HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yoav Lodgehouse

Guesthouse | 5461 New Utrecht Ave, New York City, New York, USA NY 11219

84.9% Overall Rating

32 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"It's super-close to the subway. There are a lot of interesting traditional Jewish small businesses around"

Read all Yoav Lodgehouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Brooklyn B&B
29.95 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 59 reviews
Kings Hotel
59.47 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Seven Days Suites Hotel
39.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Royal Suites NY
39.50 USD

Hostel 75.4% 10 reviews
NYC Hostel
27.90 USD

Hostel 72.0% 85 reviews
Serenity at Home
57.50 USD

Apartment 92.8% 44 reviews
Lefferts Manor Bed & Breakfast
44.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.4% 47 reviews
British North American Internship Program
24.17 USD

Hostel 80.9% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

32 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yoav Lodgehouse'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014

Liked: It's super-close to the subway. There are a lot of interesting traditional Jewish small businesses around

Disliked: It stank! There was a really bad smell in the air.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tadija ?ular

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Tadija would recommend this property

Liked: While staying in hostel I met so much great and possitive people. It was like a huge family and we had such a fun. Also good thing that there is a computer in Hostel, what was great for everyone. Also good Wi-fi connection. Actually host showed us a bit of town and recomment some places where we can go eat, drink, having fun.. Really, really good.

Disliked: Tadija left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 March 2014

Liked: Checking out and leaving. Thank goodness!

Disliked: Absolutely the worst hostel I have ever stayed at in my life. Upon entering, you are "welcomed" with the most disgusting smell. I could hardly make it up the stair case. The hostel is nowhere near Manhattan and takes forever on the train to get there. Most of the rooms are directly in front of the subway. It actually feels as if a train is going to crash into the building every few minutes. Nobody in my room could sleep and everybody was complaining. The heat of the room is unbearable. You can't breathe! So much so I got sick the first night as it was so hot and dry and I could hardly leave. There is only one bathroom on each floor and several times I had to wait to go to the toilet. Bathroom was messy with water all over the floors. There are some great hostels in Manhattan, pay the extra few dollars and have a great time in a fast if city. This place will destroy you. Simply the worst place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christina kornegay

Alone

Business / conference

18 March 2014 christina would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay. Everyone is professional & respects each others space. The staff is very friendly & there are great places to eat in the neighborhood. Its so convienent right by the train.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gratia Nirere Dushime

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014 Gratia Nirere would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful! I stayed a week and I had a great moment, I met incredible people over there. I would recommended to people who want to meet people in a smaller environment then the hostel in the City.

Disliked: The bathroom could be cleaner but it wasn't too dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and fellow guests were very friendly, terrific atmosphere.

Disliked: A little far from Manhattan, but the hostel is located right next to the subway stop. However, it is nice to see a different part of New York City.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Becker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: - the staff was always very helpful and friendly - very nice atmosphere - free wi-fi - free computer using - free tv - kitchen with fridge for everybody - showers were warm when you wanted it and cold when you wanted it - everything was clean - the subway is just 10 metres from the door away - lots of stores and restaurants are very near to the guesthouse - free lockers - you meet cool people from all over the world - and you won't get a better stay for such a good price!

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked it here!

Disliked: A bit far from Manhattan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rommel Sofia

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2014 Rommel would recommend this property

Liked: the rate per night of stay is really a good price, and not really very far from manhattan. the subway station is just right at the doorstep

Disliked: Rommel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Rimmey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Close to train, safe neighborhood, super clean and cute, very nice people.

Disliked: Hot water didn't always work.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really clean and nice, and has a great location

Disliked: They only accept cash as a pay method

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its hidden from the city. A lovely spot to stay at and enjoy.

Disliked: Everything was great. Not a thing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very very nice! you don't pay so much, and you get a lot!

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Thiele

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a little family. There were not that many people so it was really private.

Disliked: It was a long trip to Manhattan.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paulina Wolniak

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi. Small friendly cozy hostel. Good price. Close to subway. Cheap aera.

Disliked: very far from city

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful, secure atmosphere

Disliked: Stairs

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was clean, friendly staff, good wifi

Disliked: very hard to find

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, separate rooms for girls and guys.

Disliked: Far from Manhattan, unwelcoming neighborhood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near subway, nice rooms

Disliked: Only one bathroom for a whole floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Valtteri Haarahiltunen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Valtteri would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the subway, stores nearby

Disliked: The common rooms had no air conditioning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuel Kakraba

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and go to every length to assist guest with precise information about finding your way around New York which was very important to me as a first timer in the city.

Disliked: The only thing I dislike about this property is the incorrect address on HostelBookers.com which put me in a lot of stress before I was able to locate the property.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large rooms, friendly people, staff were accomodating as I made a second reservation on the spot and they were able to help me out, able to leave bags the day we checked out for the day until I needed to leave that night Close to subway (but a little far from the action midtown) but not a big deal

Disliked: A little hard to find, no sign on door, wrong address on website (in the directions it is correct), only 2 bathrroms for the whole lodgehouse which meant long waits, staff are not around all the time (time for check in and out suck if you are arriving early or late), If you are in a room on the front side the train run past the window so very loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly Lao

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2013 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice house on the inside, and very clean with secure codes. I stayed at a very large hostel compared to this one the night before ("the largest hostel in the world"), and this hostel is better because it's less crowded, and you feel like you have your space more. However, there are only 2 bathrooms for an average of 15 people, which can be a hassle. However, I felt more at home at a smaller hostel than at a larger one like I mentioned earlier.

Disliked: but warning - neighborhood may not be what you expect, with a lost of Orthodox Jewish people walking around once you get off the Subway, and random people on the streets, like a stranger that was near the lodge house saying inappropriate things to me. The house itself, however, is great. They DON'T TAKE CARDS so be sure you have cash on hand, otherwise they will suggest that you go to the Citi Bank downstairs right nearby, which charges ridiculous fees.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible with the D train, good location both with regards to Manhattan and the beach at Coney Island. Area a bit noisy, but quite safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - a little further from Manhattan then I had initially wanted (45 minute metro ride to Times Square), but only about a block from the Subway exit. Overall the travel time was worth the money I saved staying at this site. The hostel was very clean! There is 1 bathroom for about every 15 people, but it was clean the entire time I was there.

Disliked: It was a little hard to find. There is no sign and I didn't have a code to get into the door so I had to knock until someone answered the door.