We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse

Hostel | JF Kennedy Blvd, Fairview Avenue, New York City, New York, USA NJ 07304

93.9% Overall Rating

122 out of 127 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

George Triantafillos thinks…

"It is 200% better than I expected ,the host Kris was extremely helpful and friendly nothing was too much of a problem,the walk to the Path train was short and safe.I recommend this guest house to all…"

Read all Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please contact the property directly for directions on how to get the guest house. You will receive the contact details of the property after your booking has been made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

The Executive Days Inn
139.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 71.3% 248 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
28.00 USD

Hotel 57.5% 48 reviews
The Sohotel
54.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.7% 147 reviews
Chelsea Inn
49.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
Broadway Lodge
30.00 USD

Apartment 74.2% 52 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
16.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
NYC Manhattan Guesthouse
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

122 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Visit NYC, Sleep In Jersey City Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

hanna foord

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 hanna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very easy to get into NYC. Kris was great! very helpful and knowledgeable about things to see and do in the city. also offers laundry service and parking. Overall very happy with our stay and will be recommending this guesthouse to people!! :-)

Disliked: The only downside we found was it was too hot in the room without aircon. But it was mainly at night as we were out most of the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Michael Behr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 September 2012 Alexander Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The New Jersey Guest House is THE best option you can choose, when travling to New York City. Its located close to the path train which takes you to manhatten within 15 min, The atmosphere is amazing, and you will find everything you could wish there. Kris is the most helpfull and friendly person I ever met in the US. She is full of good advices and tipps and knows the city and the people very good and is abel and willing to help you with any problem you might have while staying here. You want to know where is the best and cheapest possibility for shopping? Or where you can find excellent food in Hoboken/NYC or somewhere else in NJ? You don´t know how to approach all the astonishing things in NYC? Ask Kris, she has a good and fiiting answere for your individual case. The bathrooms are clean and the kitchen has everything you need, Beside that you will meet interisting people there and everyone wants to visit NYC so its easy to find someone to make a trip with, Totally confident!

Disliked: Even if I would sit down and think about a dislike for hours there is nothing which would probably come in my mind!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Seiffert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoined our stay in jersey city, nice place to stay, with a nice porch to stay at night to meet the other guests. Cris is a really friendly and helpful person, we hope to come back again! Manhattan is a few minutes from jersey city by train(Path).

Disliked: Bruno left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Johansson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying with Kris. It was a great way to end our trip, with our own rooms, a kitchen too cook in and a really calm and nice area for us to go for walks and grocery shopping. Its only a 20 min subway ride to 33rd street, and really good connections with trains every 10th min. Kris was a really helpful host, that answered all our questions and had great maps and advices for the best NY experience.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was definitely the best place I could have stayed in! It is a real home away from home, the owner Kris is fantastic - very accommodating and always happy to help with literally anything you need. The rooms are spacious and always cool, even when it was 35 degrees outside. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit New York, you will not find a better place anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing, everything here is fantastic!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amra Mulahusic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012 Amra would recommend this property

Liked: It was a coyz and friendly place with great staff. Cris was very helpful and she made us feel like home. A quiet place with a homie feeling :)

Disliked: The walls were thin and you could here the guests next door. But it was not a bigger problem. The only bad thing was the distance to the city. And two traveling girls like us felt a little bit uncomfortable walking home late at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Besitzerin dieses Hauses ist sehr nett und vor allem auch hilfsbereit. An Ausstattung fehlt hier rein gar nichts. Selbst Internet steht hier kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Preis Leistungsverhältnis ist echt top!!!

Disliked: Leider keine Klimaanlage...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything. The owner was great, the hospitality, the place was clean, the neigbourhood was very calm, even if it seems a little bit dangerous at first sight.

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Guesthouse was nice, clean and safety.

Disliked: Location was a bit far from Manhattan but at the end the trip with PATH-train and 15 minutes walk went guickly and easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place to stay. Kris, the proprietor was very caring, attentive and friendly. She gave us lifts to shopping malls and even drove us back when I picked up the wrong size shoes! A homely place with a proper kitchen to do your own cooking. A pleasant and typically american neighbourhood. Ideal to meet other travellers and even though the hostel was over the Hudson river, in New Jersey, it only took about half an hour to get to downtown Manhatten - which wasn't too much of a hassle.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price / value. Very clean and helpful staff.

Disliked: Location ... you have to walk 20 minutes to the subway .... but we knew it when booking. If you have only a few days in NY to spent you may look for a hostel closer to the city.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Laws

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was incredibly freindly, offered advice and help finding nice restuarants and things in Manhattan and generally went out of her way to help the guests. The property was clean, tidy, had its own kitchen and was well managed.

Disliked: The short path train journey into Manhattan during the day really wasnt a big issue, they come regularly and on time and are cheap ($20 for a week unlimted). However after a day of walking around town if you wanted to pop back for a shower and head back in for the evening you did need a bit of motivation. This obviously insn't the property's fault but worth mentioning. However when balanced against the seriuous value for money this accomoodation offers it was well worth it. I would also say one of our rooms was quite small for a double.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne van Hemmen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, cosy, safe and quiet. Ideal to just rest after a whole day of sightseeing. The staff (Kris) is super friendly as well. Never thought it was going to be this comfortable for just 26 dollars a night.

Disliked: It was quite a trip to the city centre (a little hour: 15min walk, then PATH en metro), but it was worth the trip because you wouldn't be able to get the same quietness and good value for your money in Manhattan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very nice and clean. Kris is a nice person and helpful and very friendly and explained us a lot of things.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice time in the house. It was very clean, comfortable and Kris was very helpfull and nice. I recommend to stay here!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All-around Information for trips to NY or NJ Very helpful staff/owner Cheap and good Service

Disliked: 10min on foot to the train station in Jersey No good bars or pubs in the area (expect "Astor Bar" for a couple of beers & watching sports)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and compared to hostels located in NYC you get so much more for your money if you stay in Jersey. And it i not as far as it sounds, just about 2 stops to get to NYC.

Disliked: The nightlife is a bit far away.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Rempel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a simple and clean place. it offers all the things needed for an indipendent and stressless vacation. The owner is very openminded, friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is very comfortable. We really liked the balance between privacy and the opportunity to meet other travling people. In sum, we had a very nice stay.

Disliked: It's a little way down to the next PATH train station but it's definitely manageable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owner

Disliked: rooms situated in basement, no sun light

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is really really friendly and helpful, and it is in a real American neigborhood and a house with a white fence around the porch

Disliked: It's quite a trip to get to city center. If you have enough time on your trip, this place is awesome, if you only have a couple of days, stay closer to the city center

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maarten Pieters

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: come as strangers, leave as friends...:-)

Disliked: nothing worth mentioning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, many facilities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff The location The Guesthouse

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lam Thi Tran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Lam Thi would recommend this property

Liked: + clean bathroom & towels + FULLY equipped kitchen + shops, restaurants etc. just around the corner + owner is very helpful

Disliked: - 20 min walk, then 20 min trip (with path) to manhatten; not that bad, but annoying when you are tired after sightseeing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and had everything what we needed. We didn't had to care about anything. Rooms are big and in a very good situation. Beds are also comfortable. The owner Kris is very helpful and has a lot of hints for trips to Manhatten and the greater Area, so you can save some money and enjoy the time a little bit more. We really enjoyed the stay at Kris' Guesthouse.

Disliked: The area was a little bit too quiet for me. Only a few shops/supermarkets/restaurants around this place and the next subway station is a few minutes to walk. But all in all it's really okay.