HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Rivieria New York

Hostel | 1590 106 Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10029

82.0% Overall Rating

13 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2013)

Patricia Jaluska thinks…

"The stuffs were really nice with us and helpful. I liked because its pretty close to central park."

Read all The Rivieria New York reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Manhattan Hostel
27.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
International Students Residence
39.95 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Lula Apartment
90.00 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
Efuru Guest House & Suites
59.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Jazz on the Park
39.00 USD

Hostel 69.7% 1142 reviews
Central Park North
42.99 USD

Hostel 80.3% 35 reviews
Chic&Budget 127 Apartments
49.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Chic&Budget 127 Guesthouse
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.0%

Overall Rating

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Rivieria New York'

Atmosphere
81.4%
Location
81.4%
Facilities
84.3%
Cleanliness
65.7%
Staff
97.1%
Value
84.3%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful and friendly staff, small and private atmosphere

Disliked: no lockers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anja Kamphuizen

Alone

City break

03 January 2014 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was nice, cozy rooms.

Disliked: Bird in room next to mine.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: The hostel is an appartment building of a man with 4 dorm beds insinde.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Jaluska

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The stuffs were really nice with us and helpful. I liked because its pretty close to central park.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subways, super friendly people in charge. Balcony was fantastic ... wish I had more time to use it!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Powell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very small hostel, i.e. an apartment that slept 4 people, but it felt really homely and more like an flat than a hostel. It had great views over central park. I really enjoyed my stay here and think it was great value for money.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything, it possibly could do with some more storage in the dorm room as having four girls in one room it got quite messy at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Simone Dozier

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely enjoyed staying here. I stayed three nights to sightsee the city and visit a friend. The location was very close to the subway, both the 123 and the 456 lines. I met three other very friendly girls staying there as well and the staff were very nice and accomadating. They put out breakfast for us every morning. Gave us each a key to come and go as we please. They also had a cookout the night before I left. I thought it was very kind of the owner to do that for us. He also had very interesting and nice friends. And their movie collection was AWESOME!

Disliked: I really disliked the questionable red stains on the couch and I found hair on my blanket. Other than that everything else was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly. It has an amazing view to Central park. Very close to the subway station and bus stop. Its not a fancy place, but worth the money totally. I really enjoyed my stay and would consider it for my next trip to NY!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: It could have been cleaner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Janik

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts are really nice, helpful and entertaining. When you are looking for a place which is special and not like a typical hostel, where you have to take a number and study the rules of behaviour, then this place is the one to be. It is located next to central Park and you get a fantastic view, for which you must pay somewhere else.

Disliked: It is kind of hard to find - which can give you problems with booking shuttles etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Céline Trézéguet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Céline would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really quiet (perfect to rest), and well situated. The staff is really welcoming. The atmosphere is homelike, and have the keys of the place is really freely. Breakfast is included.

Disliked: The adress that is gevien is not really correct nor pecise, and nothing in entrance's hall precises that the hostel is here. This has to be improved!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys who work there are very friendly and helpful. They have a computer with internet access you can use, and handy map of the subway on the walls. I know Manhattan fairly well, so I didn't need directions or suggestions, but I think the staff could have provided them if I needed. The breakfast was nothing special, but nice to have, and the view from the little balcony overlooking the north side of Central Park is great.

Disliked: No real complaints. The shower had a slight high-pitched noise while on, but nothing unbearable. This is just a tiny hostel in an apartment, which was a little strange for me at first, but I ended up really enjoying it.