HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of British North American Internship Program

Hostel | 1 University Plaza, New York City, New York, USA NY 11201

80.9% Overall Rating

29 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2013)

"in the university, the staffs are students too! safe and good atmosphere. people here are very helpful and nice. large space rooms with enough space for luggage. location, close to Canal, and easy to book a boardway…"

Read all British North American Internship Program reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted

Important Information

You can cancel your reservation without penalty 7 days in advance, but please note that any booking deposits through third-party websites are non-refundable. You are responsible for the full cost of your reservation if you wish to cancel within less than 7 days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Pacific Loft Apartments
34.00 USD

Apartment 65.1% 30 reviews
Five Spot Loft
30.00 USD

Hostel 80.1% 74 reviews
NYC Manhattan Guesthouse
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
NYC Hostel
27.90 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
39.95 USD

Hostel 81.7% 84 reviews
Broadway Lodge
40.00 USD

Apartment 71.4% 45 reviews
The Sohotel
39.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 146 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
29.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 301 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'British North American Internship Program'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Lorelai Germain

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 August 2013

Liked: The location is great and the campus is very nice.

Disliked: I don't feel safe, it is very noisy and there were men in the women's bathroom in their underwear.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: in the university, the staffs are students too! safe and good atmosphere. people here are very helpful and nice. large space rooms with enough space for luggage. location, close to Canal, and easy to book a boardway tickets by walkin to Jay Street. they have the elevator so convenient for big luggge carrier. easy to find restaurant around.

Disliked: noise from the road and car could not be avoided. aircon is old and noisy so could not close the window and use aircon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david traore

Alone

Business / conference

30 July 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: location ,staff, people

Disliked: when the bathroom broke.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The campus is beautiful. And the staff is a nice girl.

Disliked: Bathroom is not so good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall you get what you pay for. The place is dated, but with only 3 people to a room it is much less cramped then other places I have stayed. It is a secure campus and right next to the metro. The rooms also have air con - which in the current weather was a life saver! If you're on a budget this is not a bad place to stay and I would go back!

Disliked: The staff were not the most helpful when coming to checking in, initialy putting me and my friend in seperate rooms with 'no chance of moving' (the girl who was dealing with us was very rude, although not all staff were like this). Thankfully after complaining one of the other staff members managed to sort something out after our second night! The bathrooms could do with a clean twice a day (even a quick wipe round would make a difference!!) With so many people using these facilities on each floor it did get dirty very quickly!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some very nice and lovely students staff, work hard, some nice security very responsibility,student life, nice campus, good location.

Disliked: Facilities are no good, nothing in the kitchen, have to buy the pans...few security are rude...bathroom and room no clean...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego alves da silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place. 10 of 10

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Nothiing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Susanne Ott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in lovely Brooklyn, Subway closeby, grocery and restaurants closeby. Very friendly and helpful staff, free wifi! Nice garden and security guards 24/7. Definitely an amazing choice for a small budget.

Disliked: Bathrooms were quite dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that you have your privacy, you share a room with someone but you will not even notice that someone is around you.I like also the fact that here are a lot of students and you will probably aspect something like noise, but no, this place is so peaceful .

Disliked: Everything was ok.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013

Liked: The security officer in the door during the afternoon was really nice. Half an hour to downtown by subway.

Disliked: Everybody, both employees and those who live there are very unpleasant and rude, starting with the girl who greeted us on arrival and overcharged us saying "what if they are a few dollars more", followed by the girls who leave the bathroom a mess, with hair stuck to the shower wall and remains in the bowl toilet because nobdy seems to know how to flush, the guy who looked despised when we asked to borrow a knife in the kitchen (we didn´t know that not even dishes where available), to the security officer in the evening that almost spit us because we asked him a question about the entry card. The room was quite spacious but dirty. In the bathroom there is no ventilation and is very dirty, disgusting while entering. I will NEVER go there again!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very secure

Disliked: just a little tricky to find initially.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that it is in a university campus, because there are security guards at all the entrances and inside the campus feels very like any other school campus. It is quiet, safe, and green, despite being in the middle of Brooklyn! Close enough to transportation, and the price was great when I booked it!

Disliked: I was told the price can vary up to $40 difference for the same bed depending on how busy they are. So, if the price is currently good, and you're thinking you may just wait to book more nights if you need them when you get there--don't do it! I'd even say to book more than you need if you're not sure, because it's worth losing $25 on an unused night if you don't have to pay $50 for that night later!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent for what I paid - I noticed that the dorm rooms fluctuate in price: the first time I paid $20 a night, the second time i paid $15- and considering the location this is excellent, possibly the cheapest I've stayed in while in the US. The staff were nice also.

Disliked: Apart from the location everything else wasn't that good. I understand the place is just starting, so checking in was pretty slow, and there was confusion with the room and having to change rooms on my second night, but then it turned out it was ok but only finding out after having packed everything. If you're looking for a place with a good homely atmosphere, that has a usable kitchen then I'd recommend the guesthouses further in Brooklyn, but if you're here just for a couple of days and only really planning on sightseeing in Manhattan, then I'd stay here, BUT ONLY, if the price was $20 or under, I would not pay more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennie Ang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: Really convenient location next to the subway.

Disliked: Jennie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sweet Chiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 June 2013 Sweet would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing - one of the best hostels I've stayed in during my trip so far. Where do I even begin? For starters, it's on a beautiful campus, and there's plenty of lawn to lay out and enjoy the sun. It felt like I was in an Ivy League school, but in reality I was in New York! The location was amazing and convenient. I originally had qualms about staying in Brooklyn, but amazingly it was just one stop to Soho and downtown Manhattan. I was able to meet my friend in Union Square in just 15 minutes, while my friend staying in Time Square took 45 minutes!

Disliked: Sweet left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zach Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Zach would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was cheap and convenient, location was convenient.

Disliked: Zach left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Andersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient location!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachelle Willis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Rachelle would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious breakfast, convenient location - it was literally right next to the subway.

Disliked: Rachelle left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms

Disliked: Bathrooms and sitting areas not cleaned.