HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel | JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NJ 07304

92.2% Overall Rating

109 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

Daniela Müller thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff, small & mostly quiet (depends on the guests) guesthouse, we felt comfortable, welcome and at home. Lot of thanks to Jay!!!! (We brought all the cake through every security…"

Read all Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please contact the property directly for directions on how to get the guest house. You will receive the contact details of the property after your booking has been made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

The Executive Days Inn
149.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 62.7% 233 reviews
Hotel 309
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 169 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 51.2% 38 reviews
The Sohotel
45.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 146 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
Broadway Lodge
40.00 USD

Apartment 74.5% 48 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

109 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 101 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Besitzerin dieses Hauses ist sehr nett und vor allem auch hilfsbereit. An Ausstattung fehlt hier rein gar nichts. Selbst Internet steht hier kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Preis Leistungsverhältnis ist echt top!!!

Disliked: Leider keine Klimaanlage...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything. The owner was great, the hospitality, the place was clean, the neigbourhood was very calm, even if it seems a little bit dangerous at first sight.

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Guesthouse was nice, clean and safety.

Disliked: Location was a bit far from Manhattan but at the end the trip with PATH-train and 15 minutes walk went guickly and easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place to stay. Kris, the proprietor was very caring, attentive and friendly. She gave us lifts to shopping malls and even drove us back when I picked up the wrong size shoes! A homely place with a proper kitchen to do your own cooking. A pleasant and typically american neighbourhood. Ideal to meet other travellers and even though the hostel was over the Hudson river, in New Jersey, it only took about half an hour to get to downtown Manhatten - which wasn't too much of a hassle.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price / value. Very clean and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location ... you have to walk 20 minutes to the subway .... but we knew it when booking. If you have only a few days in NY to spent you may look for a hostel closer to the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Laws

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was incredibly freindly, offered advice and help finding nice restuarants and things in Manhattan and generally went out of her way to help the guests. The property was clean, tidy, had its own kitchen and was well managed.

Disliked: The short path train journey into Manhattan during the day really wasnt a big issue, they come regularly and on time and are cheap ($20 for a week unlimted). However after a day of walking around town if you wanted to pop back for a shower and head back in for the evening you did need a bit of motivation. This obviously insn't the property's fault but worth mentioning. However when balanced against the seriuous value for money this accomoodation offers it was well worth it. I would also say one of our rooms was quite small for a double.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne van Hemmen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cosy, safe and quiet. Ideal to just rest after a whole day of sightseeing. The staff (Kris) is super friendly as well. Never thought it was going to be this comfortable for just 26 dollars a night.

Disliked: It was quite a trip to the city centre (a little hour: 15min walk, then PATH en metro), but it was worth the trip because you wouldn't be able to get the same quietness and good value for your money in Manhattan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very nice and clean. Kris is a nice person and helpful and very friendly and explained us a lot of things.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice time in the house. It was very clean, comfortable and Kris was very helpfull and nice. I recommend to stay here!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All-around Information for trips to NY or NJ Very helpful staff/owner Cheap and good Service

Disliked: 10min on foot to the train station in Jersey No good bars or pubs in the area (expect "Astor Bar" for a couple of beers & watching sports)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and compared to hostels located in NYC you get so much more for your money if you stay in Jersey. And it i not as far as it sounds, just about 2 stops to get to NYC.

Disliked: The nightlife is a bit far away.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Rempel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a simple and clean place. it offers all the things needed for an indipendent and stressless vacation. The owner is very openminded, friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is very comfortable. We really liked the balance between privacy and the opportunity to meet other travling people. In sum, we had a very nice stay.

Disliked: It's a little way down to the next PATH train station but it's definitely manageable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owner

Disliked: rooms situated in basement, no sun light

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is really really friendly and helpful, and it is in a real American neigborhood and a house with a white fence around the porch

Disliked: It's quite a trip to get to city center. If you have enough time on your trip, this place is awesome, if you only have a couple of days, stay closer to the city center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maarten Pieters

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: come as strangers, leave as friends...:-)

Disliked: nothing worth mentioning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, many facilities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff The location The Guesthouse

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lam Thi Tran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Lam Thi would recommend this property

Liked: + clean bathroom & towels + FULLY equipped kitchen + shops, restaurants etc. just around the corner + owner is very helpful

Disliked: - 20 min walk, then 20 min trip (with path) to manhatten; not that bad, but annoying when you are tired after sightseeing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had everything what we needed. We didn't had to care about anything. Rooms are big and in a very good situation. Beds are also comfortable. The owner Kris is very helpful and has a lot of hints for trips to Manhatten and the greater Area, so you can save some money and enjoy the time a little bit more. We really enjoyed the stay at Kris' Guesthouse.

Disliked: The area was a little bit too quiet for me. Only a few shops/supermarkets/restaurants around this place and the next subway station is a few minutes to walk. But all in all it's really okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renevey Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Renevey would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend this hostel. Kris is very friendly , the place is clean and quiet. Shower, toilets, fridge, kitchen, are all easily available and free to use. You can also use the washing machine for 3$. The travel from the hostel to the subway station lasts about 10/15 min on foot, or coast 6$ with a cab, and from the station to Manhattan about 20 min, and you can either go to WTC or to the 33rd st. So that's not located so far at all. Finally, the price is really fair compared to many other places in NY itself. Sleeping here is really a bargain!

Disliked: Honestly, the "less good thing" about it would be that you have to buy an extra card for the metro between Manhattan and Jersey City, but it doesn't really matter, because depending on where you would sleep in NY itself, you would finally pay more. I really think that this place is one of the best you can find to visit NY. Thanks for all Kris!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've never stayed in a hostel before, but all in all we were pleased with the accommodation and for the value over the Easter holiday. The room was quite big and had a large chest of drawers, a wardrobe (or old school locker!) and a large desk. There are two shower rooms and a kitchen. We were lucky that it just seemed to be us and one other person.

Disliked: Again, like I said we've never stayed in a hostel before, so these comments might be usual in other places. Hopefully these will give an accurate view of the hostel: 1. It's about a 20-30 minute walk from Journal Square station or a $6 cab ride 2. There is no other common room other than the kitchen 3. It's about 20 minutes to WTC or about 30 minutes to 33rd Street. It's cheap on the PATH but does make it a pain if you want to go out in Manhattan after a day sightseeing 4. There is no nightlife nearby at all! 5. If all the rooms were full when we were there, I think the few toilets/bathrooms would be an issue 6. The bed was a fold out one and was quite uncomfortable Again, with that mentioned, it was really nice and the owners were helpful in directions before we arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Kreeger

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms, nice location, nice people, nice kitchen with everything you may need, quiet, and homey.

Disliked: Parking was a small issue...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Milan Hlavacek

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 October 2010 Milan would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in this guesthouse 5 nights and we had great time. It took us just 2 minutes from Journal Square by taxi. We were in 20 minutes in Midtown by Path.Good Location.Friendly and helpfull staff - picked up us by Penn Station, took us for shopping.We RECOMMEND

Disliked: Milan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Tom Duda

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 October 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse is so homey and pleasant. We would literally equate it to a 5 star hotel. Great location, incredible hospitality, very kind and friendly host. Very clean, very well maintained property. Great kitchen. The host respects your privacy and always gives excellent information. You can not get a better deal than this in the entire area. Please try!

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very nice stay and a very harty welcome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.