HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Times Square Hostel

Hostel | 442 West 54th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10019

46.9% Overall Rating

5 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2013)

gemma andaya thinks…

"Decor is beautiful! Great location! In the heart of east village bars, shopping, restaurants, clubs, bookstores, & a great view to people watch if you feel like staying in. The night staff is a bit…"

Read all Times Square Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Important Notes: - During the christmas and new year period, full payment is required at the time of booking - For bookings of 1000 USD or more, full payment is required at the time of booking - The customer can only accept guests between 18 and 45 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 54.7% 7 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel 31
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 939 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 62.7% 233 reviews
FIT HOTEL
45.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 421 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
46.9%

Overall Rating

5 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Times Square Hostel'

Atmosphere
45.9%
Location
65.9%
Facilities
37.7%
Cleanliness
35.3%
Staff
45.9%
Value
50.6%
Safety
47.1%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014

Liked: The host was very accommodating in the property.

Disliked: I was under the impression that I would be staying in Times Square for the location - but was then told that the hostel was located in East Village. The apartment was dirty and the bed slats were falling apart.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014

Liked: It was close to site seeing areas

Disliked: Far to small for how much it cost, one bed was a wooden plank pretty much, owner of room entered whenever he felt like to collect things (no phone call or text to say he needed something) , Sometimes while we were even still asleep in the morning, didn't feel comfortable that he may have been entering while we weren't there (as a group of travels that didn't make us feel safe leaving belongs in the room).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingrid Featherstone

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 November 2013 Ingrid would recommend this property

Liked: Location, safety, staff, clean, facilities

Disliked: Nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013

Liked: I didn't like it

Disliked: The cleaning was never made during my staying. There was a clogged sink that Will promised to fix and never did and at two days before leaving, he went there to make the bed for two new guests. Wil used dirty sheets (dirty by menstruation, I think) on the beds. disgusting! I have photos of the sink and the dirty sheet and I can send you. The owner of the hostel has no notion of hygiene at all. It was a big mistake stayng at Eas Village Apartment.The place can't be recomended for humans.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gemma andaya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Decor is beautiful! Great location! In the heart of east village bars, shopping, restaurants, clubs, bookstores, & a great view to people watch if you feel like staying in. The night staff is a bit grouchy, but can you can blame them when everyone is out partying and you're at work at 2am...?

Disliked: gemma left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: Facilities and cleanliness are the worst!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Work / volunteering

21 June 2012

Liked: Location in the Time Square area 'was great, subway stations close by, many convenience stores, restaurants and fast food places to eat.

Disliked: I was TOLD that a 20 year old girl from Denmark was going to share the couch with me. I wasn't asked...TOLD!! All my roommates were great, they respected each other property (esp pc) and nothing was touched. I had left my laptop installing programs for my online school course and apparently she decided that she had to use the outlet that I was plugged into. There war outlets all over the apartment....I had left my laptop on the bottom bunk asking roommate first, ok with her ...when I got back the girl was sitting on the couch, my laptop was unplugged and moved on the bed. My leaving the pc on was important and I was meeting a deadline for completion of paper for university. In an quick outburst I was upset, and told her so.........we don;t touch other peoples things esp pc unless we ask first. I have spent the past two days trying to get my computer fixed, they suggested that my pc was either dropped or bumped sharply into the metal bed. The night of the incident she sleep spread eagle on the couch with her pc on the bed with her. t 2am after spending three hours trying to get my pc fixed, she made no effort to move SO I SLEPT ON THE FLOOR. There was no apology from her or even coming and telling me she had made room in the bed. Willy had already caused bad vibes by just coming in and telling girls that they were being moved........we were happy and they didn't want to move. Now he was telling me that she was only 20 years old..excuse me if she was traveling done without her parents she needs to take responsibility. Cleaning lady only came ONCE when we asked for some housekeeping be done. Is is our business about the situation with the family going in next with additional people..think he wanted all of us out before the 21st.

The property's response is...