reviews
Five Spot Loft
33.00 USD

Hostel 71.9% 129 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 63.2% 59 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
39.95 USD

Hostel 85.5% 195 reviews
Broadway Lodge
28.00 USD

Apartment 71.1% 60 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel 51.9% 6 reviews
The Sohotel
73.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.7% 147 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
29.95 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 379 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

104 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NYC Summer Dorms'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steven Mills

Alone

City break

29 July 2015 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: That was a great place to stay! nice area, big rooms, respectible staff, nothing bothered me

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jim Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2015 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and convenient to travel in New York. It is very closed to transportation. A great place to stay! nice area, big rooms, respectible staff, nothing bothered me.

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fredrick Riley

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2015 Fredrick would recommend this property

Liked: It was suprisingly good. I expected the worst coz I know it's a student dorm but the rooms were big for NY standards. They limit it to just 4 people per room and we were onyl 2 my room. I'll be back here next week. Hopefully, I don't get a full room again.

Disliked: Fredrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvester Parks

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2015 Sylvester would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. The building was secure and close to the subway. You can get to all the great sights in minutes. Best location,friendly staff and great atmosphere. Best value for your money.

Disliked: Sylvester left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marilyn Aguilar

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 July 2015 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Don't compare it to a hotel or bnb. This is a student dorm that was opened to the public. It has the bare necessities and that's it. But it's really practical if you're going to NY on a tight budget. The rooms are cleana and the beds are comfy.

Disliked: Marilyn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orville Gonzalez

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 July 2015 Orville would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very good experience for me. I read some complaints with this place but thankfully, I didn't encounter them. My room was clean and so were the bathrooms. Really can't complain about anything with it. I only had 1 roommate but the rooms could fit 4 people.

Disliked: Orville left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and clean, and the staff especially security, were friendly. It is very close to a subway station that goes right into town.

Disliked: There was no atmosphere or facilities to meet people, and the showers were very basic- no shelves, hooks, or even a door -just a cubicle and a curtain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Belinda Carson

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2015 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: It's nice place.

Disliked: Belinda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Mendez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Norma would recommend this property

Liked: I just love everything about it. The idea is really great - turning college dorms into summer housing for interns!

Disliked: Norma left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chester Bates

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Chester would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the vibe of the place. The communal living conditions really makes you appreciate the people you're with. Luckily, the guys in my room we're all grea guys and I had a great time hanging out with them.

Disliked: Chester left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Paul

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2015 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest accommodation I found. I liked the location, close to the subway.

Disliked: They couldn't place our group together in a room. :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martha Ward

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway. Just minutes from the hottest spots in NY. Had everything I needed for my stay. The rooms were big with only 4 guests per room. The bathrooms were adequately cleaned.

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laverne Stone

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Laverne would recommend this property

Liked: Overall it was a great alternative to pricey accommodations in NY. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: I asked for a bottom bunk but they couldn't give me one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Fong

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best! I had the best time of my life during my stay here. I will never forget Julie! The place was awesome too!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Rice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were everything we were expecting and actually even better. We are two girls who paid for a shared four female room and were lucky enough to have the room just for the two of us because there were more available rooms in the campus for other visitors. The beds were comfortable and inside the room there was even a microwave and a fridge. We used the microwave and worked perfectly.

Disliked: It was the first few days of the summer hostel - so I am sure the kinks were being worked out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kari Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff. The dorm provided the perfect place for my NY visit.

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nellie Meunier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2015 Nellie would recommend this property

Liked: A great idea: renting University dorms during Summer. Entry into the building is very secured, it is very well connected to the metro and you cannot beat the price in NYC

Disliked: I stayed a week, had my own room to myself and think I saw about 7 people. Didn't get to speak to anyone. Not a place to go if you want to meet people but great if you need a cheap room near Manhattan

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexander Perkins

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

01 July 2015 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good as it's literally minutes away from Manhattan by subway and the staff can be helpful sometimes.

Disliked: There really wasn't a social scene here e.g. no social activities scheduled and the wifi was a hit or miss at times at least for the 12th floor. Also, there were no lockers, only drawers, and the only place to leave bags before/after checkin/checkout was out in the hallway left unsecured. On top of that, the water fountains didn't really work.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rodolfo Bonatti

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 July 2015

Liked: It is near subway stations.

Disliked: The staff blamed us for a battery problem in the door, that keep us out of the room for 30 min, the beds were too old, the floor was dirty, and the staff did not do anything about it when I complained.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Cortez

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2015 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Just a bit of walk to the metro station. But you can catch a bus if you're feeling lazy. ;-)

Disliked: Leonard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhonda Lambert Lambert

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Rhonda Lambert would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. The staff are very nice, especially their manager Diana. Very accessible too.

Disliked: Rhonda Lambert left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: university location, safe, close to the subway

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malcolm Blake

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 February 2015 Malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place. A good alternative to hotels which can be very expensive.

Disliked: Malcolm left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! The building was secure and close to the subway. The rooms were limited tto 4 people only.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hope Bell

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2015 Hope would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Just across the subway. Only 10 minutes from downtown Manhattan. Plus it's inside a campus so there's no question about security. You have to pass 2 guards to get to the dorm. And the rooms are big and clean.

Disliked: Hope left no negative feedback.