HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Portobello 898

Guesthouse | 1449 Broadway, New York City, New York, USA 11221

78.0% Overall Rating

5 out of 7 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2013)

Dawei Wu thinks…

"The decoration inside is awesome, very cosy. The diverse background of roommates make it a really interesting place to stay and have fun in."

Read all The Portobello 898 reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Note: 50% of the booking amount will be collected as a refundable deposit. This will be refunded upon check out provided there are no damages to the property. Cancellations made within 60 days prior to will incur a charge of the full amount of the booking. House cleaning is $10 per week, this is a mandatory charge. Check in time is at 2pm. However we do understand that can be difficult to make with late fights or work schedules but you must notify us via email of a later than 2pm check in so we can accommodate you as there is no reception. Check-ins after 5pm will incur a $25 charge. Check ins after midnight will incur a $35 charge. This is an apartment/loft share with other guests. We have provided a large fully equipped kitchen for all your cooking needs, we do ask you to clean up after yourself so all can enjoy the benefit of cooking together! There is no smoking allowed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

The Portobello 805
22.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
NY Moore Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 84.0% 153 reviews
The New York Loft Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 84.2% 440 reviews
NYC Guesthouse
26.95 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 330 reviews
Luke's Place
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 4 reviews
B Hotel & Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 79.8% 115 reviews
Missing Lantern Residence Suites
41.25 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Five Spot Loft
30.00 USD

Hostel 85.7% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.0%

Overall Rating

5 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Portobello 898'

Atmosphere
77.1%
Location
68.6%
Facilities
82.9%
Cleanliness
77.1%
Staff
77.1%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.9%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013

Liked: The communal areas are big.

Disliked: There is no reception or even any signage of any kind, anywhere, that even lets you know you are in the right place! We had to pre-arrange a time to be let in, and the person wasn't there when we arrived - late at night! It is definitely NOT a hostel and who knows how it got onto hostelbookers in the first place. It is more a place for long-term tenants, of which everyone else there was. The location did not feel safe at all, and I wouldn't recommend it for people on their own, females, or for travelling to and from at night time. Even just walking from the train station was a bit creepy. We were charged a cleaning fee yet we didn't see a cleaner or evidence of any cleaning being done at all during our stay. We booked and paid for a twin room (double the cost of a single in the same room) yet they only bothered to make up one bed. The train line goes right past the bedroom windows and it is insanely noisy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dawei Wu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Dawei would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration inside is awesome, very cosy. The diverse background of roommates make it a really interesting place to stay and have fun in.

Disliked: The property is located in a seemingly not quite safe neighborhood.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character, the location and the price.

Disliked: I didn't like to pay extra 10$ for the linen and towels.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: Not too expensive!

Disliked: Had to arrange a specific time to check in, however the woman in charge was not there, she said because we hadn't rung to confirm we were on the way, so we had to return at a later time and were then charged a late check in fee. Didn't see a cleaner in the whole five days we were there either, so discovered the hard way we had to byo toilet paper!! The ad on the website isn't technically wrong, however 'linen' really is just that, we had to make a special request for blankets (were at first told there was heating), and it doesn't mention that the train rattles right past your window! Also not the safest location for anyone traveling alone or at night. Not sure how this place came to be on hostelbookers, the few other people staying there seemed more like long termers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RioAnne Laurel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 October 2012 RioAnne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the big open space and all the art! The roommates were fun and my room was very comfortable.

Disliked: RioAnne left no negative feedback.